We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic B&B in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I can't recommend Dragonfly Dock enough. We were visiting Vancouver Island from Britain and travelled all over the island and Dragonfly Dock was far and away the best place we stayed. Della is a wonderful host who's meticulous attention to detail makes the Dock such a warm and homely destination. The facilities are great- they include a guest kitchen, communal TV area (as well as your own in your room), pool table, hot tub and access to a kayak and paddle boat down on the dock.
There's plenty to do in the surrounding area to keep you busy, with Victoria and Butchart Gardens all within easy reach by car. Or you could just kick back and relax on Lake Shawnigan, which is absolutely stunning.
The only regret we had with our stay was that we hadn't booked for longer. It was with a heavy heart that we packed our bags- and I've certainlly missed the amazing breakfasts Della creates!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
I can't believe it is already a month since your visit! I enjoyed getting to know you and hear of your adventures each day. We were happy to share of bit of the Canadian experience with you on your brief visit to Vancouver Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights during the Shawnigan Lake Triathlon. Della accommodated us by making us breakfast very early so we could make it to the start just 3K down the road. Had a terrific soak in their hot tub overlooking the lake after the race.

The second morning we could take our time at breakfast and enjoyed lattes, just baked apple strudel, peaches and blueberries and perfect eggs benedict. Della is a warm and friendly host and this is a great spot to stay while discovering the Cobble Hill and Shawnigan lake area. Dawn & Paul

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finn_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dawn and Paul,

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us, and more importantly, to host a Triathlon Champion! Congratulations on your success! We hope to see you again soon. Della
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delta bc
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed here during regatta week end. Great hospitality and delicious breakfast provided by Della.
Slept beautifully in Moose Lodge room. Immaculate room and bathroom with all the amenities including bath robes to access to the hot tub.
Dock is down the steep driveway and across the street, but is lovely and tranquil on the lake.
Della was very accommodating with the breakfast schedule to enable the race watching .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaypeaDeltaBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
What would a regatta be without a few early mornings? Regattas are always so much fun, and it was a pleasure to have your family staff with us for this event and join in for a great chat over breakfast. Thank you for your complimentary review. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Wonderful B&B experience. The location is beautiful and very rejuvenating. There is a great hot-tub on the deck overlooking the lake. The accomodation was so comfortable and clean with lovely amenities. We stayed in the Moose Lodge which has a king bed with it's own wall mounted fireplace and flat screen. It was like a home away from home. The family was extremely welcoming and the breakfasts were gourmet quality and delicious. Loved it all.

Room Tip: Moose Lodge room has it's own restroom and a king sized bed. The other 2 rooms have queen sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thanks to much for your kind words. We hope you will stop by on your next visit to the area as we enjoyed chatting with you both. We hope you have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

It was a terrific holiday. The use of the hot tub was the perfect finish to the day after a day of whale watching in Cowichan Bay and lazy days sunning on the dock. Dragonfly Dock is right along the Trans-Canada Trail so it was perfect for hiking with one ambition visit trek to Kinsol Trestle. Amazing View!! Della, the breakfasts were truly amazing with everything from eggs benedict with smoked salmon to Lemon Ricotta pancakes.Thanks for a great week long vacation. We'll be booking again in the future.

Room Tip: Loved the view from the Fishing Hole,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! It was great to have such a lively crew stay with us for a week. We look forward to your next adventure with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Dragonfly Dock is an amazing, peaceful and familial place - pleasant for body and soul. Warm hospitality and lovely furnished rooms truly makes you feel like home. The brilliant breakfast on the beautiful terrace embedded in stunning nature allows to start every morning with a smile, which might than be continued relaxing at the calm dock, paddling across the lake or exploring the surroundings. We've booked the Dragonfly as our last stop on a 30 day trip. Thank you so much for all the care and making this our best stop!

Room Tip: You can't do anything wrong, just go ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we enjoyed meeting you both. All the best on your return home and thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Pine, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We recently traveled on a 30 day trip to the Northwest of the US, and the last two weeks were spent in Alberta and BC Canada. We were so very fortunate to have booked in advance for the last six nights of our journey this wonderful B&B! It was the perfect ending to our trip of a lifetime! One could ask for nothing more from our wonderful hosts Della and Kevin! They provided everything that anyone could want or need from any hotel motel or a B&B! You could go to the finest hotel and not find a better breakfast than Della prepares for her guests. They have a beautiful home and a perfect spot for their B&B. The last morning there, Della had a few muffins left over and surprised us with them wrapped and in a special box for us to take on the last part of our trip, a ferry ride back to the US and the flight home to North Carolina from Seattle. Thank you so much Della and Keven for making the last 6 days of our trip so very special. You two are the best!

Room Tip: There are no bad ones!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us - I believe the pleasure was all ours! It is guests like you that makes owning a B&B so special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnigan Lake
2.7 mi away
Shawnigan Suite
Shawnigan Suite
#3 of 9 in Shawnigan Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shawnigan Lake Bed and Breakfast
Shawnigan Lake Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 9 in Shawnigan Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mill Bay Shores Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Shawnigan Vacations
Shawnigan Vacations
#5 of 9 in Shawnigan Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Eyrie Resort
Villa Eyrie Resort
#1 of 2 in Malahat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
6.0 mi away
Malahat Bungalows Motel
Malahat Bungalows Motel
#2 of 2 in Malahat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1874 West Shawnigan Lake Rd, Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia V0R 2W3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Shawnigan Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Shawnigan Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our private, forested, lakefront one acre bed and breakfast. Located on Shawnigan Lake's waterfront and backing on to the Trans Canada Trail for hiking or cycling, there are three guest rooms to serve your needs -1 King with ensuite, 2 Queen with shared bath. Plush guest robes, hairdryers, internet access and quality amenities available. All guests have access to the outdoor hot tub, guest lounge with pool table, fridge, microwave, coffee and tea and more. Incredible Views, Delicious Breakfasts, Warm Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragonfly Dock Bed And Breakfast Shawnigan Lake, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing