We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure”
Review of MADOCO

MADOCO
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Swan River
Price range: US$20 - US$44
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Casual Fine Dining
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The totality of the experience exceeds supreme expectations! I have never been to a restaurant that can be a mix of family-oriented but also classy!!!!
My first time visiting the restaurant I was given a grand tour and a meet and greet from the owners.
The service was exceptional & made me feel right at home and as for the chocolate marquise.. wow that tasted unreal. I gotta say if you are going to get something on the menu - try that!

Thanks so much for making my experience so pleasant :) - Great to meet you all!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place in small town”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Wow, wonderful place with excellent food. The prices are very good as everything is included soup, salad and main course. The owners are wonderful people and have always made a table available for us. We have a great time and will return again. We are from Calgary and found this restaurant to be better than a lot in our city. Cheers

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgaryKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thompson, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Madoco is worth the trip every time. The food is well prepared and the service is cautious and respectful. It is small, so reservations are always best.

The menu is essentially prix fixe, with some appetizers as extra and desserts as extras. It is not extensive but it is complete (varied).

The sole issue is that if you make repeated trips, the emnu changes little. On the other hand it is so well made that it seems less a problem than would be the case in a lesser restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan River, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS, EXCELLENT all around for EVERYTHING”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

When we arrived, we were greeted with a smile and such professionalism by Margaret. Our food was incredible. Debbie looked after us so well, as well as the others when our plates etc were empty, and taken right away. Our drinks, coffee, water were always full. We had a GREAT time, and would Highly recommend this restaurant for everyone to experience this fine fine dining. KUDOS to Madocos! YA!
Tom and Lee

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fukuoka-shi, Fukuoka, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent again”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We all enjoyed our meal here. They have a very nice, affordable wine selection. The lamb was cooked very well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickPyott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MADOCO also viewed

Swan River, Manitoba
Swan River, Manitoba
 
Swan River, Manitoba
Swan River, Manitoba
 
Swan River, Manitoba
Swan River, Manitoba
 

Been to MADOCO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing