We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I lived in Sechelt, I'd be here every morning!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bakery

The Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Sechelt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Locally owned and operated cafe serving freshly baked goods, sandwiches, soups, bread, desserts and locally roasted organic fair trade coffee
The Road
Level Contributor
400 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“If I lived in Sechelt, I'd be here every morning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The blueberry scone was as close to perfect as I can imagine: crisp and sugary on the outside, light, full of berries. The cinnamon buns were also really excellent. I wasn't so keen on the "savoury scone", since I think it would be better without the sundried tomato, but I suppose that's personal preference.

The espresso service was extremely quick, and the staff seemed happy to bring my pastries to an outside table in the very pleasant breezeway.

If only there were somewhere nearby to purchase a newspaper, this would be perfect!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WandererOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    45
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful tasty baked treats abound.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stopped in for lunch and was pleasantly surprised at the selection of choices and all the wonderful baked goods available.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 0346JMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Coffee is good, but the people are way better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stopped in for a much needed cup of coffee, on the hunt for breakfast. The young person behind the counter directed us to Pebbles (see other review) which turned out to be a superb recommendation. So we went back the next day to say thanks, and of course to have more coffee……and this time got a couple of slices of fresh whole wheat bread, just baked, and slathered with butter…..and hmmm hmmm hmmm. Being on Wharf street, easy to get to, and you know it's good by the number of locals at the tables…..it's the place to hang out!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geetap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Cowboy cookies are delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We are regulars at "The Bakery" and are impressed by the staff remembering our names and what we like to eat and drink. Victoria, the owner, Marion and Laura are always so welcoming.
Great soups, sandwiches, pizza, muffins and CHOCOLATE GANACHE CAKE that is to die for.
Anne & Don

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBERTA
Level Contributor
244 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great Baked Treats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The service we received was very friendly at the counter.
We ordered two hot chocolates - their hot chocolate is fantastic! Creamy, chocolaty, and warm!
We also tried a Pecan Wedge that was dipped in chocolate - OUT OF THIS WORLD GOOD....this is one you'll be telling everyone about...or not so that you can save these delights for yourself !! So good!!
And a Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie - they were pretty good as well
Prices were decent and the place has a cozy feel to it.
I would definitely return given the chance

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TRAVEL_LOVER96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bakery also viewed

Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
 
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing