We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor place for an overnight stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Sundance Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
S East England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Poor place for an overnight stop over”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very basic hotel, clearly intended as a skiers hostel when we have not doubt that the resort is busy. In summer however, nothing gets going until the season which is, we were told once we got there, July and August. The room was clean but not very comfortable and in mid June very few places open for eating. Staff poor, hot tub was highlighted as a key feature when we arrived, it did not work and was also not very clean. A really poor choice as a mid way stop between Whistler and Jasper, takes you a round trip of 50k out of your way, far better to push on and stay in a roadside motel, which may also be basic but we suspect you would get a better experience . Very surprised this hotel was one chosen for us by Trailfinders, nothing like the quality of any others we stayed in.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gardeninggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Coast Sundance Lodge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello gardeninggirl! Thank you very much for your feedback - we always appreciate hearing from our guests. I'm sorry that your Sun Peaks Resort experience was not all that you had hoped. July and August are definitely the busier summer months as far as activities go - though we do have a significant amount of guests that really enjoy the peace and quiet during the less busy summer months. I would like to learn more about your stay, specifically the Sundance Lodge portion. Our staff is one of our greatest assets, so I am very surprised to read that they were "poor". We are undergoing some hot tub maintenance so I apologize for this inconvenience, and it definitely should have been brought to your attention at check-in. I would really appreciate you contacting me at j.bingham@coasthotels.com so that I can learn more about your stay and what we could have done as a hotel to make it better.
Thank you.
JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    99
    54
    17
    13
See reviews for
93
113
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We usually come to this resort over winter for skiing, but went in the off season . The resort itself is trying to reinvent itself and there is mountain biking, concert series , golf, kayaking and hiking close by. Can't beat for being right into the village. Rooms are basic and the Coast is working on upgrading property to freshen it up. If you are looking to enjoy outdoor activities in the mountains, this is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermoinevancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were not expecting the Hilton by any means but, Coast Sundance was very basic and dated. We arrived to staff smoking in the front door way and front reception seemingly challenged by the check in process. Tiny double bed made for no sleep, terrible pillows made for a sore neck before a 6 hour drive the next day. The only saving grace was Bottoms bar/restaurant downstairs where the food was good and the staff were really friendly. One night was more than enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoWeRoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Coast Sundance Lodge, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hello SoWeRoam, First, thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate feedback, both good and bad, as it helps us know what we are doing well and identify areas where we can improve. I am very embarrassed and disappointed about your experience here at the Coast Sundance Lodge. That is definitely not the service we provide to our guests. I would really like to learn more about your stay so that we can follow up on these issues as I am quite surprised with your experience. I'm glad that you enjoyed Bottoms Bar & Grill. They really do have a great menu and staff to match! I invite you to contact me directly at j.bingham@coasthotels.com so that we can chat more about these issues and find a way that we can make this right for you.
Thank you.
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I spent a week at this property when we went skiing at Sun Peaks. We loved being the closest hotel to the ski lift (for ski-in, ski-out) - in fact, in our 30+ years of skiing we'd never been at a place where we could conveniently return for lunch. The village is very close to the hotel - an easy walk for groceries, wine, and pizza! The ski room was on the main level, so we didn't have to go traipsing down to the basement to store our skis. Our room had a stovetop, fridge, a dishwasher, gas fireplace, and balcony - and this was a superior room, not a premium room. Daily cleaning service, unusual in a condo-type property, was very good. Front desk staff, especially Kathy and Aleysha, were extremely helpful - any issue was addressed immediately. Hot tub was nice and the other guests, from around the world, very friendly. Not only would I recommend this property - we hope to return next ski season!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oboedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Coast Sundance Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello Oboedot, Thank you so much for your glowing review! I am very excited to share your comments with my fantastic team as this is exactly the experience we strive to provide to all of our guests. I admit, our location definitely gives us a hand up on the competition, but I'm glad our rooms and staff were able to exceed your expectations as well. All of our rooms actually have at least a kitchenette - it is the addition of the fireplace that makes this a "superior" room - and we're glad you enjoyed it so. I have worked at a few different hotels across British Columbia, and I have to say that Sun Peaks in general has some of the friendliest staff and travelers - it's great when people love where they are, and how could you not love it here?! Once again, thank you so much for your comments. This helps keeps us all motivated at the tail end of a long season. We look forward to your return next year, though don't forget about Sun Peaks during the summer months! - James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed only for one night, but the staff didn't treat us as such. They were very helpful and friendly, fantastic location, room needed some updating, but it is not brand new, so didn't expect new. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Coast Sundance Lodge, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello Angela, Thank you very much for your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and shared your comments. At the Coast we know that our people are our greatest asset and they are what set us apart from the rest of the pack. The Coast Sundance Lodge may not be the newest and shiniest hotel, but we certainly strive to make all of our guests feel they are a part of our family! We hope to see you again soon! James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

CSL is very well located near the ski-hill's primary lifts, has good underground parking, good ski storage, excellent front desk staff, and in most respects provides ideal ski resort accommodation and services. We enjoyed our view of the ski hill, and time spent après ski at the hotel's pub restaurant. Sun Peaks is not a large community and all services can be easily accessed by walking from the hotel. The room's mini kitchen with fridge was good. Visitors though should be aware that the advertised "high-speed" internet service is intermittent and slow, and "daily" housekeeping can be odd. Our experience with housekeeping was (a) day one - dish towel and rag removed but not replaced, (b) day two - garbage removed from under sink and left on table, bath towels not addressed, (c) day three - bath towels not addressed, (d) last day - all was well. Beds were well made up throughout, and we were able to manage through the shortcomings. We would book again with CSL, and we will definitely return to ski at Sun Peaks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Coast Sundance Lodge, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hello Dan R, Thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests as it helps us find out where we need to improve. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at Sun Peaks and that you would stay with us again, though I was disappointed to hear about some of the issues you experienced. We are currently looking at different options to improve our wifi as it is not able to keep up with all the devices our guests use these days. It was fine years ago, but now laptops and tablets etc are so common that we need to and will improve our system. I was embarrassed to read your comment regarding housekeeping as that is definitely not the level of service that we strive for or find acceptable. I would love to have you send me an email (j.bingham@coasthotels.com) or give me a phone call so that we may discuss further so that I can ensure these issues are dealt with. I look forward to speaking with you, and even more so you returning to beautiful Sun Peaks and the Coast Sundance Lodge! JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 night at the end of September while we were on an 8 day drive through the Rockies. We were staying at the end of September, so in between seasons so the area was really quiet with not much going on and not all the shops open which was a shame.

The hotel its self was nice. We spent our time chilling in the outdoor pool and going on a few walks around the area. The staff were really friendly also, offering us tips on the area and maps.

I imagine if you are here in the winter/summer there would be more to do and see.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emwynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Peaks
0.2 mi away
Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Sun Peaks Lodge
Sun Peaks Lodge
#3 of 7 in Sun Peaks
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hearthstone Lodge
Hearthstone Lodge
#5 of 7 in Sun Peaks
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heffley Boutique Inn
Heffley Boutique Inn
#7 of 7 in Sun Peaks
94 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kamloops
948 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel 540
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Sundance Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Sundance Lodge

Property: Coast Sundance Lodge
Address: 3160 Creekside Way, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 5N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sun Peaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coast Sundance Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coast Sundance Lodge is a deluxe, full service hotel, located at the base of the Sundance high speed quad chair in Sun Peaks Resort; no one is closer to the lifts than us! Open year round you can enjoy a winter season of skiing and snowboarding and a summer season of golf, mountain biking, trail rides and much more!The Coast Sundance Lodge features well appointed rooms and lofts, including one and two bedroom suites, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. All of the rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee machine, complimentary high speed Internet and balconies. You'll feel right at home with on-site laundry, fitness centre, outdoor hot tub and pet friendly rooms. The Coast Sundance Lodge is ready to accommodate your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Sundance Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Sundance Hotel Sun Peaks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing