We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst dining experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goldenstar Family Restaurant

Goldenstar Family Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 26 Restaurants in Sicamous
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went to Golden star in Sicamous thinking that there was a buffet at 1pm on a Sunday. However, we were greeted by the rudest Chinese old man ever who told no the buffet was only on in the evenings. There were four families and I understand it may have a little overwhelming, right after we got in we were made to feel like we were not welcome. He was frowning and even yelling at us as we started to order (after letting sit there for 15 mins). At that point I said to him that we could leave if we were such an inconvenience but he pretended not to understand. To make it easier, we all ordered the special but he came back with Chicken balls and said that was the special and again pretended not to understand what we were talking about (when the board clearing said what the special was).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
“Goldenstar Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Ruihua is a much loved local restaurant, its interiors are chic and comfortable, but also ad hoc VIP banquet held in size to meet the needs of different occasions. The restaurant offers traditional authentic Chinese dishes, which produced consistently traditional cooking philosophy, exquisite choice of materials, rich ingredients, unique sauces, people praise mouth without a break,Tel:(250)836-4646! ! !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrew294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great authentic Chinese Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The place doesn't look like much from the outside and we were a little worried about the quality of the food. The decor is quite plain and outdated but the food was absolutely authentic and fabulous!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese Food EVER!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I'm afraid the exterior sums it all up. We went there as there are not too many choices in Sicamous to bring small children. First off we were never once offered a highchair for our 1 year old daughter. The place was not busy at all and yet it still took our server 10 minutes to see if we would like a menu or the buffet and even though she brought water at this time she never once asked if we would like anything else to drink. Nor did she return to our table at all during the course of our meal. We decided to do the buffet, even though most of the trays were empty, because she stated they were bringing more food out right away.Maybe that was our first mistake. We went and took a few items so our two girls could start eating right away as they were getting a little cranky from hunger about that time. My daughter wanted Wonton soup so I went and dug in the pot and managed to find one Wonton for her. At which point the chef walked by and stated he would bring more out right away. Well he did bring some more out but it only filled the pot about a quarter up and at this point others were waiting for food as well so by the time I got to it the pot was almost empty again except for 3 wontons. Needless to say we were scraping the pans and no more food other then the soup ever came out. The food that we did eat was disgusting, chicken chowmein tasted fishy, honey garlic chicken wings were gummy and the sauce had no flavor and was the consistency of glue. Even though there wasn't enough food for any of us to feel full they still charged us for 3 plates. That's right , even though my 4 year old only had 1 tiny bowl of soup and a few noodles off my plate and my one year old refused to eat any of it. What we did get in her mouth she quickly spit back out we were still charged almost $40. This place is a joke, if you are going to advertise an all you can eat buffet at least put some food out so people walk away feeling full. We wish would have gone and eaten at Subway, would have saved money and food would have tasted WAY better. Don't waste your money, our friend who is a local felt bad that he had not warned us about how terrible the food is at this place is before we came out. In other words save your money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dayna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I've had better, but I've had worse.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Not a huge amount to choose from in Sicamous, so we pulled in here as it's close to the highway. Previous reviews said not to let the exterior fool us. Turns out the exterior about sums it up. Took a long time to take our order, then food was delivered over the course of almost 1/2 hour so the first dishes were almost cold by the time the last ones were on the table. Food itself was bland, but otherwise okay. Price was okay. To sum it up, I wouldn't come here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goldenstar Family Restaurant also viewed

Sicamous, British Columbia
Sicamous, British Columbia
 
Sicamous, British Columbia
 
Sicamous, British Columbia
Sicamous, British Columbia
 

Been to Goldenstar Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing