We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird, read review for why”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Thank you to Nathan for making us feel like the only guests. Oh, wait, we were!!! 190 rooms and being the only guests is a little scary. Thanks to all the family and friends email comments about Psycho and The Shining. It was OK, we thought them up ourselves.

We used this place as a night stopover in our drive from Whistler to Jasper. Ski season had ended about two weeks prior and the place, not just the hotel but all of Sun Peaks was pretty much deserted. The room was clean and comfortable. The Wi-Fi was initially not working but after Nathan got it fixed it was still a little iffy, going offline every couple of minutes. A fridge in the room would have been nice. The meal we had at the hotel’s restaurant, Memories, was delicious and inexpensive.

Staff in the morning gave us directions on how to cut 30 minutes off our trip to Jasper. It was a dirt road but he failed to mention we would be on it for about 45 minutes and we were starting to question whether we had the right directions, but we did find the main road and it did cut 30 minutes off our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffybundles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2010

The recession seems to be taking its toll here. This hotel is getting tired in many respects and seems to be operating on limited staff. Daily room maintenance was limited to making beds and minimal tidy up. Towel supply was erratic. The (still advertised) heated bathroom floors no longer seem to function and the hairdryer fixed to the bathroom wall was virtually useless. Our friends next door had a murphy bed which was in need of repair, which took three days to get done properly. The previously bustling and (with the exception of noise levels) excellent restaurant is now a shadow of its previous self, with food which can only be described as edible. We ate there one evening and went elsewhere for the rest of the week. We had booked at the hotel because we had thought it would be nice not to have don coats and boots to go out every night, but nobody wanted to try the restaurant after the first night. To be fair, we heard that breakfast and lunch were better than dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We enjoyed staying in Sun Peaks. We travelled with a 2, 3, and 5 yr old. This hotel was very family friendly. The staff was so very friendly. The hot tub was great. Walk right out the hotel to ski. All great.

The rooms had steep stairs, but, our 2 yr old handled it. The loft room had good beds for the kids, but, the adult bed was a pull-out couch. The mattress was really uncomfortable. This was the worst part of the vacation. Also a negative...the treadmill was not working properly.

However, we had a great time. We thought the place was friendly, kid-oriented, and ejoyed our visit.

The Globe restaurant was the best we tasted!! A must go.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tresgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

This time it was just me and my husband and once again we had a great stay at the Cahilty. The staff are friendly and very personable, Calvin remembered us from last time. The housekeeping staff do a great job, as it has to be one of the cleanest hotels we stay in. This year we noticed that they had upgraded the rooms, put in new carpets, paint and the bedding, it was a nice to see. This hotel is a true ski in/out location and is off the main street so you are not disturbed in the evening once the bars let out. The restaurant is new and is geared toward families, it was great food, service and price everytime we went there.

We will be back again next year for our ski vaction - we love Sun Peaks and the Cahilty Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinEggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

This Hotel was included by the operator's of our Fly Drive through The Rockies. Not quite sure why as it is nearly 40km from the main Jasper to Vancouver road we were travelling, apart of course that it is aproximately half way. Sun Peaks is an artificial but pleasant development and is still a work in progress. We were Summer visitors but we can appreciate that it must be a brillaint spot for skiers.

Free parking available. Reception a little chaotic with one chap serving whilst answering phone calls at the same time but he did up-grade us to a ' suite'. It was 6pm but all the rest of the staff had gone home including the restaurant staff. They would not be returning until 11am - so much for breakfast!!. We saw only two other guests during our stay. The room itself had a large King size bed together with a sitting room area with sofa and armchairs and a kitchen area in the corner. There was a large fireplace and dining table and chairs but no air conditioning. Washers and driers were available-coin operated Can$1.25 per cycle on the second floor. Sun Peaks itself was virtually closed down. We found a pub/restaurant which was pleasant enough and we ate breakfast in the Delta Hotel. Two snack bars were also open at breakfast time but they did not appeal.
Sun Peaks is obviousy a ski resort and must be very popular in the season. This was out of season but we actually quite enjoyed our overnight stay in this ghost town!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr. MJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

If you prefer to self-cater, the Lodge is a good option. We had stayed at The Delta the previous year, so our observation would be that what you lose in luxury, you gain in independence for a comparable price.

We stayed in a unit with a small-ish sofa bed and a fire place. It's in a great location. You can ski down to the lifts in less than a minute.

The sofa bed was comfy, the location was quiet. My only comment is that the decor is starting to look a bit tired. The utensils in the kitchen were pretty worn, it's all a little dated so would benefit from refurbishment. If you want luxurious touches, this isn't really the place for you. However, it's perfectly comfortable and we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viajeros001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We just returned from a week at Sun Peaks resort and we had a fabulous time. (February 2009) We stayed at Nancy Greene’s Cahilty lodge and skied six of the 7 days we were there.
The Cahilty Lodge is a nice 4 story building slopeside, basically a quick trip down the elevator to the parking garage, grab your skis, then up the steps, down the hill and you are at the lift! Its great!
The Cahilty is not big on fancy, luxurious top of the line furniture and fixtures. What it is big on is clean, quiet rooms with a whole lot of friendly staff to serve you. Yes, you will find fancier surroundings at the Delta, but if you are at Sun Peaks to ski/golf/bike etc… you are not in your room anyways so who cares if the counters in the kitchen are granite or not?!
When we arrived check-in was quick and friendly. Upon arriving at our room we found it was only a queen Murphy bed and not a queen bed as we’d requested. Being Presidents day weekend & lots of visitors from Washington, we could not switch rooms that day but we were told there would be a studio loft available the next day with a king bed and full kitchen that we could have for the week at no cost to upgrade!
Rooms were kept clean, coffee, tea, sugar, bathroom amenities re-stocked daily if necessary. In keeping with most hotels efforts to have less of an environmental impact towels and sheets replaced just once in 7 night stay but you could request more often.
On Sunday evening we met with Nancy Greene herself at a welcome reception. Her husband Al Raine was there as well, you could not find two more down to earth and welcoming people, no wonder Nancy was appointed to the senate.
The village is nice, a few shops and a number of restaurants, all within easy walking distance of the lodge. If you are looking for a Whistler sized village this is not it, they are deliberately keeping things small to avoid the busy/large Whistler type resort. We had a kitchen so numerous stops at the grocery store were made, prices are high, but it’s to be expected at such a resort.
We cooked more in our room, but there were a few times we went out. Check out Bottoms Bar and Grill for some mid week rib and wing specials. The steakhouse was wonderful, best steaks and prime rib we’ve had in ages, with prices comparable to the Keg, it was a good deal. We had some nice waffles and strawberries one morning and one of the small cafés/delis.
Now, last but not least…the skiing! We had a blast, not a ton of fresh snow but when resorts all over BC were struggling to have enough, conditions at SunPeaks were great. And even though no fresh powder we had mostly sun all week so visibility was great not to mention the “we went south for a week” tan!
We’d recommend hooking up with one of the Sun Guides for a tour of the mountains when you first get there, it helps you make sense of where to go and what leads to what. At the Cahilty, Al Raine and Nancy Greene conduct tours for lodge guests so we went out with Al and got the grand tour of all 3 mountains. We also met Nancy at 1 p.m. one day and skied with her too, great fun! Grooming was great if you like the corduroy runs, lifties friendly, lots of variety in the run types, just overall a great time. Being President’s week they said it was kind of busy, but they obviously haven’t skied in Ontario! Also heard there were some good programs for kids lessons/daycare if you need that sort of thing.
We hope that someday soon we can get back to SunPeaks resort. If you are looking for a fun, friendly resort that caters to families and skiers of all levels check it out!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lissie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Peaks
0.2 mi away
Coast Sundance Lodge
Coast Sundance Lodge
#4 of 7 in Sun Peaks
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Peaks Lodge
Sun Peaks Lodge
#3 of 7 in Sun Peaks
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heffley Boutique Inn
Heffley Boutique Inn
#7 of 7 in Sun Peaks
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hearthstone Lodge
Hearthstone Lodge
#5 of 7 in Sun Peaks
131 reviews
16.9 mi away
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Sun Peaks Grand Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites

Address: 3220 Village Way, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 5N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sun Peaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
Price Range: £74 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it’s mountain biking, hiking or skiing in one of Sun Peaks’ breath-taking mountain trails, Nancy Greene’s Cahilty Lodge has what you need to make your stay in the mountains as comfortable and memorable as it can be.Cahilty Lodge is a family friendly condominium style hotel with a number of rooms ranging from cozy traditional lodge rooms, studio kitchenettes and family suites to spacious three bedroom accommodations. All of our rooms have a TV with cable channels recently upgraded. A DVD player, coffee maker, kettle, complimentary coffee & tea, alarm clock, full bathroom with heated tile floor, hair dryer and daily housekeeping. Kitchens are available in most of our rooms and we also have a secure storage room for your sports equipment. Each room also has access to our newly upgraded high speed WiFi for your research needs. We have limited pet friendly rooms available upon request.We clearly understand what it takes to make your vacations in Sun Peaks more pleasurable — and it helps to be surrounded by spectacular mountain views and only be steps away from all the delightful ambiance of Sun Peaks Village and its amazing shops and restaurants. The winter home of Olympian Nancy Greene, her husband & Sun Peaks Mayor Al Raine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nancy Greene`s Cahilty Hotel Sun Peaks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing