We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and incredible hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed for only one night at the Dragonfly Dock, but I wish it had been longer. My stay was incredibly comfortably and relaxing - I have never slept so well!

Della and her family are friendly and accommodating hosts. Della was incredibly responsive from booking through to the end of my stay. The house, the suites and the garden are impeccably maintained, and the attention to detail is remarkable. You can really feel the owner's care for their home and it is a joy to share in it.

The guest suites are large, well-appointed and incredibly clean, and there is even a guest lounge and a separate entry. The highlight, though, was the incredible breakfast and Nespresso! Della was amazing around some quirky dietary requirements (gluten free) and the breakfast was delicious.

I would not hesitate to book again or to recommend the Dragonfly dock. It is a perfect B&B - comfortable with all the amenities of your own home, amazing hosts, relaxing location and great breakfast!

Room Tip: Moose Lodge has a private washroom, whereas the other two share a washroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rl_vancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thanks for your great comments. We are always happy to support dietary restrictions where possible, and to be flexible in supporting our guests that are here for various activities in the area. Please do come again and stay longer - we will have the Nespresso ready to go! Della

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

We have at in a number of b&b's in this area over the last 5 years. We wish we had of choosen this first because it would have been the only place we stayed. Great room, host, and food it has the WOW factor. We'll definately go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pillchek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thanks for your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you visit us, and only wished you could have stayed longer! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

It's remarkably challenging to find a B&B that truly offers both great accommodation and a good breakfast, but count Dragonfly Dock as part of the select group that does. 
 
Nestled above the West shore of Shawnigan  Lake, this B&B consists of three tastefully appointed rooms comprising the lower portion of a large two level home. Some rooms include ensuite bathrooms but all have access to a large games room with pool table and television facilities, an outdoor lake view hot tub , and separate guest entrance. The overall theme of the accommodations is upscale rustic, which works well with both the rest of the property and the general locale. 

Della is the genial and helpful hostess and is very knowledgable about the local area. Breakfasts are served  upstairs in the spacious, airy dining area and are a pleasure to wake up to.  Breakfast over two mornings consisted of various yogurts with fresh fruit, warm apple strudel, French toast, crepes, ham, sausages and a variety of juices, teas and coffees. But Della also takes care to accommodate her guests individual tastes and dietary restrictions. 

If you are visiting the area and are looking for a temporary hideaway with a touch of refinement, be sure to check out the Dragonfly Dock.  

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thanks so much for your kind words. We sincerely enjoyed having you join us, and for the stimulating breakfast conversation. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have been around the world several times, and this has been the best overnight stay that we have ever had! Della's B&B is spotless and relaxing. A real personal touch throughout that reflects pride of owership. Her breakfast is second to none! You won't go away hungry here. We highly recommend the Salmon Eggs Benedict. Our only disapointment is that we could only stay one night. When we come back to this area, we will gladly go out of our way to stay here! Five stars all the way!

Room Tip: Book all 3 rooms for your family or party
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthwesternAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Thanks for you kind remarks and yes we would love for you to come back and stay for awhile. The pictures are great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Having travelled all over the world but often confined ourselves to fancy hotels, we had chosen to lodge at the Dragonfly Dock B&B because we could not find a "high class" hotel in the area. But as soon as we called Della for the booking, we were instantly charmed. Staying at the B&B made us discover the little and big things one misses by staying in large, often impersonal hotels. We were cared for as if we have known the Lawrences for ever and we got all the help and support we needed to make our son settle in his new school. We went as visitors and left as family friends. It is a relationship we will jealously guard and surely we can't wait to get back...for us, it is a home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

It was our pleasure to have you and our family as our guests. We are always happy to help the new students coming to the area to make sure they have a great start to their new adventure. We look forward to your next visit to Canada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

No surprise that Dragonfly has moved up to #1 status. Della works hard to make sure guests feel at home. We stayed in the "Moose Lodge". The room was impeccably clean. The bed was so comfortable. The accessories are all "Tommy" and "Ralph". The breakfasts seriously challenged our diets. No need for lunch. The dock is a relaxing spot to relax with a good book.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocdocThornhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I had never been to a B&B before, I admit I was hesitant to stay in a stranger's home, however on the advice of a friend I stayed here. I stayed here with a group of friends & it was exceptional. The hosts made you feel completely at home & catered to every need.

Breakfast was outstanding, with a huge variety of options. Everything was so fresh & thoughtful.
I felt like I was staying with friends. The hosts were the perfect blend of being considerate, as well as leaving you to relax.

I would recommend this B&B to all!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canucks2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnigan Lake
2.9 mi away
Shawnigan Suite
Shawnigan Suite
#3 of 9 in Shawnigan Lake
33 reviews
9.0 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
2.8 mi away
Marifield Manor B&B
Marifield Manor B&B
#1 of 9 in Shawnigan Lake
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Shawnigan Vacations
Shawnigan Vacations
#4 of 9 in Shawnigan Lake
6 reviews
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
Shawnigan Lake Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 9 in Shawnigan Lake
1 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mill Bay Shores Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1874 West Shawnigan Lake Rd, Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia V0R 2W3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Shawnigan Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Shawnigan Lake
Price Range: £91 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our private, forested, lakefront one acre bed and breakfast. Located on Shawnigan Lake's waterfront and backing on to the Trans Canada Trail for hiking or cycling, there are three guest rooms to serve your needs -1 King with ensuite, 2 Queen with shared bath. Plush guest robes, hairdryers, internet access and quality amenities available. All guests have access to the outdoor hot tub, guest lounge with pool table, fridge, microwave, coffee and tea and more. Incredible Views, Delicious Breakfasts, Warm Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragonfly Dock Bed And Breakfast Shawnigan Lake, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing