We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sun Peaks
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun Peaks International Hostel
Morwell, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The Hostel at Sunpeaks was the nicest hostel i have ever stayed in... The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and the owners York and Nicola have done an amazing job to bring a homely feel to it. A lot of love has gone into that place and although; as you would expect, it may get full in the winter months, there is still plenty of amenities to get by! its only a 30min walk up to the village for pretty much anything you need and if you can get a ride into Kamloops every now and then for most of your supplies then your set :) Would undoubtedly recommended this hostel to anyone, and if i am ever in Canada again ill definitely go back there :)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    4
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
3
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My partner and I stayed in the private double room earlier this year. Whilst I cant fault the hostel on its general layout, cleanliness and the facilities provided, I cant say we really enjoyed staying there!

When we arrived there were clearly a lot of long-timers staying there, and to be honest we both felt we were an inconvenience to them.

Our room was barely big enough for the double bed, let alone the chest of drawers and all our luggage, certainly no room to unpack and spread out. Extra storage was provided in the basement (for boards, boots, etc), but not nearly enough for all the guests staying at the time. It was the same story in the kitchen, no spare drawers to store food and limited space in the fridge. Everything from making breakfast, to getting seat on the sofa was all very much on a first come first served basis, and in no way relaxing. Did i mention you can hear the converstaions in the next room?

To make matters worse, the hostel wasn't even full! When it did fill up at the weekend we felt it was just better to get out into town. At this point its worth saying that the hostel is a fair distance from the resort and there is a very limited shuttle bus sevice, so unless you have a car, expect a lot of walking...

On a positive note, the hostel is stuated at the foot of one of the lifts that takes you to the top of the mountain, however, be warned its possibly the slowest lift in the world.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seemook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I have just spent 7 nights at the Sun Peaks International Hostel and totally enjoyed my stay there. It is located just across from the longest lift at Sun Peaks and is true ski in and ski out accommodation. The hostel has a warm and friendly vibe, it feels like you are at home with friends. The staff are wonderful and really want you to have a good stay. The bathrooms are clean and the rooms are warm and comfortable.

The only possible down side is that it is located about 25 minutes walk out of the village so if you want to go out at night be prepared to do the walk in the cold each way as shuttle buses only run on the weekends and finish at 4pm.

A few tips for anyone going to visit
- buy your lift tickets at the hostel, they are much cheaper
- if you can take food with you as there is only one general store in town and it is very expensive
- if you do not have a car with you during your stay make sure you can get your supplies on the weekend when the bus can bring you back to the hostel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisvegas_Boarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2010

When I stayed at this hostel i felt like i was intruding into somebodys house, its very small and is operated more like a home then a hostel. I would only recommend a very short stay, any longer than york and staff just get in the way.

ps. they dont clean the sleeping bags which they use as a blanket cover.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

The hostel is in all honesty one of the best I have stayed in. York and Nicola (the owners/managers) are wonderful, always friendly and helpful.

The location is beautiful, opposite one of the longest runs in the resort. The hostel itself is around 20 minutes walk from the center of town, and is a 5 minute walk from a bus stop. The walk itself is very pleasant, and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Sun Peaks for the first time.

The accommodations are very comfortable, warm betting, clean (and new!) bathrooms, brilliant cooking facilities, cable TV, and there is wireless access at a very reasonable charge.. The list literally goes on. Easily the best value accommodation in Sun Peaks.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMacGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sun Peaks hotels
1.0 mi away
Coast Sundance Lodge
Coast Sundance Lodge
#4 of 7 in Sun Peaks
249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Sun Peaks Grand Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sun Peaks Lodge
Sun Peaks Lodge
#3 of 7 in Sun Peaks
170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pinnacle Lodge
Pinnacle Lodge
#1 of 8 in Sun Peaks
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residences at Sun Peaks Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Peaks International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Peaks International Hostel

Property: Sun Peaks International Hostel
Address: 1140 Sun Peaks Road, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 5N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sun Peaks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Sun Peaks
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Peaks Hostel is a boutique hostel located in the heart of Sun Peaks Resort, we pride ourselves running the best hostel possible with a real homelike atmosphere. Our superb location across the Burfield Chairlift and only steps to the village restaurants and night life, as well as low cost accommodation, makes this an ideal place to stay. ​ From our pancake and coffee in the morning to various activities at night, we strive to satisfy our guests, so they can go home with happy memories and new formed friendships. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing