We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where else would you stay in Sechelt?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Driftwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Driftwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
The Road
Level Contributor
400 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Where else would you stay in Sechelt?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Seriously, the other choice is the Cozy Court, and at least the Driftwood Inn is on the water! Strangely, however, the orientation of the motel is such that almost all of the rooms look out on the parking lot rather than the ocean. Anyway, it's clean, the staff are friendly, it's central, and it's air conditioned, which means a lot on the aptly-named Sunshine Coast in July! And the television has lots of channels. I did wish that the bathroom faucet in my room (#103, if I recall) worked properly, and offered some intermediate temperature between scalding and cold, but that wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank WandererOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    39
    35
    15
    10
See reviews for
29
42
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed one night here.
Pros: bed was comfortable

Cons: felt it was over priced for what it was. No view, stayed in the standard room. There was only one lamp that actually worked, the light bulbs in the other lamps were burnt out, found one of the plug ins didn't work.
Ate at the restaurant and found that was pretty pricey too. They offer room service - sort of ... You can call and order, but you have to pick up. Just thought it was weird considering how much your paying for services.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thanks for your review; sorry that you did not realize that the switch by the door operates the lights by the bed. The plug did not work because it was switched off. We do have duty management available at least twelve hours every day to assist with concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was happy that the Inn had a room for us as it was short notice on Saturday afternoon. We picked Driftwood after a family member recommended it and they told us they had just finished renovating. The rooms were all updated/modern looking and clean. Soundproof rooms and Flat screen TV's. As for Value we paid $$157.00 for a family of 3, could be a bit more cheaper but it is small town and they make more of the business in the summer. I would think it would be cheaper on the off season. The Service was very welcoming and told us where we could eat in town as the whole town closes down at 5:30pm. There are Restaurants and gas stations close by that was a bonus. We also loved that the ocean was a few steps from the inn and a beautiful walk that we took down the path to the pier with our family. The only thing we noticed that when you showered the water would go from hot to cold and back to hot sometimes. It's not a deal breaker in any case. Excellent sleep and comfy feel like home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor as it's easier to see the ocean and away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tylee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you! We have just completed around $250,000 worth of renovations that we hope will enhance everyone's stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My buddy and I spent one night here as we were playing in a golf tournament early the next day. The beds were good but the room was tired and in need of an update. We chose un upstairs room so noise wasn't an issue. The restaurant is excellent and has a great view of the water.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank PC583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thanks for your review; we do try to update continuously and are close to finishing nearly a quarter million's worth of renovations this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights

Cons:
-heard the upstairs people pacing back and forth
-not soundproof, as you could easily hear people talking outside as well
-overpriced with no fancy extras

Pros:
-very comfy beds
-extremely courteous and kind staff who go out of their way to convenience you
-beautiful quiet spot close to the ocean

Great stay other than the overall bang for buck. For the price I paid ($145 per night tax in), I would like to see more conveniences such as a charging station near the bed, a DVD player in the rooms with a movie library in the lobby, a hairdryer, hot chocolate or fancy stuff like that for example. They get away with it because it's such a small town and there is not much else to choose from, but it would be nice to see a few little extras to make the consumer feel like their hard-earned dollar is justified being spent...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We charge the rate for the rooms that we do in order to support a total of 28 management and staff not including ourselves. All profit is ploughed back in to the business as we have to continuously renovate to keep up. We are presently completing the installation of new closets in our standard rooms, have reroofed and installed a/c in all the bedrooms amongst other items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel while in Sechelt for a family gathering. The room was very clean, the staff friendly. The restaurant is great! The only problem everyone in our group seemed to have problem keeping the room keys working. However, the front desk staff was very good about giving us new keys that worked!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank cyh132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. There is a bit of a trick to the keys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taber, AB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The view from restraunt ocean side. I enjoyed my stay and will return again sometime. Location is one block from shopping mall. Sechelt is very nice . August features a huge car show, writer's convention etc. Excellent place to holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vilmous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you, glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
11.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
15.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
15.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Reach Motel
Royal Reach Motel
#3 of 5 in Sechelt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#2 of 26 in Sechelt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driftwood Inn

Property: The Driftwood Inn
Address: 5454 Trail Avenue, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Driftwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Driftwood Inn is centrally located in Sechelt, the heart of the Sunshine Coast. We are on the waterfront only a few feet away from the beach. We offer a variety of rooms including standard doubles and king rooms plus waterfront rooms and suites. Our restaurant named Pebbles serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and specializes in west coast cuisine. We also have a meeting/function room that can seat up to 55 persons. We are close to shopping, banks and many recreational activities in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driftwood Hotel Sechelt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing