We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Driftwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Driftwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissful Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Thank you to the lovely staff of the Driftwood Inn, Sechelt for all their great hospitality. The welcome was warm and friendly. The room was simple, clean and very relaxing. I thought the photos from the local area above the beds was a nice touch. The Restaurant was wonderful. Great views for gathering thoughts and working out plans over morning coffee and great sunset at dinner time over the sea. The food was really great too - especially the fish and chips. Really pleased we booked the place. Was a bit concerned before we arrived after reading some of the previous reviews but our experience didn't match previous comments.

Excellent value for money and I'd book again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    39
    35
    15
    10
See reviews for
29
42
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I knew that the Driftwood was an older hotel, but when I looked at the website I thought it must have been updated. I was wrong. It is an old, musty smelling hotel that is in desperate need of either bulldozing or extensive renovations. It is highly overpriced. We stayed in a second floor ocean view suite that had a terrible smell and the view did not make up for that. Most of the view is blocked by trees and the small, spider-web covered balcony has a wooden railing that is exactly eye-level when seated on the dirty chairs.
But if you don't mind a musty smelly overpriced room, the beds were comfortable, the washroom was clean, and the lady at the front desk was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymous347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sechelt hotels

Fall City, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We spent one night at the Driftwood Inn last week on our way further north up the Sunshine Coast. The room was an average motel room....2 double beds and a bathroom. Had internet access. The woman at the front desk was very friendly. The Inn is centrally located & within easy walking distance to restaurants and the Thursday evening Farmer's Market. I wouldn't stay here for more than one night. Our room face the parking lot. There are some units for more $$ that face the water.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IMHO_425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Or
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

This place is managed by some delightful people. Unfortunately, the rooms are dark and dank,
and even though ocean front with a small patio, we felt our room was gloomy. The bedding had
been updated and that was a plus. We expected higher than average prices as this is the only
season in this area where visitors abound. The attached restaurant was so bad I will write a
separate review under "Pebbles". There aren't a lot of motels in the area, and I overheard the
guests staying in the "un-ocean front" rooms complaining about all kinds of things. This is an
old establishment that could use some sprucing up.

Room Tip: ocean front or nothing for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Sechelt businesses and the Sunshine Coast and surrounding villages have to make their money in the few summer months they have. Sechelt is pricey but not the rip-off that, for instance, one experiences in Jasper, Alberta. The Driftwood Inn is not worth the money, but compared to other establishments in the area is reasonable. The staff are great; the two full size beds were 'extra long' which was appreciated by this tall person. There was construction going on next door but thankfully our two nights were on a Fri., and Sat. The motel is clean, It is old and one prepares themselves for the worst looking at chipped door outside door frames and ugly used carpets on the upstairs balcony. For the elderly, no elevator. There is no air conditioning with all rooms getting the full sun from 2:00 p.m. till setting. If need be we would return but we do not see another trip to Sechelt any time soon.

Room Tip: Construction going on behind hotel could be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trayordinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

The ads portray this place as comfortable laid back west coasty experience. It isn't. It is quite run down and not worth the money quite frankly. The major problem at this time is the massive construction going on right outside your window - which by the way doesn't face the water. That is reserved for only a few suites on the front end of the complex. Construction began at 0700 on a Saturday morning. Not horrendous but enough to awaken one from the light sleep rendered from the non air conditioned room.

Room was run down, clean enough, but depressing. There's clearly an emergency shortage of tradesman capable of laying bathroom tile grout down in this region. The repairs to the grout in the bathroom were either done by someone who was a) drunk, b) visually impaired or c) thought that preschoolers should have a crack at bathroom repair for their art project. Again clean enough but essentially 3rd world depressing in appearance. And of course the water in the shower went through the full range of temperatures as others in the building turned their faucets on.

Underwhelming is the best we can give this place.

One redeeming feature is a beautiful municipal walkway right at the front of the building and extending a kilometre in either direction. That was nice. Drive to it and forget the Driftwood Inn.

Room Tip: Find another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
We regret that construction next door for The Watermark will be ongoing until May 2013. If you are vacationing in the area and are seeking quiet we suggest booking into the waterfront rooms. We do have the best accommodation of the downtown area and have been doing room upgrades but we want to have everyone enjoy a good experience at the Driftwood, which unfortunately means dealing with the ongoing work next door.

I invite you to contact us again for a stay after the construction of The Watermark completes next spring and we will ensure you have a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Driftwood, excellent place to stay beautiful rooms, love the new drapes and duvets, very clean and comfortable, and staff very attentive, and could not do enough to please you and make our stay so comfortable food excellent, we can not understand the complaints on the review, I know you can not please everyone all the time, but this Inn is worth a visit and Good luck to them, they work hard and put lots of effort into making quests feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emallett1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
11.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
15.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
15.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Reach Motel
Royal Reach Motel
#3 of 5 in Sechelt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#2 of 26 in Sechelt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driftwood Inn

Property: The Driftwood Inn
Address: 5454 Trail Avenue, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Driftwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Driftwood Inn is centrally located in Sechelt, the heart of the Sunshine Coast. We are on the waterfront only a few feet away from the beach. We offer a variety of rooms including standard doubles and king rooms plus waterfront rooms and suites. Our restaurant named Pebbles serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and specializes in west coast cuisine. We also have a meeting/function room that can seat up to 55 persons. We are close to shopping, banks and many recreational activities in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driftwood Hotel Sechelt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing