We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continually Disappointing”
Review of Blackfin Pub

Blackfin Pub
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Comox
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Blackfin Pub is located over looking Comox Marina. Great place to meet your friends for lunch, dinner or drinks. Sunset, Seafood, Spectacular! * The Blackfin is a licensed pub where minors are prohibited by law.
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I have eaten here in the past and never been fully satisfied with the quality of the food, but 2 years later we decided to try it again to see if anything had improved. Unfortunately, it has not.

We firstly almost walked out due to the front end staff not even acknowledging our presence while we were standing waiting for a table. It did not even appear busy and multiple staff walked by us without a glance.

When we were finally seated we ordered daiquiris and calamari. The daiquiri machine had clearly broken, as they were melted syrupy messes. The calamari was bland and small.

When our entrees finally arrived they were also under-seasoned and tasteless. We sent our drinks back and just stuck with water to be safe.

My family was apprehensive about trying to eat here again, and in retrospect we wish we had not given it another chance. I agree with the previous comments that the location is beautiful, but unfortunately it cannot save the poor service, syrupy drinks and lacklustre, over-priced food. Especially when there are surrounding restaurants such as Martine's or Toscanos that offer both a view and great quality food.

If the food were to improve, this could potentially be the best restaurant in Comox due to the wonderful location and decor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Reviewer1489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMoyes, Owner at Blackfin Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Reviewer1489,

Thank you for bringing your disappointing dining experience to our attention. Your unfortunate experience is of great concern to us. Please give us the opportunity to discuss this further as this is most unusual. I can be reached at lisa@blackfinpub.com

Thank you,

Lisa Moyes
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 523 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

As I live on the outskirts of the Comox Valley, I'm fortunate that my husband and I can treat ourselves to our favourite spot and it NEVER disappoints! My favourite is the Baked Brie, always delicious, goes fabulously with the Blackened Salmon salad! And my husband is super keen on the scallops with bacon, along with spinach and avocado cheese dip and any seafood entree. The staff are a constant delight and like the food, never disappoint! Can't wait until our July anniversary to go back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMoyes, Owner at Blackfin Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Ruth S,

Thank you for taking the time to review and share with us about your wonderful meal at the Blackfin.

Our baked Brie really is delicious and our blackened Salmon salad, is one of our signature and very popular dishes. Great to hear those dishes and our outstanding view didn't disappoint.

We will look forward to seeing you again this month for your anniversary.

Cheers,

Lisa Moyes
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived without reservation but were seated within minutes on a very busy evening. This pub is obviously a local favourite. The menu was comprehensive, our dishes were excellent, and our server was probably one of the best I have ever encountered. We were not rushed, but received attention whenever we needed it. As it was my birthday she also brought us a complimentary dessert to crown off the evening. We were lucky to get in. I would advise anyone wanting to sample this great place to call and make a reservation. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OggiesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMoyes, Owner at Blackfin Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear OggiesMum,

Wow great review, thank you!! We are happy to hear that you chose the Blackfin to celebrate your birthday and that you enjoyed your server and your complimentary dessert.

Reservations are happily accepted and encouraged due to the high volume we experience, even for parties of 2.

We will look forward to having you dine with us again, and Happy Birthday!

Cheers,

Lisa Moyes
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This restaurant seems to be a local favorite, as it was packed with groups in the middle of the afternoon. The view over the marina and the bay is great, and the food and service matched. The food is fresh, good quality, and nice portions. A great place to go in Comox.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 03Val48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMoyes, Owner at Blackfin Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear03Val48,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience recently at the Blackfin.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to having you dine with us again soon.

Cheers!

Lisa Moyes
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We enjoyed a fabulous evening at the Blackfin Pub in Comox. The food and service were excellent and we were treated to a view of the marina. The restaurant was quite busy and seems to be a favourite for both locals and tourists. I would highly recommend making a reservation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RWNET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMoyes, Owner at Blackfin Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear RWNET,

We are thrilled to hear about your fabulous dining experience recently at the Blackfin Pub. Indeed we do have a great location with beautiful views of the marina, the ocean and the mountains.

We happily take reservations all year round, so don't hesitate to call to reserve for both lunch or dinner at 250-339-5030.

Cheers,

Lisa Moyes
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackfin Pub also viewed

 
Comox, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Blackfin Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing