We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very very very noisy!”

Porpoise Bay Provincial Park
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Sechelt
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very very very very noisy!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed for one night in early June 2014 and two groups partied loudly until 12:30 PM - It was awful - apparently no one makes sure rules are enforced. We were travelling long days and needed a good night's sleep. Would never stay again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank atigun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    30
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“excellent place for families and kids.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Has a nice shallow beach and playground + picnic tables. We went for a nice walk on the beach. Very nice view of the bay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texada Island, Canada
Level Contributor
832 reviews
630 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“People Social”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Most BC Parks offer private camp spots with a clean nice pick-nick table with group washrooms. This is no exception and bonus on the ocean with a swimming beach and a great spot to start a week long boating/paddling trip. Bonus - showers!
As well, group fire pits with wood supplied. At first we didn't like the fact that our own site did not have a fire pit, but after joining the group site it was so much fun! for everyone. We made friends from all over, including Europe and Japan. Reserve your site if going on a weekend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I wish this was my backyard”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Porpoise Bay is a jewel of a park and worthy of a visit or a longer stay. There is a campground with places for individual campers, and a large open area for large groups all with pick nick tables.
There are pick nick areas, with shelters for not so sunny days. There is a building with bathrooms and shower stalls A large open grassy area for throwing frisbee or a football and a kids playground. The beach is sandy although becomes muddy along waters edge at low tide. There are numerous trails for a leisurely walk observing oyster catchers , gulls, herons and other birds among stately old growth trees. There are creeks which are filled with salmon during spawning time. But do take your kayak and paddle along the shores of Porpoise Bay inlet. It opens up a vista of forest clad mountains, marine campsites and maybe you can spot a deer or a black bear.
It is wise to make reservations as even locals like to camp there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Quillermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Quiet Location in the autumn”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Exactly what my title said. We took a quick detour to this park in late October. It was completely deserted when we arrived, which made for a nice, serene location to listen to and enjoy nature.
There's a playground in the area and ample parking. I'm sure it's different in the summer, but it's a perfect place to be if you want to enjoy nature in peace.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foreversh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porpoise Bay Provincial Park also viewed

 

Been to Porpoise Bay Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing