We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multi-ethnic mmmmmm!”
Review of Saffron Restaurant

Saffron Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 48 Restaurants in Sechelt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We welcome you to our family owned and operated Indian Restaurant. At Saffron, we source the best ingredients and grind our own spices in house, which give our food a fresh and unique taste. Our hard work and our pure dedication shows in our great tasting food and positive service. At Saffron, we pride ourselves as a true family friendly restaurant. We open our hearts and doors for you and your family.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Multi-ethnic mmmmmm!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Went every night during the writer's festival. Do the butter chicken, but try pretty much anything and you'll be pleased. Great staff, prompt service... oh, and fantastic desserts (choose any, you can't lose!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    26
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best butter chicken of our lives....yum”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Food was soooooo fresh, delivered to our door for a small price. The butter chicken was to die for and we eat it often so this was a bonus to find such great Indian food on our vacation. We would order here again! Very friendly staff as well, the delivery guy was great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marciewhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty, but stingy”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Service was pleasant enough, but more attention needs to be paid toward food portions & general maintenance.

My partner's meal, (coconut prawns with rice, $11), came with exactly 4 prawns, which were not even that big. My own $17 meal was thali, consisting of rice, naan & my choice of 3 different curries. I summoned up the courage to catch the server's eye, so I could inform them that there were NO lamb pieces in my lamb vindaloo.... only sauce. They brought me some lamb in a small dish, so that was OK. My coconut lamb was also mostly saucy, with a few tiny slivers of meat. The butter chicken had the tiniest, 1/2 inch, dice-size cubes of chicken I had even seen served in this dish, but at least they were there.

All in all, flavourful food, but it is unreasonable to charge $17 for a total 2-3 tablespoons of meat, or $11 for 4 shrimps with plain rice. Your job is to keep customers happy, & we want your business to continue to succeed, as this is a clean restaurant, with polite & friendly service.

The bathroom was almost completely dark, with burned-out bulbs. Surely, it does not take that long to change a bulb, does it?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Diverse tasty cuisine”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Returned five years later what else need I say. We love Indian food and our friends like anything but so what a find to offer Indian, Italian, Pizza, burgers and Greek all well prepared. The food is well done, tasty, authentic and the staff are delightful. And I live in the gourmet ghetto in SF Bay Area so I have lots to compare to. Portions are ample and the price is right. What more to say... Try the butter chicken.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aligold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Curry on the Coast”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This little restaurant came up withe best curry we had enjoyed in a long time. The menu was varied and every dish we were served was excellent. We especially enjoyed the Coconut Prawns. The restaurant is located in the Trail Bay mall and so there is not the spectacular view that the Sunshine Coast is famous for. However, the quality of the curry here certainly makes up for this. We went as a family outing and the atmosphere was very relaxed The Sunshine Coast does not boast many ethnic restaurants so this authentic Indian restaurant is a much appreciated delight. I should mention there is also excellent pizza and burgers on the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron Restaurant also viewed

Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
 
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Saffron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing