We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tuwanek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed in the Wild Berry Cottage and it had everything you will want. We enjoyed cooking in the well equipped kitchen. We enjoyed the sound of the creek out back. The bed was super comfortable and the private hot tub out back was amazing. There wasn't one thing we didn't like about it. Fantastic place to stay. Very helpful owners and staff. Absolutley a must do. In fact when some says in a question type of way...do you want to Tuwanek? Say YES!

Everyting they have thought of: Heated floors in bathroom, Apple TV, DVD, Cable, WiFi, BBQ, Fire Wood, Fire Stove, Gas Fire Place out back, Robes, Towels for indoors and outdoors, Guest Book, Comfy Bed and Couch, Great throw blanket, BIG TV's, Private Hot Tub with groomed path way and lights....the list goes on and on.

Room Tip: The Wild Berry Cottage does not have a direct water view but is 1 minute walk to waterside. If I ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleend55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
184
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

what a wonderful place to stay. my first time at a B&B. Came for our 4th anniversary, enjoyed the stay, view was awesome, all the hummingbirds a treat. Did some geocaching, kayaking next time. AMAZING breakfast. I am bringing my girlfriends back in the spring for a girls weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkyandthebrain6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We cannot express how happy we are with choosing Tuwanek Hotel as the destination for our wedding. Our hosts, Chris and Krista did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible and they also made my wedding planning very easy from Vancouver. They helped organized our wedding ceremony and also guided me thru making the arrangements for the rest of our day (for example, floral arrangements, cakes, hair and make up, reception, tea ceremony etc...), which made my life a lot easier. We had 62 people at our wedding, and Tuwanek was the perfect place, as our guests could not stop telling us about how beautiful the cabins and Tuwanek was. If you're looking for a beach front wedding with experienced hosts to help out, Tuwanek Hotel is the place for your wedding. Thanks again to our hosts for making our wedding day as perfect as it can be.

Room Tip: The African Queen Suite was the perfect honeymoon suite, it has a romantic setting with a warm break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winnie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Tuwanek Hotel is truly a gem in paradise! We celebrated my boyfriends birthday here and couldn't have picked a better place. We felt pampered and enjoyed the relaxing private atmosphere. Our room was by far the nicest room we've ever stayed in, and breakfast was delicious! We definitely recommend staying here and will be coming back for sure!
A huge thank you to Chris and Krista for being such wonderful hosts :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Casablanca room which was absolutely stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We could not have picked a better weekend nor location for a 2-night getaway to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This hotel (3 suites in the B&B house, 4 cottages very close by) is in a fantastic, private location with a gorgeous view. Our hosts, Chris and Krista, were extremely welcoming and ensured we had the right balance of attentiveness and privacy. We stayed in the Sunset Beach Suite and based on the features of the room, the amenities across the hall, and the design of the property it was evident that our hosts paid a high level of detailed attention to ensuring guests would have a fantastic stay. Sleep was tranquil and we were greeted both mornings by a wonderful breakfast crafted by Krista. To top it off, we even saw dolphins in the distance!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaged008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My husband and I spent our 20th wedding anniversary in the beautiful Cassablanca room. The room was even more beautiful than the picuture on line. I have stayed in some fabulous rooms, including a ski out suite at the Fairmont in Whistler and this was by far the most beautiful room I have stayed at.

This is the perfect place to go if you love nature and want to relax. Krista and Chris were the perfect hosts. Breakfast was phenominal, healthy, delicious and decadant. I had a mani/peti at the spa and it was a lovely experience. I would go back in a heart beat.

Romantic, restful, and beautiful, this is the perfect spot.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaKnechtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband, and I stayed at this accommodation for our 5th Wedding Anniversary, a break from our three children. This hotel (Private B&B, also Private cottages) is located on a no-thru road right on the Sechelt Inlet beach. Very close to Tetrahedron Provincial Park (if you want to see snow in May! Road is only for 4X4, or a vehicle that has somewhat off-road capacity). We did not stay at the main hotel as we were wanting a cottage for a bit more space, and privacy (these cottages the Tuwanek Hotel owns, and offers are all different, have different features, amenities, and different privacy levels) We chose the Timber-loft Cottage (this is a hugh private, all wood/glass, 3 levels, 3 decks, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, PERSONAL HOT TUB (very clean, and hot, easy to use/lift cover with holding apparatus). It has 18ft Vaulted ceilings with heavy duty wooden beams, 2 flat screen T.V.'s (cable, DVDs provided), A glass Steam shower in master bathroom with tub. Robes, towels, extra linens, and slippers are all provided. There is also a wood-stove, and wood provided. This accommodation does have quite a bit of stairs (50 about) to get to the front door from your personal large wide bridge, and beautiful tranquil creek, and flowers. This is great if you want to burn some calories like I did and run up, and down them a few times (it felt GREAT!) If you do not need to be catered to continually, and want your personal privacy then this is the place for you! Enough parking for 4 vehicles. A scenic drive in the country is only 15 mins (speed limit) to Sechelt where you can choose to pick up groceries, and liquor (if you drink) at ease. there is a Spa on-site at the hotel ( 2 min walk) from the Timber-loft cottage. The Spa services were very professional, and were wonderful as both my husband, and I both had massages. Everything was at very reasonable cost, and the services were far better than what you pay for in the Vancouver area. The location on the Inlet waters is tranquil for canoeing, and kayaking (Pedal & Paddles just up the road, very reasonable also)
The major plus to this location is ONE ferry cost, you do not pay on the way back to Vancouver.
My husband, and I would recommend The Tuwanek Hotel, and cottages to anyone to wants prime accommodations, friendly services, and privacy. We will be back, and want to send our family, and friends. Children are welcome only at the Cottages, as it is a Adults only B&B in the main hotel which is more than fair.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coastlover85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
12.9 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
348 reviews
14.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
138 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
9.7 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
784 reviews
3.0 mi away
At The Shore B&B
At The Shore B&B
#4 of 26 in Sechelt
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Property: The Tuwanek Hotel
Address: 7545 Islets Pl, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuwanek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing