We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location but NOISY hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Sundance Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coast Sundance Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but NOISY hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Sun Peaks is beautiful. There is some amazing wildlife right on the ski slopes (black bears, elk etc) so well worth a summer visit. Unfortunately, the hotel room that we were in with a slope view was right above the bar. There was music blasting all afternoon (even though the place seemed nearly empty) and then also late into the night. We had called reception at 4pm to ask whether the music would be on late as we wanted an early and relaxing night before a long drive to Whistler the next day and were told that it would not be audible in the evening. At midnight, unable to sleep, we had to get out of bed and ask to move rooms. This sadly spoilt our stay (the rock hard pillows added insult to injury). In the morning, on checking out, the receptionist asked if we had enjoyed our stay. We told him that it had been noisy and that we'd had to change rooms in the middle of the night. He then said "yeah, but apart from that?". We won't be staying there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 001Anna001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Coast Sundance Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello 001Anna001, Thank you for your review! We are truly sorry that your stay with us was not what it should have been and didn’t reflect the experience we are known for. We strive to deliver great service to every guest every time. I apologize if we didn’t hit the mark for you. You are right that we are blessed with a spectacular location in Sun Peaks and I would be delighted to welcome you back for a restful stay. Please feel free to reach out to me directly when your travel plans bring you to Sun Peaks so I can assist with your arrangements personally (j.bingham@coasthotels.com).
Thank you.
JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    85
    50
    16
    12
See reviews for
89
95
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel was a bit off our route but was well worth the deviation.Room excellent facilities to feed yourself eg for breakfast which helped us get away fast. Staff really helpful.
We were able to look out on the ski slopes but as its summer there were bears grazing.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks out on the ski slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Old60timer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Coast Sundance Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello Old60timer! Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at the Coast Sundance Lodge. The variety of our room types and the amenities located in the hotel (cafes and bar & grill) are great as it provides our guests with the option of either dining out or enjoying a "home-cooked" meal in the comfort of their own room. The rooms facing the mountain side are definitely the most popular year round as you can either watch skiers and snowboarders coming down the slopes or, as in your case, take in the beautiful scenery and wildlife... from a safe distance:) Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again!
JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were in Sun Peaks for the outdoor concert Blue Rodeo,they and all the bands were awesome along with the experience of just sitting outside listening to them play.The nature trails are great.
The coast is not very well kept.When we arrived our bathroom there had black hair all over the floor along with pills{medicine}.The room was not very clean.The room was so stickin hot,there is no air conditioning,Im pretty sure they had the heat on in the hallways,I said something but didn't really get a response..They did give us a fan it helped but you couldn't have the door open as there was a infestation of no seams{not sure of spelling}.The whole area is crawling with them,we got bitten so many times.You couldn't even sit in the hot tub,they were everywhere.The hot tub area is quite dirty as well,it and a few other areas need a good scrubbing.Unfortunately when I went to use my facecream,it was missing.I hate to think the maids took it but ,it was gone right after they left,I told the front desk,the lady said ,,,hmm,well maybe it fell in the garbage...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetvernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Coast Sundance Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello sweetvernon, Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the music and festivities - my family was visiting and we had a great time as well. However, I'm disappointed to hear the comments regarding the hotel. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning and there is a 3 week period (during your stay I'm afraid) where the bugs are quite nasty. I can certainly assure you that we do not have the heat on in the hallways. I have the utmost of trust for my staff and do not believe they would have taken your facecream. I would like for you to contact me so that I may be able to learn a few more details so that I can better follow-up with my staff, and so that we may discuss how we can make this right for you. Please contact me at your earliest convenience (j.bingham@coasthotels.com)
Thank you
JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

An overnight stay on our drive between Whistler and Jasper turned out to be really comfortable and pleasant.

The room was light, spacious and overlooked the grassed pistes. Easy access from underground parking (10 cdn a night).

The corridors were a bit dull and the dark green doors a bit military like for my taste.

A free outdoor concert was being prepared for the following night and the sound checks suggested that a stay then might not have been so pleasant. These concerts are regular summer events in sun peaks so check when booking.

Comfy beds. Loads of plug sockets. Helpful smiley staff. The coin laundry in the basement is handy for road trippers.

Local shops and restaurants were open. We had a nice sunny stroll through the sun peaks centre and found it much less pretentious and a nicer place than Whistler. We commented to ourselves that it was a more alps-like village-like place such as you might find in Austria than was trying-too-hard Whistler.

Ok, so it's over an hour round trip out of your way; but the next day it was maybe an hour and a half before we saw anywhere else we might have thought about staying before pressing on to Jasper.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank whoamiwhereami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Coast Sundance Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello whoamiwhereami, (great name by the way:)) Thank you very much for your review. We always like to hear from our guests! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in between Whistler and Jasper - it is definitely the best stop to break up the long drive. As you mentioned, the corridors do need some work. But I am happy to announce that we are conducting some alterations (both interior and exterior) so you will see changes happening at the hotel over the next few years addressing these items. We have already conducted alterations in the guest rooms regarding updating some furniture, and will now be focusing on the common areas. Glad you found our beds comfortable as having a good night's sleep is of the utmost importance. I absolutely agree with your comments regarding our lovely resort compared to some of our competitors, and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!
Come back soon!
Thanks again, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Peaks, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The staff particularly at the reception were fantastic, so helpful with lots of things. The hotel was very clean & comfortable. Good location, although it was quiet while we were there, we actually enjoyed this!

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony overlooking the ski slopes, beautiful. King size bed with full facilities in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Dawncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S East England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very basic hotel, clearly intended as a skiers hostel when we have not doubt that the resort is busy. In summer however, nothing gets going until the season which is, we were told once we got there, July and August. The room was clean but not very comfortable and in mid June very few places open for eating. Staff poor, hot tub was highlighted as a key feature when we arrived, it did not work and was also not very clean. A really poor choice as a mid way stop between Whistler and Jasper, takes you a round trip of 50k out of your way, far better to push on and stay in a roadside motel, which may also be basic but we suspect you would get a better experience . Very surprised this hotel was one chosen for us by Trailfinders, nothing like the quality of any others we stayed in.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gardeninggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Coast Sundance Lodge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello gardeninggirl! Thank you very much for your feedback - we always appreciate hearing from our guests. I'm sorry that your Sun Peaks Resort experience was not all that you had hoped. July and August are definitely the busier summer months as far as activities go - though we do have a significant amount of guests that really enjoy the peace and quiet during the less busy summer months. I would like to learn more about your stay, specifically the Sundance Lodge portion. Our staff is one of our greatest assets, so I am very surprised to read that they were "poor". We are undergoing some hot tub maintenance so I apologize for this inconvenience, and it definitely should have been brought to your attention at check-in. I would really appreciate you contacting me at j.bingham@coasthotels.com so that I can learn more about your stay and what we could have done as a hotel to make it better.
Thank you.
JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sun Peaks hotels

Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We usually come to this resort over winter for skiing, but went in the off season . The resort itself is trying to reinvent itself and there is mountain biking, concert series , golf, kayaking and hiking close by. Can't beat for being right into the village. Rooms are basic and the Coast is working on upgrading property to freshen it up. If you are looking to enjoy outdoor activities in the mountains, this is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermoinevancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Peaks
0.1 mi away
Sun Peaks Lodge
Sun Peaks Lodge
#3 of 7 in Sun Peaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Heffley Boutique Inn
Heffley Boutique Inn
#7 of 7 in Sun Peaks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hearthstone Lodge
Hearthstone Lodge
#5 of 7 in Sun Peaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
16.8 mi away
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Sun Peaks Grand Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Sundance Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Sundance Lodge

Property: Coast Sundance Lodge
Address: 3160 Creekside Way, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 5N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sun Peaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coast Sundance Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coast Sundance Lodge is a deluxe, full service hotel, located at the base of the Sundance high speed quad chair in Sun Peaks Resort; no one is closer to the lifts than us! Open year round you can enjoy a winter season of skiing and snowboarding and a summer season of golf, mountain biking, trail rides and much more!The Coast Sundance Lodge features well appointed rooms and lofts, including one and two bedroom suites, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. All of the rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee machine, complimentary high speed Internet and balconies. You'll feel right at home with on-site laundry, fitness centre, outdoor hot tub and pet friendly rooms. The Coast Sundance Lodge is ready to accommodate your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Coast Sundance Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Sundance Hotel Sun Peaks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing