We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stopped here on our way through”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Telegraph Cove Resort
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stopped at Telegraph Cove Resorts on out way through, we were driving further out to go Whale watching.

This resort is unlike any I have ever been to before and still has a small close knit domestic/industrial feel to it. I don't think we would have stopped or stayed long if we had children with us there is NOTHING for them to do here and it's not safe to leave them to explore as there is a busy jetty & open water. It was a long and rugged route past lots of industrial logging sites before you turn down into Telegraph Cove which is a small cove. There are a few other lodge type places to stay as well but most people seemed to be camping or in a RV on route to somewhere else.

Unless you have a grizzly or whale trip booked to leave from here I would struggle to understand why you would stay longer then 24 hours.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

If you want to leave the 'real' world behind, make sure to spend a few days. A perfect couples getaway....except....

We stayed in the campground and got double charged, and it took some arguing and a few phone calls over a few days to get it straightened out. Also, there is this weird "us vs. them" dynamic that happens between the two different sides of the bay. One half is owned by Canadian family that has lived their for years, the other half is apparently owned by an American investor. Several people who worked for the Canadian-owned side made it quite clear that "they" work for someplace different and "the other side" was somehow undesirable. I get it...they are upset an outsider bought the property, but you know what? I don't need to know resort/cove politics when I'm on vacation.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ProfANON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed three nights in cabin 19 in Telegraph Cove and we enjoyed every minute of it. The house was extremely good and the view over the harbour made it superb.
If it was possible we would buy the house and move over there.
Telegraph Cove has a relaxing atmosphere and the whale watching with Stubbs Island tours is a nice trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 19, with 2 bedrooms, 1 separate toilet and 1 bathroom, a large kitchen and a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jeroen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just came back from Telegraph Cove. A unique cove with a strong character and an authentic charm.The service id good and residents are charming and friendly. My husband and I are kayakers and brought our own kayak but you can rent them right at the cove. We padddled across the chanel to a nearby island with a bay. It took only one hour. A humback whale surged very close to our kayak, one can easlyly located them by the 3-4 sec blow they do. Then there were many many dolphins but certainly not as friendly as the one in Nuevo Vallarta. Kayakers beware! Do not go on the water without some device to help you with directions. Fog can quickly surround you in a misty day and you can lose your bearings. Also warm clothes is a must in that weather as if you flip over for some reasons, hyperthermia can be a serious problem. The water is so cold! The water is rich with sea life...big fish jumping everywhere. All fishermen seem to come back with their quote. I saw the biggest halibut being prepared (fillet) ever.
We stayed in a room at the Westall house. This one sure has character but is very very `squiky` with wooden floor everywhere. The first night we were above a very noisy snorer and neither of us could spleep. Then he left so it is was better. The one bedroom with a queen bed on the top floor was very confortable, the bathroom outside but only two steps away. The good thing about this accomodation is that there is a common room with a fridge, toaster and microwave and dishes and a nice cozy living room to share with the view of the cove. The place is kept very clean. I recommend this place for those who are not light sleepers are there are 4 rooms and people come and go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Orcella Expeditions run by Jim and Mary Borrowman was a week of seeing lots of whales (killer, humpback, minke) and other marine life. On this M7 expedition, the small number of guests made it easy to find a place at the boat rail or at a window to watch. Fantastic food on boat and shore. Great accommodation, clean, quiet, comfortable. We stayed in their Cottage at the Cove. Really friendly hosts and naturalist on board are knowledgeable about whales. What an entertaining and educational week! Our reservations for next year are made already.

Room Tip: Cottage at the Cove has three bedrooms, two bathrooms. The Bed and Breakfast rooms in the main hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winifred63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Staying in the original cabins at Telegraph Cove is well worth the money to get a real feel for the experience of bygone days. The accommodation is excellently refurbished inside, but some external work could be done without detracting from the original features, our windows in the floating hoapital annex, were in much need of replacing as some in other cabins had been done. It is possible to be self sufficient, our kitchen area was well equipped, but do bring your fresh food with you, do not rely on the general store. Pub and restaurant are good if pricey and the service is excellent, and very friendly. Whale watching and Grizzly tours are expensive. We managed to see whales from on land at the cove and black bears as we drove along. The new development of apartments in the old sawmill site were opposite us across the harbour but did not affect our stay. Well worth an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Book the largest room you can afford in case the weather is bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We shared a cabin with two other couples. The resort was quiet in September so we could wander around the area without many people to be seen. The cabins were ok but in need of a fresh coat of paint. Yet there was a 'wilderness' feel about the whole place. It was beautiful first thing in the morning with the sun coming through the mists in the bay. The restaurant was pleasant and the food was good although drinks were expensive. The big plus in the cabin was the log fire which burned beautifully and gave the cabin a great 'pioneer' atmosphere. Outside the cabin the chairs were grubby and flimsy, which was disappointing. However, the reception staff were friendly and courteous. Overall, it was a good spot to get away from it all and well worth the journey.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, ask to see the cabins first. They vary considerably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dcsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telegraph Cove
9.9 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
45 reviews
31.7 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
79 reviews
11.3 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
53 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alder Bay Resort
Alder Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Port McNeill
31 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alert Bay Lodge
Alert Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in Alert Bay
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph Cove Resort

Address: Box 1, Telegraph Cove, British Columbia V0N 3J0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Telegraph Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Telegraph Cove
Price Range: £90 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Telegraph Cove Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Telegraph Cove is tucked away on the eastern coast of Northern Vancouver Island. This tiny and picturesque village is a major destination during the summer months when the snug little bay bustles with whale watchers, fishermen, boaters, campers and kayakers. Telegraph Cove Resort has a rich and colourful past and is one of the last boardwalk settlements left on Vancouver Island. Telegraph Cove Resort boasts a large variety of accommodation choices. From cozy cabins & historic homes to modern condominium suites, we have something for every taste and budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Telegraph Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraph Cove Hotel Telegraph Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing