We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most accommodating hosts and a real jewel of a B&B”
Review of At The Shore B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
At The Shore B&B
Ranked #4 of 26 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most accommodating hosts and a real jewel of a B&B”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our ferry was delayed and we were so grateful Norma so graciously welcomed her "late night guests" into her beautiful home/B&B. It was such a pleasure to unwind in the gorgeous Bluenose Suite. The luxurious tub,fireplace and comfy bed erased all the stress of moving from Edmonton to our new retired life on Vancouver Island. We loved what Peter and Norma have done to their property and suites and are taking many of their ideas to help us design our new home in B.C. We hope it will be as lovely as this special property by the ocean! Peter served us a delicious breakfast in the morning - but the most memorable part of the stay was their warm hospitality that truly made this place a 5 star! It is so nice to have a home away from home when you travel and the hosts are as special as this area of the world. Thanks so much for this fantastic stay! We have traveled extensively - stayed at many B&B's and this ranks up with the best of them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach2013_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porpoise07, Owner at At The Shore B&B, responded to this review, 1 June 2015
Don and Ingrid, that you very much for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. Norma and I hope you find your new home in Comox as relaxing as you as you found ours. Perhaps we'll see you at some future date when you are on your way to visit the old neighbourhood. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
120
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

At The Shore is definitely a top-of-the-line B&B. Our stay was memorable. Everything about our stay was perfect. The hospitality of the hosts is unsurpassed.

Peter and Norma are genial hosts always eager to recommend outings or places to eat. The accommodations are elegant and comfortable providing an opportunity for pampering the body and soul. The beds were more comfortable than any we have had on our travels. The view from the Bluenose suite has a beautiful panorama that changes with the passage of time and weather. The breakfasts are deliciously fresh, gourmet and substantial enough to sustain activity until dinner.

The landscaping was beautiful. It gave us great ideas for our own yard.

There is no question that we will return again…and again…and… to indulge ourselves and be cosseted.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plainjane732013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porpoise07, Owner at At The Shore B&B, responded to this review, 1 June 2015
Hello, Jane and Robert: Thank you for helping us by placing a beautiful comment in
trip Adviser. Norma and I are so pleased you enjoyed the view of the hills and mountains across the bay. We are giving some thought to moving back to the Lower Mainland but that view might be just what keeps us here. Best regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed 'At the Shore' for 2 nights this September as part of a 3 week tour of BC. The B&B is immaculately kept, and the two guest rooms have every amenity you could wish for as well as simply stunning views. Peter and Norma are the ideal hosts, welcoming and friendly but not intrusive. The home baked cookies and drinks when we arrived were a lovely touch, and the delicious breakfasts (even the bread is home-made by Norma) were a joy to get out of bed for (and what a comfy bed!!!). Peter asked if we had any suggestions for improvements when we left, but we could not think of anything that could better the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callybobstaf4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed for one night and found everything was as it should be with this experience. As others mention, the breakfast, hot tub and warm hospitality (thanks Peter!) make this place a great example of what a bnb should be. It's important to manage expectations and previous reviews are so gushing and detailed it took away from any surprise/enchantment, hence the 4 stars (plus I'm a tough critic). Stayed in the Bluenose Suite. Price ($179/nite) is appropriate. Location a few mins from downtown. I can't imagine anyone not having a lovely, relaxing time here!

Room Tip: Bluenose Suite is directly beside the other suite - I imagine they are both identical but Bluenose w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilmontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our 2 night stay at this beautiful B&B was definitely not long enough. Peter and Norma were very welcoming into their beautiful home. We were greeted with freshly baked cookies and drinks. Peter was helpful in recommending things to do and places to eat. We were served delicious 2 course breakfasts each morning (we were given a menu to choose from the night before). The views from the Discovery suite were incredible!! You have your own private entrance to the beach below. The gazebo situated down below overlooking the water was the perfect romantic spot for a proposal....yes we're engaged now!! We can't wait to come spend out future anniversaries together at this wonderful b&B. Thank you Peter and norma for making this trip perfect!

Doesn't get any better than this!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preethi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Peter and Norma are true hosts at their wonderful B&B. From the very warm welcome we received on the first night, they made us feel a part of their home (and what a beautiful home it is!) We really enjoyed and appreciated all of the amenities (cozy fireplace, jacuzzi tub, hot tub etc.) that allowed us to just relax and enjoy. The peace, calmness, incredible views and delicious breakfasts are unforgettable! We look forward to our next visit!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Collin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Talk about leaving all of your stresses behind...this amazing B and B has it all. Our stay in the Bluenose suite was wonderful. The view alone was enough to make the stress leave my body. Looking across the water at the trees, mountains, and sky was fabulous. Imagine sitting at the breakfast table taking all of natures wonders in while dining on a delicious breakfast delivered every morning to your suite. The menu, delivered the night before, allows for personalizing your selections, and Norma is very willing to modify her meals to suit an individuals tastes. Her homemade seed bread and blueberry jam are delicious. Peter was always available to share useful information about the area or provide helpful hints about the trails and parks nearby. The suite itself was perfect. All details thought of and more. Spotlessly clean and well supplied. What a treat!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
13.6 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
348 reviews
13.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
138 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#2 of 26 in Sechelt
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
9.3 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
783 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sechelt Inlet B&B
Sechelt Inlet B&B
#6 of 26 in Sechelt
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Shore B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Shore B&B

Property: At The Shore B&B
Address: 6394 Gale Ave N, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — At The Shore B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your At The Shore B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing