We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty”
Review of Sushi Wara

Sushi Wara
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Comox
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had lunch in Sushi Wara and were quite impressed with the food and the service. Everything was hot (it was supposed to be!), and tasted great. The teriyaki salmon was cooked perfectly, the tempura platter was crisp and the portions were generous. The service was prompt, pleasant and efficient.

We are definitely looking forward to going back and trying their sushi!

My only suggestion would be that they supply a parking/lockup bar for bicycles. We rode there and there was nowhere convenient to lock our bikes up. The restaurant is on a bike route, after all, and it would be a really nice touch :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    23
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take Out”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Popped into Sushi Wara to grab some lunch to go. Everyone who worked there was super friendly. While I was waiting for my order I was served a complimentary bowl of hot noodle soup, which was great because it was a cold rainy day. I can't remember the name of the roll I ordered but it was huge and delicious. Great first impression of this new restaurant. No doubt it is soon to be serious competition for the other Japanese restaurants in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hmgtstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sushi - sounds scary but worth the anxiety.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Ask to reserve a booth and relax while you read the very extensive menu. For the experienced sushi diner-great selection of individual dishes. For the novice - me - the bento box was perfect. Great service, cold beer and outstanding food. You will not leave hungry and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

What a treat for Comox to have. I have been there twice now and they have only been open for a week. When you walk into this restaurant you are greeted with a hello and a cheer from the chefs and the staff. You feel welcomed right away and are instantly served by your waitress. Menu is prompt, your order is taken. The menu is seven pages long so there is a massive variety. Once you decide, your food is cooked and delivered quickly. They are on it. The presentation is worth taking photos of. It is like art. This is the best Japanese restaurant I have been to. They know what they are doing and are doing it well. Every customer there was raving about how great it is. We want to be quiet cuz they are going to get so busy that we will be lining up for tables soon. Welcome to the Valley Sushi Wara. Best restaurant in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank payge2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great meal”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

One of the best presented meals we have had ever. looked too good to eat
you will not be disappointed.
Sake was presented well along with the meal

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nwtraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Wara also viewed

Comox, Comox Valley
 
Comox, Comox Valley
 

Been to Sushi Wara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing