We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good foor, average service”
Review of Trackside Cantina

Trackside Cantina
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Smithers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Mexican, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Mexican cuisine with the focus on fresh! Many ingredients sourced from local farms & almost everything made in house! Salsas, soups, dressings, desserts, sauces, salads, cornbread & much more all made fresh daily! Fun & festive decor, unique beverages & creative cocktails, latin wines, south of the border music, and fabulous staff!
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good foor, average service”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We ate here 2 times while in Smithers recently. The first time we had lunch and the service was good. We both had a burrito and they were amazing! The side of sweet potato wedges could have used a little time in the fryer or on the cooktop to crisp up a bit but it was good nonetheless. The second time we went a few days later for dinner. Again the meal was good but we waited almost an hour for our entrees and the restaurant wasn't even full. We finally finished eating after closing time only to find we were the second to last ones in there. If we had gotten our food sooner it would have made the evening more enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craigers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    53
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Tasty but s-l-o-w”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Do not go if you have any sort of time commitments. When I went, it was roughly 50% full but it took about 1.5 hours to get my main dish (!), though the appy took 'only' about an hour. Once it arrives, the food is very tasty, and the portions are large. It's not the best Mexican food I've had in B.C., but for Smithers it is the only option, and if you have the time, you'll get a tasty meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birdsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mexican meets Homemade - Best Yam Fries!!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

While in Smithers for a family wedding we ate at the Trackside Cantina twice for lunch.
I loved the atmosphere - from being located inside the small train station, steps from the railway lines and right in front of the beautiful mountains, to the fun, brightly-painted and decorated Mexican interior.
The staff was friendly, quick and helpful. The menus had a great variety of dishes, small and large.

I tried the Burrito Pollo Verde (Chicken) and really enjoyed it. The tortilla tasted homemade and was nicely crisp on the outside so it didn't get mushy when picked up.

Our absolute favourite item was the Yam Fries!
These are not your typical frozen or store-bought fries. They are huge chunks of real yam tossed in seasoning and baked until slightly crisp on the outside and hot and fluffy on the inside, served with a spicy mayo dip. Best ever!!! This dish also came with some tasty, fresh greens tossed in a light dressing. Perfect!

My relatives also tried the Cactus Club sandwich on the homemade bun which they also really enjoyed, as well as the medium and dark roast coffees which they raved to me about.

We also had the Queso appetizer (a warm three-cheese melted dip with tortilla chips). The dip came in a nice little ceramic pot, but it was cooling off fast so we enjoyed it quickly. While it could have been hotter, it was indeed delicious and we finished every bite.

Thanks for a few really yummy lunches in Smithers!! Highly recommended!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food, Busy Place”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The food is very good here, just not always easy to get a table. Unless you reserve ahead of time and preorder your meal by phone, expect to take an extended lunch hour!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Char D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Good food, great atmosephere. A little slow, but the kitchen is very small so to be expected, but if your not in a hurry worth it. Not great for people with smaller children.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trackside Cantina also viewed

Smithers, British Columbia
Smithers, British Columbia
 
Smithers, British Columbia
Smithers, British Columbia
 
Smithers, British Columbia
 

Been to Trackside Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing