We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep going back”
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tuwanek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
“We keep going back”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Over the years we and other family members have stayed at The Tuwanek Hotel and two of the cabins. Each time has been a wonderful experience. We have also used the Spa and have found that the massage practitioner makes you feel so comfortable and as if you have known each other for a long time besides giving a great massage. The Inlet, the view, the beach, the hospitality, the various premises all amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
186
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the Blue Heron house for 3 nights. Not long enough. Went crab fishing with Sam. He was an excellent host and guide. We saw seals and dolphins. Sharon gave us a tour of other places to stay and the selection is awesome. Different themes and houses. We would love to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bassanoalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My (new!) husband and I had the most amazing, relaxing stay at the Tuwanek. Chris and Krista were such friendly hosts and the setting was so relaxing and peaceful - from the incredible breakfasts on the balcony to early-morning paddleboarding with the resident seals, and our sunset picnic on the beach, this is a very special place... The African Queen suite was so luxurious with an incredible bathroom and picture-perfect view - we are already talking about planning our next trip back over the winter so we can enjoy the wood-burning fireplace! We couldn't have imagined a more perfect place to relax - hope to see you guys again soon!

Room Tip: The African Queen suite has the most incredible bathroom!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guinnessgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Sadly we had only one night at the Tuwanek - if we'd known what it was like we would have planned to stay longer. In Britain it would be called a guest house rather than a hotel as it's a large private house and has only three guest rooms. We stayed in The African Queen and it is magnificent. Furnished with great taste and attention to detail, spacious and luxurious, and with a lovely view over the Sechelt Inlet on the beautiful Sunshine Coast. It also has a good sized balcony with room to sit, relax and enjoy the view and the tranquillity, and breakfast is served to you on your balcony. My only (minor) criticism is that there was only one armchair on the balcony even though there is plenty of room for two. But overall we concluded that this is probably the best hotel we've ever stayed in - and it was heart-breaking to have to move on.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-G23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had the opportunity to visit the Sunshine Coast and stay at this luxurious place situated in the midst of stunning wilderness. Krista and Chris are the Best Hosts. They serve the Best Breakfasts. They run the Best Spa. This was just THE BEST place to stay. Centrally located to everything north and south if you wish to explore the coast more. Or just to stay + relax. We cannot wait to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff was very friendly. The treehouse had all the amenities available. Hot tub was great. Kitchen had dish washer. Apple TV was great too. Only down side is the very very loooong stairs. Will visit again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doraremon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Breakfast on our own balcony, incredible shower, stunning room, peaceful surroundings, right on the beach. It was outstanding. We stayed in the Casablanca room and the owners were lovely and relaxed. We took wine down to the garden and enjoyed sitting in the deck chairs overlooking the beach. We will be returning with guests. Thank you Tuwanek!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
12.9 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
357 reviews
14.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
141 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
9.7 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
802 reviews
3.0 mi away
At The Shore B&B
At The Shore B&B
#4 of 26 in Sechelt
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Property: The Tuwanek Hotel
Address: 7545 Islets Pl, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuwanek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing