We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have spent 3 months instead of 10 days!”

Kookaburra Lodge Sun Peaks
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kookaburra Lodge Sun Peaks
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We spent 10 days in a 2 bedroom unit in February. It was perfect for 2 couples. Near new, well appointed, quiet and comfortable. Really appreciated the hot tub, WiFi washing and drying. Cooked and ate-in 2 nights out of 3.

Ski locker room ideal on the ground floor. Short walk across the road where you could put your skis on and slide through the village to the lift. Bit of a longer walk on the way back.

Also great was Matt the ski boot guy with his shop on the ground floor.

Only negative was that there was no BBQ but I daresay we could have asked for one.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify all your requirements when booking! Hot tub, BBQ, washing and drying etc. Appa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ski_bum2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

207 facing the mountain near the bell tower Fits 2 people comfortably
Access good once you work it out.. Across the road from sports centre- a bit tired but good spa and pool as our suite did not have a spa
All clean and just a bit tight. Giant appliances and all worked well..Duvet on bed much too thick for a warm blooded creature
Stroll to town or ski down
The bell tower is actually quite pleasant.. It's the huge snow plough that wakes you up !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uncledes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed in 401 for 2 weeks in Dec/Jan 2012/13. Very overpriced for a 3 bdrm 3 bthrm apartment. Not ski in/out, you have to walk across & down the road to ski in/out. Only a 2 person spa for accommodation that sleeps 9 & a 3 person couch, we only had 5 people staying. 1 tv in the apartment so with kids it may not suit. Very noisy with the bells outside the main bedroom window so no chance to sleep in.
However Sun Peaks Resort is fantastic we will be back, for the same price we payed at Kookaburra we can stay twice as long else where.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowmakesmehappy, General Manager at Kookaburra Lodge Sun Peaks, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Feedback from our guests is very much valued in order to correct either the description or a deficiency. If you walk less than 30 ft. for ski-in/ski-out it is considered as a ski-in/ski-out location. The chimes of the bell tower are only on between 8 am - 8 pm and is part of the European touch of the Tyrolean style village of Sun Peaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed in 207. ok sized one bed.will fit small family only. Very noisy could hear neighbours partying until 400 am and other kids in next door suite. no chance to sleep in since bells go off at 8am. We had very dirty dishes, couch, bed side tables and pots. bedspread stained -last washed? Too much money better deals elsewhere. Wireless nice. Steam shower nice. Kitchen well stocked with appliances. Will check out other places next time and won't recommend this suite.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vancvrkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowmakesmehappy, General Manager at Kookaburra Lodge Sun Peaks, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We have a 24 hr on call service who responds to any noise complaints etc. Unfortunately you did not use that service and phoned us to correct the noise disturbance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I have skied at Sun Peaks over five Christmas seasons. This stay at kookaburra lodge has been the worst experience to date. We are in suite 206. When we first arrived, we spent an hour trying to get the stereo to work. We finally called the front desk and discovered that, although there are speakers in the ceiling that are apparently hooked to the stereo, the owner never completed the wiring. When we asked for a solution, we were sent a couple of cheap speakers that sound like x!&$. The furniture is from Costco and is the most uncomfortable crap around. There is not enough furniture for all of us to sit together and visit. There are very few pictures on the wall, so that the place looks like an infirmary. We were accused of a noise violation the first night...small children running up at down the halls at 11...we are all adults (no children) an were asleep by nine since we flew in from the east the same day. Last night the bar, which is immediately below the unit, played loud music til 4 a.m.....turns out it was the bar staff prepping for the next day...so we had to lodge a complaint against the bar in hope we will have quiet after midnight for the rest of our stay. The building is only 2 years old, but there is a disgusting mouldy smell in the hallways. Avoid this place like the plague....stay at McGilvery or Trails Edgeor any of the other condo units...they are fabulous!!!

Room Tip: Stay in some of the other individual multilevel condo units. The furnishings are top rate, cosy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowmakesmehappy, General Manager at Kookaburra Lodge Sun Peaks, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you for your comments. All the suites in the Kookaburra Lodge are individually owned and photos of each unit are available on our website giving you a true picture of the suite. Unfortunately we did not have any high end stereo speakers at hand to help you out with the speaker system and I actually sent over my own, personal loudspeakers to overcome the situation. The furnishing is from a well recognized furniture shop, but everybody has a different taste and expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We were a family of 6 and stayed in room 302. It was great. Bear Country provided excellent advice in the lead up to our stay and wonderful support while we were there. The accommodation was great with very generous room sizes and huge windows capturing the views with a really well thoughtout layout. The unit is furnished elegantly. The appliances snd storage made our stay easy. The location was perfect with easy access to the village and lifts and an easy ski home off the Gentle Giant at the end of the day. We made great use of the hot tub and BBQ.

Room Tip: We used the floor plans to choose which room would suit us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

The 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment we stayed in was outstanding and wonderful for our family of 5. Great hot tub and bbq on the deck outside, and excellent in almost every way. I would easily have given the Lodge 5 stars, except that we were originally supposed to stay in a one bedroom apartment, which was another story altogether. Way too small to accommodate anything more than a couple without kids (yes, there is a pullout sofa but it would be so claustrophobic) and no deck. We were moved because the room smelled as if it had a dead animal in it somewhere.

This is a condo, so there is no service to speak of. However, when we did have a problem (dead animal smell in our original room), we were very professionaly treated, moved out immediately and upgraded, too!

To summarise, if you staying in a 2 bedroom apartment or bigger, it's probably the best place to stay on the hill. If you are considering a one room apartment, rather stay elsewhere, unless you have no kids with you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Peaks
0.1 mi away
Sun Peaks Lodge
Sun Peaks Lodge
#3 of 7 in Sun Peaks
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Coast Sundance Lodge
Coast Sundance Lodge
#4 of 7 in Sun Peaks
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hearthstone Lodge
Hearthstone Lodge
#5 of 7 in Sun Peaks
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heffley Boutique Inn
Heffley Boutique Inn
#6 of 7 in Sun Peaks
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fireside Lodge
Fireside Lodge
#31 of 54 in Kamloops
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Lodge Sun Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Lodge Sun Peaks

Address: 3270 Creekside Way, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 5N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sun Peaks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Sun Peaks
Price Range: £137 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookaburra Lodge Sun Peaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Kookaburra Lodge Sun Peaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing