We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and cons” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Telegraph Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Telegraph Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Telegraph Cove Resort
california
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pros and cons”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2008

We were so very disappointed in the resort. I had expected it to be the highlight of our trip, but instead found the experience less than good. The dead fish heads and fish odor was almost as bad as the flies in our room. The room was tired at best, the mattress horrible and the cleanliness a 1 star. The area is beautiful and the trips to grizzly watch etc were awesome and not to be missed. Go for the trips but unless you are a fisherman, stay someplace else!

  • Liked — Whale and Grizzly trips
  • Disliked — owners attitude, fish smell
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cadreamin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    63
    30
    20
    10
See reviews for
43
92
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2008

Stayed on the Telegraph Cove Resorts camp site with my father in July and August 2007. Campsite is located away from the cove itself a little, but is amongst the trees and extremely well cared for by friendly site manager. Sites have fire rings and the washroom block is kept really clean, (free hot showers). At night it is so dark you can practically see every star in the sky, but you will need a good flashlight to find your way around. Went on an overnight kayak trip with North Island Kayak in Telegraph Cove and was treated to amazing wildlife viewing in the most natural setting you can imagine. There was a black bear on the beach during breakfast, sea lions swam along side our kayaks the whole day and we witnessed a pod of orca's swim by the beach (Kycash?) where we had spent the night. Great food too. Take thermals though, its cold at night. In Telegraph Cove there are great Paninni's and coffee at the Seahorse Cafe.

Helpful?
3 Thank should_of_gone_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2007

We stayed in Wastell Manor and after leaving our previous B&B which was lovely Wastell Manor came as a bit of a shock. The walk from the carpark with luggage is quite long and on boardwalk so suitcases with wheels can get stuck. The suitcases then have to be carried up several rickety slippery steps. When we arrived it was overcast and damp apparently it is better in the sunshine but this remains to be seen. It poured with rain whilst we were there and we had a leak in our room on an inside wall!! Several phonecalls later, there is not phone in the house so you have to go to the pub or trek up to the office, a bath mat was put on the floor to soak up the water and a hole left in the wall where the water came through. I then became worried as to what would happen if there was a fire as the house does not have a phone or any fire extinguishers that I could see and all access is wooden.

Breakfast can be found in the cafe from 10 until 11 but if you are on a whale or bear trip both of them start well before then so the only place to get breakfast is at a kiosk.

Housekeeping was not up to scratch in fact on the day of the leak our room was not cleaned and dirty glasses and cups from previous occupants were left in the shared kitchen for 3 days before the housekeeping staff decided to wash them up.

Decor tired and only plus side was that we met several other travellers and were able to share experiences whilst sitting in the shared sun(?) room.

As previous reviews there is not much to do in the area but we came here to see the killer whales and were not dissapointed although they were late this year and we saw them on a fishing trip and not the organised whale watching trip.

Captive audience for food so it was more expensive than any of the other places that we ate in on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Telegraph Cove hotels

Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2007

We checked in here at 4pm and by 7pm we had checked back out and asked for our money back. We are not that fussy but we felt there were some serious health and safety problems with this resort.
When we first arrived, we thought the room felt a little tired and run down, but we expected that from an old resort, and it gave the place character. We locked our rucksacks and camera's in the cabin and then went to the car to get our luggage. However, when we got back to the cabin, we could not unlock our door! We thought we were just being daft, so went to reception, who gave us another key just in case. That also did not work, so the lady called the maintenence man (who is also the owner) to have a look. An hour later, and we were finally back in our room - however it had taken several power tools to remove the lock in order to do this!! This now meant that the cabin was not secure. The owner tried to ensure us that the whole area was safe and we had no need to lock the cabin, as noone in the area does. That might be the case, but when we have all our favourite possessions, along with passports, traveller's cheques etc, there is no way we are leaving them in an unlocked cabin, with who knows who wondering around outside. On top of all this, we then noticed that there was no smoke alarm and the fire extinguishers were 30 years old and looking very rusty! My husband is heavily involved in H&S for the company he works for in England, and according to him those fire extinguishers were extremely dangerous and illegal.
So, our next step was to find somewhere else - and we did - Hidden Cove Lodge, less than 15 minutes away.
To give Telegraph Cove credit, the lady behind reception was very helpful and understanding all the way through - she gave us a full refund no questions asked. (she did actually offer another cabin, but this was a studio room for the same price as the 3 bedroom cabin we were staying in - and she couldn't give us a discount!). She also said that she agreed the place needs a lot of refurbishment. The funny thing is, the lock on the door to the cabin had just been replaced!!

Telegraph Cove is a lovely plave to visit - the whale museum is great - but don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2007

We stayed at the campground which was a very nice commercial campground.

The restaurant is really pretty good, but be sure to get them to cook the fish VERY LIGHTLY, no one on the island seems to know how to cook salmon. If the weather is nice you can sit on the porch and watch the 2 resident bald eagles in the harbor fight over salmon carcasses. Pretty pleasant!

The bear watch trip was EXCELLENT, if you can, be sure to go on the Zodiacs. You go in survival suits in the open, but it is really fantastic you're so close to the water. This made the entire trip worthwhile.

The whale watch was a real disappointment.We get better whale watching in New England and the very heavy handed "ecology talk" well accomplished the stated goal of depressing the guests. Not recommended

One thing to keep in mind about northern Vancouver Island is that it is pretty much the province of the timber companies so there aren't a lot of scenic areas or hiking trails around as there are in the central island area. There are however a lot of trees, which make the views from the road very limited.

  • Liked — Bear watch
  • Disliked — Whale watch
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NCARalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McQueeney, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2007

My family of four, husband, son 17, daughter 12 and I stayed in cabin #6. It has 1 bedroom downstairs (queen) with a nice closet. Up a unique and very narrow stairwell are 2 more bedrooms (you walk through one to get to the other). One room has 2 twins. The other room has a queen and 1 twin under the sloping roof line. There is a living room with 2 couches and an easy chair. A big fully equipped kitchen with a dining table for 6. BYO dishwasher detergent, hairdryer. Bring warm jammies as the building sits over the water and there are no heaters upstairs. You can feel vibrations from people walking in the house and sometimes on the boardwalk. The bathroom has a shower only (quite small). The structure itself is old, but the kitchen looks new. Beds are comfy. Not glamorous, but spacious and unique. BYO food as T.Cove is in the middle of nowhere. A very long drive up the island get km marker before trip. Gorgeous scenery- home of Stubbs whale watching. Different cabin configurations available. We were quite happy.

  • Liked — The great kitchen and all the beds
  • Disliked — The tiny shower
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank finnishspitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Oz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2006

We went to Telegraph Cove purely to do the Grizzly Bear Tour. But WOW. What a gorgeous unassuming place. Stayed in Cabin 9 - just GORGEOUS. No TV (gave me a shock - had to talk to hubby instead!!). It is the cutest place we have stayed in for a long long time - and we are big big travellers (only one continent to go - Antarctica ... done 43 US states, Africa, Europe, mid-East, South America). Quaint, unpretentious, unaffected by the 21st century. Could have stayed for weeks. I hope they don't let the developers change it too much.

Did the Grizzly Tour with Tide Rip Tours - they are located near the restaurant on the boardwalk. FANTASTIC. Saw 3 grizzlies and 2 black bear. What more could we want. But then we passed orca on the way back - bonus!! Fantastic Tour with a very knowledgable guide. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

This is the 1st review I have written. I felt compelled to do so because the place was soooooo gorgeous and the tour incredibly wonderful. But if you're looking for 5 star resorts .... go elsewhere. This is an unaffected fishing village (the fishermen still get up at 5 a.m. and yack while getting their boats out so be prepared to be woken early). But if you want a "back to nature and see wildlife" experience, you can't go past Telegraph Cove.

  • Liked — It was quaint - cabins are ex-fisherman's cottages redone .... just gorgeous.
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was gorgeous.
  • Tips/Secrets — Cabin 9 is apparently the cutest. For a couple only though. Larger cabins are less cute - but still nice.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank GlynisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telegraph Cove
9.9 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
11.4 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Alert Bay Lodge
Alert Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in Alert Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cedar Park Resort Cottages & RV Camping
5.0 mi away
The Seine Boat Inn
The Seine Boat Inn
#1 of 4 in Alert Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph Cove Resort

Property: Telegraph Cove Resort
Address: Telegraph Cove, British Columbia V0N 3J0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Telegraph Cove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Telegraph Cove
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Telegraph Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Telegraph Cove Hotel Telegraph Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing