We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a local to go for lunch...with a nice drive out to Fairwinds Golf Course”
Review of Benz Lounge, Patio & Bistro - CLOSED

Benz Lounge, Patio & Bistro
Price range: US$7 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The casual atmosphere welcomes everyone, whether you are looking for a custom-made espresso drink and hearty breakfast to start your day, planning a lunch out with the girls, or want to catch the golf highlights over a beer and appies. During the summer months, the spacious patio offers spectacular views of the ninth green, and is the ideal place to hang out with friends and neighbours. We are proud to serve a variety of fresh appetizers, salads, burgers, and daily features, as well as a full wine list and drink menu.
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Great place to venture to for a lunch if you want to take in a drive about the area..about 10 minutes from Nanaimo Nice drive through Nanoose Bay and you are there..excellent views from the clubhouse over the 18th hole..lunch specials are very reasonable prices and delicious.

Thank AllensNanaimoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla_marketing, Manager at Benz Lounge, Patio & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you for the great review! The drive is nice and short - a lot of people expect it to be longer than it really is! The patio actually overlooks the 9th hole and 1st fairway - looks can be deceiving! We are glad you enjoyed your experience, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

The deck in the summer is fabulous and the food was great especially the yam fries and they have an excellent salad dressing ... a spicy peanut thai dressing that's to die for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla_marketing, Assistant Manager, Marketing & Communications at Benz Lounge, Patio & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thanks for your response! Great to hear you enjoy our yam fries! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Food mediocre, location quite pretty for a golf course location. But if you're not golfing here, there are lots of other places to eat that have more interesting food.

Thank dhughesehansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Food was awful, furniture tired and greasy, carpets stained. The setting is a middle class golf course in a large housing development on prime ocean front/view acreages on the Nanoose Bay Peninsula. It's a shame that the quality of our food was so low: Fozen hash browns? Sandwich bread TOAST? Jams and jellies in those little vinyl pods? sigh

1  Thank Rivularis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

New chef again....Fairwinds has changed over the past 4 years. Miss the quality and service of the former Chefs Barry and Trevor. Never back to what it was. Last 2 times blah. Protien overdone on all 3 orders. Sent back and recieved the same again overdone. The ambiance of classic is gone. Unless its an affair I dont feel this is my Golf course of choice for meals any longer

Thank kittcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla K, Manager at Benz Lounge, Patio & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Good afternoon,

My name is Charles Stephen, Food & Beverage Manager for Fairwinds Golf Club. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. Our Head Chef, Dan Vogt, has been with us since 2006. We strive to achieve great, consistent food with a high expectation. It is with feedback from guests like yourself that enable us to improve on quality, customer service, and the atmosphere. I would love to hear more specific feedback from you so we can make any necessary adjustments to deliver a higher standard for you and our other customers. Please contact me at 250-468-9915 ext 3 or by email at cstephen@fairwinds.ca. I look forward to hearing from you.

Charles Stephen
F&B Manager, Fairwinds Golf Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benz Lounge, Patio & Bistro also viewed

Nanoose Bay, Vancouver Island
Nanoose Bay, Vancouver Island
 
Nanoose Bay, Vancouver Island
Nanoose Bay, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing