We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill”
Review of A&W Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
A&W Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 20 Restaurants in Dauphin
Restaurant details
Dauphin, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Too many rumours about this place make me stay away. Used to like chicken strips until they tasted like cooked in chemicals. Came back and told everyone was saying that. Even smelled bad, let people waiting in line get a whiff and they left before ordering. Got two pies instead figured they prepackaged had to be safe and they were. Just go to McDonald's and take chances there instead, least cheaper.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The new fries are great!”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I just sampled the new russet cut fries they just introduced. There's no going back to MacDonald's after that! The burgers are always good, and you'll get your veggies too, for they sure pack in the lettuce and tomatoes! I actually prefer to go to the A&Ws located in gas stations, for they don't have a heat rack, and the food is prepared fresh.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I understand you were short staffed, but...”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My husband and I stopped in for a "quick" lunch on our way through Dauphin, and while I understand they were short-staffed, there's still a way to properly handle customers' orders. The restaurant was not busy when we arrived, and we didn't wait long to place our order. But then we waited at least 15 minutes for our burgers, and during that time, our onion rings and drink sat on a tray on the front counter. I requested fresh onion rings when our burgers finally came out, and had to wait another 5-10 minutes for those. I also requested a fresh drink, because my husband is diabetic, and they hadn't asked what kind of drink we wanted and just gave us a regular root beer. So much for "fast" food...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfishie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Drive thru????”
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Second time this month I have used this restaurants drive thru and first time waited over ten minutes but they at least acknowledged me when I pulled up and said there was going to be a wait. Was jousting grabbing fries for my daughter and didn't mind cause I was informed there would be a wait......second time waited over five minutes and no one even acknowledged I was there? Drive up to window and no one to be found had hungry family with me so left went to macdonalds!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tobacanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dauphin, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bacon Eggers”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I miss the French Toast. Bacon Eggers are always great.
I love the coupons sent in the mail. Service is pretty good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A&W Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to A&W Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing