We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, Rude Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heffley Boutique Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible, Rude Service”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We visited in the off-season (October) and were literally the only guests in the hotel. Still, the service was rude. Elevator broken, hot-tub not working, vending machines turned off, and the hotel staff went home at 8 PM. (they asked us to lock the lobby doors at night)

Any run-in with the staff (owner) was rude and un-helpful. He accused us of dirtying the mugs when we asked for clean replacements. Our room never did get serviced on our last day.

Worst hotel experience I've ever had.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    14
    7
    16
See reviews for
20
44
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The hotel has one of the most unfriendly, uncaring, unhelpful management I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with in the hospitality industry. We found the storage facilities totally inadequate for our mountain bikes but the management offered no other options or solutions other than finding a different place to stay. When we did so, they charged us a 1 night cancellation fee after we had left.

We visit Sun Peaks every summer and we've stayed at most of the hotels and we never had any issues like we did at the Heffley.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breal604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101local, General Manager at Heffley Boutique Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Guest,
We very much welcome your response it gives us an opportunity
To clarify our sports equipment storage policies.

We understand that you are upset about our bike storage policy
and do regret the way you feel and we also understand that we
helped you to find another hotel, which allowed you to take your
bike to your room.

We very much welcome mountain bikers and had many such guests
during the high profile World Cup Competitions staying in the
Heffley Boutique Inn at Sun Peaks Resort. They did not complain
about our “No Bikes in the Studio” policy. They felt their
bikes, likely in the same price range as yours, were very secure.

Why: Only the Front Desk Attendant has the key for the bike
storage and keeps a log of the stored bikes and who is going in
and out and at what time.

This security policy is a bit more time consuming for the hotel
staff but it makes sure that all stored equipment is secure.

We are sorry that you didn’t even bother to have a look at our
secure bike lock up.

The same policy applies in the winter for skis and snowboards,
and again: we had World Cup Champions and
Olympic Gold Medal Winners staying here and they had no problems
with our “No ski and no snowboards in the Studio policy”.

For many years we have groups like the Canadian Ski Patrol
Reunion and scores of ski clubs staying here and they never had
a problem with security in fact they also felt our security
standards are very safe.

You mentioned that we offered no other storage solution; we do
not quite understand your comment, based on what we said above.

Our policy has been in place for the past 15 years and we have
never ever had one complaint. We know it is hard to please
everybody and we are sorry that we could not live up to your
security standards.

In regard to the credit card charge: Our booking and cancellation
policy is very clear and you mentioned at the time of arrival to the
Front Desk attendant that you read them very carefully.
Out of courtesy we charged you only for the first night and not for
the remainder of your stay as our policy says and to which you agreed
at the time of booking via a third party.

Again we deeply regret that we could not live up to standards
and hope that you will come back to Sun Peaks, even if you stay
at a different hotel.

Sincerely
Heffley Boutique Inn
Manfred Kasprzik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sun Peaks hotels

Sooke, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed in Sun Peaks several times over the winter,
but never before at the Heffley Boutique Inn. We came
up to see the free Mathew Good Concert and were surprised
about the great variety of activities that Sun Peaks
has to offer in the summer.
The Studio we had was quite large, and I didn't have the feeling
that I am in a hotel room. It was very clean, and had well equipped
kitchenette, which came in handy in the morning. Kitchen cleaning
was not included.

The front desk staff was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area.
They gave us great advice and took their time
to accommodate us and every day, they booked a
different activity for us at our request.
I wish every hotelier would care about their guests
as Manfred and his family does.
Thank you again and we will be back.

Room Tip: Call ahead of time and ask for a studio with one King and a sofa bed on the Creekside Way side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norbert13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Travelled from Whistler and struggled to find Sun Peaks on a dark, wet and eventually snowy evening, not very well signposted, but would probably have been fine in daylight.
Nobody at reception but a message was left to phone and somebody came straight away. Booking in was quick, friendly & helpful. There was a charge for parking in the underground car park, but outside was free and we left the car at the front of the hotel.
The rooms were a pleasant surprise, large, clean & comfortable, with a connecting door, which was handy for us.
Had a very nice meal at the Black Garlic restaurant adjoining the hotel, staff also friendly & helpful.
Would definitely recommend for people holidaying in Sun Peaks, but it's a bit out of the way for an overnight stop.
We were told we could check out anytime, but there would be nobody at reception before 9am. Left approx. 11am and still nobody at reception, left the keys behind the counter.

Room Tip: A bit out of the way if just stopping overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobharris01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Cleaning rag left in the drain of the bathtub, pop machine that doesn't work, no night staff or security, did not receive the room we booked! We booked two nights in August 2012 based on the description: balcony with mountain view, deep soaker tub with complementary slippers, pillowed bed with down blanket, lounge by the fireplace, etc. We received a room with a window view of the hotel across the street, a regular tub with a cleaning rag left in the drain..no slippers, no pillowed bed with down blanket, no fireplace. When we brought this to the desk managers attention and read description of room we booked he said "sounds like the Honeymoon Suite and you're not getting that". When I requested the bathtub cleaning rag removed by housekeeping I was told there was no one to do that and I should pick it up and throw it in the garbage!!! Requested price adjustment - none given. Uncaring poor service with no night security/safety.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

we stayed one night in the middle of May. Just us and another couple in the hotel (maybe in the whole town). Not 24h front desk. They charged us from parking outside the hotel, just because we parked in the front of the hotel. If we had parked at the other side of the street it was free. We felt really bad. The room was clean, but lots of dust at the balcony (we could not even use it...) The location is good, but the same as the other hotels. The town is really small... If you are going to skiiing, a nice place to stay, for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank costalmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101local, General Manager at Heffley Boutique Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review and we appreciate your helpful comments.

The off season is indeed still quiet in Sun Peaks, but Tourism Sun Peaks is working hard to change that.

Parking is not always what it seems, special when its dark, the No Parking signs are not too visible. There is no parking allowed on any street in Sun Peaks and we as hotel hosts do our best to avoid that our guests do not get any tickets. We offer convenient parking in front of the hotel or secure underground parking. To maintain the parking areas, we charge a small fee.

We apologize for the dust on the balcony and will make sure that this won't happen in the future. And you are right, the Heffley Boutique Inn in Sun Peaks is a nice ski in ski out place to stay and skiing in the Winter is simply the best.

We do look forward to hosting you again.
Manfred Kasprzik, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Careful ladies if travelling alone. The hotel description, in many places on line, indicate a 24 hour front desk. This is not necessarily the case. We visited in the off or shoulder season and were to be the only guests in the entire place. 1 room, 4 women, no front desk after 10pm. The hotel was very clean, well appointed and well located but with many hallways unlit and no one in the building we were too nervous to stay. This is just a heads up - I'm sure during busy season it's a much different story. Oh and the cancellation policy is 30 days, even in the off season so you may be well served to check out other hotels, as we did and found at that time of year, some others (5 star just down the road) had a 4pm day of arrival cancellation policy. We were not offered any compensation from the hotel but Expedia was nice to deal with.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Peaks
0.0 mi away
Coast Sundance Lodge
Coast Sundance Lodge
#4 of 7 in Sun Peaks
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Sun Peaks Lodge
Sun Peaks Lodge
#3 of 7 in Sun Peaks
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hearthstone Lodge
Hearthstone Lodge
#5 of 7 in Sun Peaks
130 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kamloops
948 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel 540
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heffley Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heffley Boutique Inn

Property: Heffley Boutique Inn
Address: 3185 Creekside Way, Sun Peaks, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sun Peaks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heffley Boutique Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heffley Inn is a “Boutique Hotel” with spacious Guest Suites located in the heart of Sun Peaks Village. Views of Mount Morrissey, Tod Mountain, Sundance Mountain, and the Village Center fill your window. Golf Course is across the street. A true ski in – ski out accommodation with an intimate atmosphere. Golf course is across the street. A beautifully appointed spa (incl. hot tub and sauna) compliments our recently refurbished Guest Suites. Our standard “Deluxe Studio Suite” features a well-appointed, fully equipped kitchenette, including two-burner range top, bar size fridge, toaster, coffee maker (complimentary coffee/tea bags), microwave and dining table. Our Guest Suites have either one King, or two Queen beds, kitchen tables and chairs, drawers, Euro-style bathrooms, Phones and color cable TVs. We also have two Guest Suites available with full kitchens. Deluxe Loft Suites are also available.Our lobby invites you to make friends around the fireplace, and the Black Garlic Bistro is ready to serve you a wonderful Asian Fusion dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heffley Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heffley Boutique Hotel Sun Peaks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing