We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Killer Whale Cafe

Killer Whale Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Telegraph Cove Resort
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had an evening meal and ordered starters and main course. The food was great but I struggled to finish as the portions were so huge. It is not cheap but good quality. If we visited again I would only have a main course as it is such a shame to leave great food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kaswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    57
    22
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Love the chowder!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stopped into Telegraph Cove on our way down island. It came highly recommended - unfortunately, the Seafood Linguine is only on the dinner menu - so we couldn't try it. However, our party had the Seafood Chowder, 2 pc Halibut and Chips and Chicken Strips/Fries (one non-seafood lover!). Our server was excellent - she knew her menu well and was able to make some recommendations. Our meal was served quickly - and we were able to spend more time sightseeing than sitting around waiting :) . As for the food, the chowder was one of the best I have had (in my humble opinion) and the portions are large (lots of fries). The halibut was good - however, not the best I have had. I prefer a very thin batter - just my preference. And I would have enjoyed a little coleslaw with my fish. Chicken strips were good - crispy and moist. We will visit again - at night though so I can try the Seafood Linguine!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tourismrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food after whale watching - Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We visited the restaurant after whale watching and found the service excellent. The prices were a little more than normal but the quality of the food and the service made up for that. Personally the seafood linguine I had was delicious.

Recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peppercorn3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at Telegraph Cove Resort for four nights and ate at the Killer Whale Restaurant each night. It was excellent! We went on a couple of evening whale watching trips but made reservations at the restaurant for after the trips returned. It was a bit chilly out on the boat in the evening, so the fish chowder was just the right choice to warm the bones. Delicious! And we also tried the salmon BBQ one night. It wash also delicious! The staff were excellent and very friendly. And the food came out quickly too. We'll be back again in a few years! Can't wait!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelleinshetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Fantastic food, service and pretty good prices. We stayed at Telegraph Cove for 4 nights and ate here every night. 10/10 on each occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Killer Whale Cafe also viewed

Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
 
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Killer Whale Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing