We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise”
Review of At The Shore B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
At The Shore B&B
Ranked #5 of 25 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Our trip to At The Shore was by far the best B&B experience we have ever had! It started with the wondeful hosts Peter and Norma. Their charm, attention to detail, and Norma's cooking was beyond compare. The location is as I said in the title, is a slice of heaven! The location is stunning, and be sure to stay up late to gaze in amazement at the stars. You need to put this B&B on your must do list, I guarantee that you will not be disappointed!

Keep up the great work Peter & Norma!

Room Tip: Blue Nose is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
120
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Norma and Pete were so sweet and lovely from the second we arrived to when we begrudgingly had to leave. For our first weekend away together, At the Shore made it a special and incredibly relaxing 2 nights. We loved our breakfasts and didn't mind having to wake up at a normal hour to eat. I could eat Norma's muffins everyday! We will always remember how great our weekend turned out. Colette & Tim

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Staying at Peter and Norma’s B&B is just like being at home…..if you live in a beautiful nautically themed decorated suite with a wonderfully comfy bed piled high with pillows and a private, wicker furnished patio that overlooks a breathtaking view of both water (Sechelt Inlet) and forested mountains. The strains of Peter’s favourite blues greeted us upon our arrival as he showed all the amenities in our suite including a Jacuzzi and thoughtfully provided fragrant bath salts. Even though there was a TV in our suite, there was an additional media room with a large screen TV, snacks and wall of videos to choose from. A hearty breakfast, including Norma’s scrumptious homemade muffins, seed bread and jam, was served on our host’s sunny deck overlooking the same awe inspiring view of water and mountains. One morning we saw a doe and her fawn sipping water on the rocky beach below us. “At the Shore” was truly a luxurious well-appointed haven nestled amidst nature’s beauty.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_Diana_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This B and B is a cut above any others. The place features a peaceful environment encompassing a beautiful room which opens to a balcony overlooking stunning views, delicious breakfast with lots of choice and good company, full of great local advice, from the host. The facilities are well kept and evening attractions include a hot tub and a wonderful "theatre room" with a multitude of movie choices.
Needless to say, we loved it! Peter is so nice, so all nice people should come to visit, but... leave room for us when we want to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This place is situated on the west side of the Sechelt inlet, right by the water edge, in an area of outstanding natural beauty. Upon our arrival, Peter welcomed us with delicious homemade Sherry and Cookies and gave us a brief area orientation. Peter and Norma are such thoughtful hosts, from room décor to breakfast menu, everything is done with great passion and classy way. The shore is so peaceful, we rarely saw a boat cruise by. It has a fantastic terrace garden, with an open-spaced pavilion and lush landscaping. Every morning and evening, we enjoyed stroll through beautiful garden to the shore or just sitting on the patio with a couple of drinks. We told Peter that we would skip the breakfast on our departure day because we had to leave early to catch a ferry to Powell River. He said that it wouldn’t be a problem for him and he was willing to serve us great two-course breakfast at 6:45am. We’ve traveled through North America and stayed at many BB, so far, At the Shore is definitely the best.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger62z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I couldn't possibly write enough good things about At the Shore B&B. My husband and I stayed for 4 nights for our honeymoon and were incredibly happy about everything. We stayed in the Bluenose Suite which was better than most hotels I've stayed in! The bed was super comfortable, there was a huge walk in shower plus a jacuzzi tube. We even had robes and slippers in our room. Not to mention the amazing view of the ocean and mountains. Our private patio was fantastic and after spending most of the day expolring we would head back in the late afternoon and enjoy just reading on the patio with a glass of wine or two. The hot tube was also a highlight! A great way to relax and an amazing view from there as well. The whole place was so nice we just picked up some nice salad ingredients, bread and cheese and didn't even bother going out for dinner a couple of nights! As other poster have mentioned, the breakfast really went above and beyond. Everyday there was a new menu and everything we tried was delicious. I highly recommend the smoked salmon benny. Peter and Norma were so friendly and such perfect hosts there really was nothing that could have been better at this B&B. We are hoping to be back for a visit before too long.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I stayed At the Shore B&B and had a wonderful two nights there. Our hosts Peter and Norma made us feel at home immediately. They welcomed us earlier than expected and were happy to have us get settled in. We stayed in the BlueNose suite and it felt fancier than a 5 star hotel room. The room was beautifully decorated and had every amenity you could need - a gorgeous bathroom with heated floors was an added plus. There is even a media room to be used with games, movies and treats. It made for the perfect evening event.
Each morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with many homemade treats. Anything noted on the menu as made by Norma is a must get. We have never had a better tasting muffin than those made by Norma. One morning we sat on the deck with a view of the water and mountains and the other morning we had our breakfast in the comfort of our our suite. The owners were very accomodating to anything we needed.
We could have spent all day long outside and soaked up the scenery and sunshine, played a game or two of crochet or curled up with a book, it is just that lovely of a place. After a few hikes during the day we returned to the B&B and enjoyed the hot tub before we headed out for dinner. With only one neighbor at this B&B you really feel like you are in a private paradise with all the comforts of home. This place is a beautiful serene getaway and is a price steal. We hope we will have the pleasure of returning to the sunshine coast and visiting at the shore for another wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heineken1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
13.6 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
359 reviews
13.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
141 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
804 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#2 of 25 in Sechelt
315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sechelt Inlet B&B
Sechelt Inlet B&B
#6 of 25 in Sechelt
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Shore B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Shore B&B

Property: At The Shore B&B
Address: 6394 Gale Ave N, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — At The Shore B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your At The Shore B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing