We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic, Scenic, Personalized”
Review of Artist's House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sicamous
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Artist's House B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Sicamous B&B and Inns
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
“Romantic, Scenic, Personalized”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Victoria made our stay extra special with everything from a personal greeting at the driveway to a delicious breakfast for two at a later time than the other couple, so that we might get a run in. There's a great deserted road accross the street for anyone wishing to run like we did. The room was charming, the house was lovely, breakfast was delightful, and Victoria was warm and welcoming. I'd love to stay here again one day!

Room Tip: The green room has en-suite bathroom with cool shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airfox5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is our second time visiting the Artist's House B&B and it feels like staying with a trusted and familiar friend. Victoria is a wonderful hostess who makes her guests feel right at home. Breakfast is a gourmet feast! So far we have been treated to Eggs Benedict and Baked Apple Pancake on our two visits and they were both scrumptious. Plus eating on the patio overlooking the water is a fantastic start to the day.

On both visits we stayed in the Orange Room, which has a wonderful view of the lake. Free wifi was important for us and very handy. Victoria can tell you about the history of the house, which is charming. She is a warm and hard-working hostess and artist and I look forward to more visits in future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

So, in full disclosure, I lived in this house until I was fourteen years old. We moved away twenty-five years ago and my brother, Dad, and two children came back for two nights and stayed "in the old house." We were AMAZED! The owner, Victoria, has kept the house up/renovated it amazingly. It is absolutely gorgeous. The setting is as stunning as ever, overlooking the Shuswap on beautiful property that backs onto the woods. We stayed in the three rooms upstairs; my children and I shared "the blue room" which includes a cozy alcoved bedroom; my Dad had the spacious back bedroom that includes its own en suite, and my brother stayed in "the orange room" overlooking the lake. We all had wonderful sleeps (my children slept for wayyyyyy longer than normal due to how comfortable the room/beds were).
Victoria is a gracious and welcoming host. Her scones are unbelievable. Frankly I felt quite spoiled while we were here.
The outdoor recreation/lake/walking opportunities around here are really endless and if you've not been to the Shuswap before, come! Stay here! Enjoy! And if you have been to the Shuswap before, definitely book a stay at this great B and B on your next visit; you already know how great the area is and now learn how great Victoria and her beautiful home are!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zootennany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria S, Owner at Artist's House B&B, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Aww Kyla, Thank you for taking the time to write such a raving review! I Loved having you and your family reconnect to the house, relax, and go back in time.
It was as if the 'Hemmingway' family dropped in for a visit....all the stories!
You are all part of the magical history of interesting people who have left their imprints.
This place is for sharing. I am delighted that you were able to come back to your childhood home.
love and laughter
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed for 1 night. The location is overlooking the lake with beautiful views. The house is down away from the highway but close to the railroad. There is noise from the trains but, honestly it's not a big deal. The view makes up for it. We were able to walk down to the lake but the slope is only for people with good walking abilities. The house is amazing and full of character. Breakfast was great with local ingredients and the coffee very tasty. I would recommend staying here to anyone, and is a great location if your driving along highway 1.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ifrit1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Wonderful find! My motorcycle buddy and I spent the evening and morning realizing what a gem we found in discovering Victoria the owner. Of the B&B’s we stayed at on our annual week long rides, this was our best experience to date. If you love visiting and getting to know your host, Victoria is a great first choice. Beds and Linen’s were clean; Yummy piping hot scones I couldn’t stop eating! Eggs, fruits, yogurt, there was ample.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErwinBraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria S, Owner at Artist's House B&B, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
What a delight to get the review from the motorcycle buddies. An ahhhh... Response is the best along with a WOW response, usually when I serve breakfast. I love when I can wake up a weary traveller and exceed their expectations. ...that's where the joy is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My wife & I selected this place on the advice of a relative and I'm glad we did. Quaint little heritage house with all sorts of charm. Great view overlooking Shuswap Lake with eagles, osprey and loons. Green room was comfortable and clean. Main floor and patio are open to the guests and provide a relaxing atmosphere. Location was convenient to Sicamous where we were attending a mushroom festival. Victoria was a great hostess providing excellent breakfasts and good history of the house and surroundings. We'd have no hesitation in going back.

Room Tip: Choose the Green Room. It has its own private bathroom and while not looking out on to the lake (you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria S, Owner at Artist's House B&B, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review....and for your cousin who recommended the 'Artist's House'. It was wonderful to have guests come for a local event that is often overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

What a great facility. Victoria was absolutely wonderful and very hospitable. The house sits half way up the mountain which makes the views of the lake amazing. While having a terrific breakfast we watched a bald eagle soar around in front of us and perch in a tree right on the property. We stayed in the room with the ensuite, and it was very comfortable. Like other have mentioned, it is close to the train tracks and it disturbed us during the night a little. A small price to pay for such a wonder stay. Victoria is extremely proud of the house which has been in her family for a number of years. She has done a lot of research on the history of the property, as well as the surrounding area. She was a very pleasant woman. I would definitely return here and would stay longer than just one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan-the-man91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria S, Owner at Artist's House B&B, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thanks so much for relaxing , really enjoying your experience and writing such a great review. it is very rewarding to see comments that go beyond the room and the food. Joyous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sicamous
1.4 mi away
Best Western Sicamous Inn
14.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Salmon Arm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
14.8 mi away
Podollan Inn
Podollan Inn
#2 of 8 in Salmon Arm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Best Western Salmon Arm Inn
15.2 mi away
Prestige Harbourfront Resort
1.5 mi away
Sundog Bed & Breakfast
Sundog Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 10 in Sicamous
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's House B&B

Property: Artist's House B&B
Address: 20 Bruhn Road | Box 1053, Sicamous, British Columbia V0E 2V0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sicamous
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sicamous
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite heritage home with inspiring Shuswap Lake views in an artsy environment. Breakfast, a feast for the eyes and taste buds, is served over a panoramic Shuswap Lake view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing