We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mulligatawny ever!!”

Rocky Mountain Cafe
Ranked #10 of 39 Restaurants in Comox
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Courtenay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best mulligatawny ever!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I keep going back for it! This place isn't a $3 bowl of soup, you pay a little extra for it but hands down best I've ever had!! Great coffee and tons of great choices. Everything looks so yummy. Everything is hand made right in the kitchen for you to view!! Staff very friendly and efficient! Great little outdoor patio too. I like the location just off the main drag too. Will definitely go back again and again!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisanewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

After reading all the positive reviews, I thought I would try this café for lunch. Ordered the "Soup Grande with bread", I thought this was overpriced at $8.00. I was right, because I received just a small bowl of the soup of the day, Beet/Pear Borscht, with sour cream on the side. The soup was pureed beyond recognition and lacked the typical vinegary/dilly tang. When I brought my bowl back the counter,( self serve ) I asked if this was the "grande" bowl. The reply was "No, it was not". The counter person was reluctant to take any responsibility and did not apologize when she begrudgingly gave me back the difference. Needless to say I would not recommend or return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1WestCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,494 reviews
847 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 895 helpful votes
“Very good coffee and pastry”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is a fine place for spending time talking with friends for half an hour or more. The coffee is very good, and the pastry really first-rate.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank operalover939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best buns in Comox”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

On recomendaton I tried the Cinnamon buns and was not disappointed. Absolutely fantastic, if you want real buns this is the place to get them,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yummy Everything”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

RMC is one of those few places in the world that have got that "something extra" that makes you just want to return time and time again. My favorites are, Donna's scrambled eggs on wholemeal toast, quichezza (such a good idea, quiche + pizza = love), the birdie seed cookies, power bars, mini-cini's and a really amazingly made Americano with perfect crema. The menu is so well developed, offering everything from wraps to salads to tempting desserts. Refreshing drinks in summer and warm cozy one's in winter. This place is a must!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rocky Mountain Cafe also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Comox, Comox Valley
 

Been to Rocky Mountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing