We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for Summer Fun1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tuckers Inn B&B and Spa
Ranked #21 of 27 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Recently stayed at Tuckers Inn for 2 nights. Great location just north of town. Easy cab ride into town for dinner and several drinks at the Lighthouse Pub. Property is huge!! Next time i'll bring Bocci to play on the lawns, perfect spot for this. It's right across the road from the beach, with was rocky but with great logs to sit and lounge on to read a book or have a picnic.

There was a very good farmers market on Saturay morning, picked up some nice pottery and walked over to Wheatberries for amazing ginger cookies!!

Breakfast at the inn was great. had a waffle topped with loads of blackberries right from the property. A soak in the hottub was the topper of our saturday evening.

Tuckers is super clean, with loads of room both inside and out and very comfortable beds. Great central spot to explore the sunshine coast from.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank tallestpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, Manager at Tuckers Inn B&B and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You should try the French Toast next time, a good start to the day before your game of Bocci in the gardens.

Hopefully you will be able to join us for another weekend of summer fun very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

Recently stayed at my favorite B&B on the sunshine coast. Tucker's Inn Bed & Breakfast just outside Sechelt. Tucker's is just north of town, so it is nice and close but far enough to be a quiet place. The B&B has a lot of space both inside and out. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the common area is a great space and out back there is a garden. There is a creek flowing through the property, which I really like. It is difficult to access but listening to the water flowing while reading a book or paper is awesome. Peter, the owner is always helpful if you are looking for some local knowledge of what is going on and what to see. This is a great place. Thanks for another great visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribootraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, Manager at Tuckers Inn B&B and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

The garden is a great place to relax, read a book and enjoy the sounds of the nearby creek, especially now that the weather is sunny and warm.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I only stayed for one night and I did not want to leave. I was there for work and had to leave early and Peter still accomodated me with a wonderfull breakfast. The stay was very relaxing but short. I am planing a get away with my husband for a weekend away I look forward to my future visits and Tuckers Inn. Tuckers Inn will now be my place od stay everytime I go to Sechelt for business

Barb

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, Owner at Tuckers Inn B&B and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Hi Barb,

So glad that you enjoyed your stay at Tucker's Inn. We look forward to welcoming yourself and your husband back for a weekend away soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Peter and his family are some of the nicest and most welcoming people I have ever met. He was very attentive to everything we could have possibly needed, and the rooms were impeccably kept. Great home-cooked breakfast and fresh fruit every morning. Hot tub was clean and my favourite place to be! Great location that was very close to the beach and was always in the sunshine. I had a great sleep and everything was very quiet and peaceful.
I have stayed in many B&B's and this is definitely at the top of my list!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s2r_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We travelled to Sunshine Coast and spent a couple of nights at Tucker’s Inn Bed and Breakfast in Sechelt. We were in the Mountain Meadow Suite and our stay there was perfect.

The breakfasts, which we selected ourselves from the menu, were fantastic and served in our very own suite; there were many different choices to choose from.

The inn was extremely clean, spotless in fact, and so was the hot tub. We had no issues with noise/insulation, as referred by some of the previously read reviews on TripAdvisor, and when we inquired about it the owner explained that renovations had recently been done addressing the potential noise coming from the kitchen which may have happened when preparing the breakfast for the guests, as the Mountain Meadow Suite living room is located right under the kitchen. (I guess that noise would only be bothersome if someone was using the sofa bed in the living room area of this suite anyway.) The staff was very helpful and kind at all times.

When traveling to Sechelt in the future, we would absolutely like to stay at Tucker’s again, and we would recommend it to our friends and family!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GahitiTahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Our room (the Mountain Meadow Suite) was spotless, really amazingly clean. Furniture was comfortable and good quality and the unit was generally well equipped, if questionably decorated. There was a fantastic selection of complimentary teas as well as coffee and there was also a nice assortment of drinks and snacks available in the room at a very reasonable cost. Staff were universally friendly.

Unfortunately, we found that this B&B gets tripped up by relatively minor issues. When we first arrived, there was no one to greet us. We found a list a phone numbers on the door and had to try a number of them (while standing in the rain) before we managed to get in touch with a staff member. They were very apologetic and explained that there had been a mixup, but that we would find the door to the unit unlocked on the other side of the building. Everyone makes mistakes, not a huge deal, the important thing is that we got into the unit and out of the rain.

Unfortunately, they had forgotten to place a breakfast order-form in the unit, so an employee gave us a list of options over the phone and we had to call them back to place our order for the morning. They once again apologized and assured us that someone would make it back to the B&B that night in order to serve us breakfast in the morning. Breakfast itself was fine, although options were limited. The first morning we weren't provided with any spoons and had to stir our coffees with the backs of our forks (after serving the staff disappeared until we were done). On our second morning they forgot to bring any milk or cream for the coffee and then apologized that we couldn't have any refills because the pot was empty. Once again, not major issues, just minor annoyances, we could have made a pot of coffee in our room or even grabbed some spoons from the kitchenette.

The biggest issue by far though, is the lack of sound insulation separating the suites on the main floor from the owner's residence above. You hear absolutely everything going on upstairs. You hear your breakfast (or that of your early riser neighbours) being prepared and you hear their (awesome, friendly) dog running around. It really makes sleeping in tough to do, and if you're vacationing on the Sunshine Coast, sleeping is probably high up your list of goals.

I would still call our stay a positive one. Spotless, comfortable rooms and friendly staff/owner go a long way. Unfortunately, Tucker's is let down by a lack of organization and a lack of soundproofing. There's countless options on the Sunshine Coast, and while our stay wasn't bad, per se, I'll definitely try my luck elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapsLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We reserved the larger suite (one bedroom, with living-room sofa bed for the kids), and was very happy with the accommodation when we first arrived. It was clean, very well stocked with a variety of tea and coffee, and additional drinks and snacks if required (for extra). Didn't much love the fake plants and flowers but that's just personal taste. All in all good, but boy were we shocked when later that evening we heard the owner (who lives above the suite) walking around upstairs. There was absolutely no sound insulation between the 2 floors, nothing! Every step, and every drawer being opened was very audible. Honestly it sounded like someone was moving furniture. We might not have been much bothered by it, but our young children needed to sleep early, and they couldn't get to sleep until the noise stopped (thankfully by around 9:30pm). Even a white-noise machine (thoughtfully provided by the management in the bedroom) did nothing to disguise the sounds. All quiet after that though until it started again at around 6:20am! The kids were up (when they really could have done with a longer sleep-in) and asking what the noise was.

The breakfast was good, not remarkable. Bathroom was clean which was a big plus for me, I am rather fussy about that. Although the towels could do with an update, they were rock hard... not very kind on the skin, but I can live with that.

If it wasn't for the noise issue it would have been a very enjoyable stay. If you are up early and don't mind being woken up I would say it was fine, but if you're looking for a place to sleep-in in the morning, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4funnyfaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
14.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
150 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
132 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
66 reviews
4.9 mi away
Davis Brook Retreat
Davis Brook Retreat
#8 of 27 in Sechelt
23 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#2 of 27 in Sechelt
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuckers Inn B&B and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuckers Inn B&B and Spa

Address: 6966 Sunshine Coast Highway, Sechelt, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range: £82 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and quiete rooms with all the amenities required for a business traveler or vacationing families.Private entrances, free breakfast ordered from the menu, served at preferred time.5 minutes from downtown Sechelt, across the street from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tuckers Inn B&B and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing