We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fitting the Budget Minded Comox”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comox
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A great get away. Staff treated us very well. Complimentary breakfast. Outdoor pool on premises. Wide range of rooms to choose from for the budget.

We stayed in one of the 3 loft rooms, which has a view of the ocean and mountains.

Very nice Sushi restaurant on site, good food and service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Spent two nights here, and our group had three rooms. Airconditioning didn`t work, but room was clean and nice with a nice seaview. We would recommend it to others, and it is good value for money. Left my phone in the room, but staff at the hotel picked it up and arranged for my pickup. Excellent service :-)

Room Tip: Choose the second floor, there is no elevator but teh view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfIngeLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having driven by this motel on several occasions I had no great expectations. We stayed one night and were pleasantly surprised by what a nice place it was. Got a great deal through Bookings and had a good sized, nicely decorated room with a sea view for a very reasonable price. Breakfast is 'basic' to be comlimentary.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Redtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This is the most "home-like" motel/hotel that I've ever stayed in. If it were not for the fact that I am older than both of them, I would be tempted to call Dagmar and Kathy, "Mom".
I can't think of anything missing from their rooms; all the amenities are there.
The continental breakfast includes hot, cold and gluten-free cereals, toasts, boiled eggs, fruit, muffins, coffee, tea and milk, yoghurt and juices.
You won't find a better stay at a better price anywhere. In Comox, this will be my choice from now on.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tombassinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This place suited our needs perfectly. We had a suite and it was quite and very clean. Room was right on the road and across from the hospital but you couldn't hear a thing! Staff was very friendly and helpful too. Breakfast was well stocked and there was a lot of variety. My only complaint would be that all the dishes and cutlery were disposable... so much garbage...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northrngal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I booked a room with kitchenette for a few days because I needed to be at the Hospital.
It could hardly have been better, just a two minute walk and a quiet place for reflection after spending all day in a very sad situation. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We used tripadvisor to choose this inn. We were very content to find the affordable, spacious, clean, two-room suite with a very well-equipped kitchenette and large living room. The bathroom was simple but clean. The room rate included wifi, parking, a generous continental breakfast and there is an outdoor pool on-site. Good, right?

Unfortunately, we all had a terrible night's sleep. The plumbing shakes and rattles loudly in the wall every time someone in the room or the room above turns off the hot water. Each and every time.

Would love to recommend this inn as the owners are obviously making the effort with the convenience and cleanliness but the plumbing is a deal breaker. The front desk clerk did inform us that all the rooms have the same issue so we weren't just unlucky. If you go, bring ear plugs and you'll have a nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bee072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALRUSH, Manager at Port Augusta Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Sorry for your SLEEPLESS NIGHT AT THE PORT AUGUSTA INN. We have two rooms that have had excessive noisy water pipes. In the midst of remodelling, the water pipes to the two suites were re-directed in order to improve the supply of constant hot water to the rooms. In the process, the air chambers that absorb the spiking in the water pressure that rattles the pipes was by-passed. The plumber will be in next week to install new water pressure dampeners.
As for the rest of the rooms at THE PORT AUGUSTA INN, they are very quiet. The rooms are in cased in concrete - concrete block walls and poured concrete floors and this makes for far quieter rooms than is typical with wood stick construction, Bee if you are ever out this way again give THE PORT AUGUSTA INN a try and we will make up for you and your families lost nights sleep. We were neglectful in not getting the noisy pipes fixed sooner - we apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comox
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
2.3 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Courtenay
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
583 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 10 in Courtenay
440 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Augusta Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Augusta Inn and Suites

Address: 2082 Comox Ave, Comox, British Columbia V9M 1P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Comox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comox
Price Range: £52 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Augusta Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREAT VALUE! - Offering large, clean, comfortable, Wi-Fi equipped guest rooms at an affordable price . All our rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. A coffee maker with free coffee and tea, fridge, cable TV, good Wi-Fi, hair dryer, and ironing facilities are provided in all guest rooms. VERY GOOD LOCATION! - Right across the street from St. Joseph Regional Hospital, 6 km from the Comox International Airport, 9 km from the Powell River Ferry, and 23 km from Mount Washington ski hill. The Valleys only marina and ocean walkway are within walking distance. Straight of Georgia and Beaufort Mountain views abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Port Augusta Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Augusta Hotel Comox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing