We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorious”
Review of Cliffside Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliffside Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alma
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Glorious”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed in the Herring Cove Suite for a night while hiking in the park. The view is amazing. The accomodations comfortable and spacious. The bed is comfortable and the kitchenette efficient for breakfast and full meals if you'd like. Well decorated with a view to the local environment. The proprietors are friendly, caring and community minded. A gem of a place in one of the last unspoiled ocean-front areas in Eastern Canada. We will return regularly.

Room Tip: Either suite will provide all you need. Oh, the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    21
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My family of 5 and the doodle enjoyed our 3 nights in the Owl's Head Cabin in Alma. This 3 bedroom cabin, one and one-half bath, has all of the amenities including a washer and dryer and dishwasher. While not air conditioned the cottage cools down very nicely in the evening and the breezes from the Bay of Fundy smell wonderful. The kitchen has everything that you will need, with all the basic utensils and everything you need to get at your lobster picked up from the lobstermen in Alma. Lots of deck space to relax, a bbq. and firepit with lots of split logs and kindling. We bought marshmellows, graham crackers and chocolate for s'mores but I couldn't find any matches. The kids made the s'mores in the microwave instead. Not as much fun but still tasty. Apparently the cottage is generally rented by the week and we were just lucky to be able to rent it for 3 nights. Alma was great fun, right at the gate to Bay of Fundy National Park with great hiking and biking in the Park. The tide in Alma is incredible with so much beach for the doodle to play on.
On check-in, we signed in and we were told that key was in the unit. We never saw anyone again until we went up to the main house to say we were leaving. On check-in the place was very tidy and there was helpful information in the welcome package.

For some reason Rogers doesn't work in Alma so no email from work for 3 days. That was a treat!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_Doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Cliffside Suites is a great place. We stayed in Matthew's Head. The room was well decorated and modern. We had a deck with a table and bbq. The room also had a small kitchen (although we certainly didn't want to cook). Some of the reviews comment that the owners weren't friendly - while we only encountered them upon check in and out they were very pleasant. In fact, we appreciated that we felt isolated with no one bothering us. Another review commented on the fact that the place is a little hard to find. This is true, however I don't think this is any fault of the owners. It's the way the roads are set up - they kind of cross paths. It's a small place - ask any local and they'll help you out. Out of all the places we saw in Alma - I think this is by far the best.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubshan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at the Herring Cove suite which was wonderful. Like new, clean, modern interior. It had everything you would need for a night or week stay. Our bed was a king-first good night sleep I've had. The view outside our window was great-the low tide was incredible!!!
Now for the negatives-first off, the signage was terrible. There was a faded out sign on Rte 114 that said Offside-we had to backtrack because we missed it . Then the place had a sign, well off the road and it was covered with grass/bushes which again we missed. The WORST part was check-in. I rang the bell, a woman answered and I introduced myself. She didn't tell me her name nor welcome me. She told me where to park and if I had any questions ask her...she wasn't welcoming so going back to her took a bit of nerve.
I went back 2 times-to ask about where to buy food and to settle my bill since we were leaving early the next day. Upon checkout, she didn't thank us!!!
The location is great-next to Fundy coastal trail and the national park.

Room Tip: Buy your food (breakfast not included) in St John's or Moncton-in the village of Alma there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fundy312, Owner at Cliffside Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your response. We are eco-conscious and our signage is small wooden directional signs (fishing village theme) versus the large commercial & ugly ones. The signs are maintained by the business association. But we do agree with you that they are fairly faded, so I painted them upon receipt of your review. As for feeling unwelcome, this has us a bit dumbfounded. My wife is a chatter box and usually you have to excuse yourself to get away. I do so often! She remembers you well, as you had a long day of driving and were quite tired. I think you thought we were a B & B and served breakfast. You came to reception a few times, and she thought she had advised you well on where and what o do. In any case, she is sorry if you felt differently. Hoping your vacation in beautiful Fundy was a pleasant experience.
Ken & Laurette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed three nights at Cliffside, and experienced two different suites. Both were incredibly well appointed, clean and creative. Best of all, they both had spectacular views whether you sat inside or out on our private deck. Imagine, every day being able to watch the tides roll in and out from up high on a cliff, just outside of town, or watch the lobster boats going in and out of harbour, or even the fog tumbling over the nearby hills and a rainbow shortly after! Kitchenettes are very well equipped. Best advice is to buy your groceries (for snacks and any meals you'll want), before you get to Alma...much cheaper and definitely more variety. Getting fresh lobster from the tiny shops is so tempting every night, just add the sides and you're good to go! We did the sea kayaking in town and had a fabulous experience. Restaurants in town are few but delicious fresh entrees and appies with local products. Cliffside has been on our bucket list for two years, ever since seeing an ad for it...and it was truly a dream come true, just as lovely as the pictures indicated. There are few places in Canada with a better view and definitely not for this practical price limit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cliffside Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you, and the previous guests who submitted reviews of Cliffside. We truly love your feedback, and are heartened by your kind words. And better than that, it is the wonderful and interesting people we meet. It keeps us going!
Again, a big thank you for those who have posted comments.
Ken & Laurette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights in the Mathews Head Suite in June 2012 and were delighted. The suite is spacious, very well furnished and was impeccably clean. The view of the bay out the large windows is awesome and very relaxing as you slowly note the rising and falling tides. The location is perfect for touring Fundy National Park, rapelling or zip-lining at Cape Enrage, and visiting Hopewell Rocks (less than 45 min away). Although the owners were out of town during our visit, the housekeeper was extremely welcoming, helpful, and available if needed (but since we had zero problems we never needed to call her). This is essentially a large house and the owners live above the three lower level suites. Since the owners were away, we never heard any noises above. The Mathews Head Suite is the middle suite on the lower level and was terrific. Only one of the two adjacent suites was occupied and we never heard our neighbors. Each suite has a parking space close to their private entry. There are two roads off the main highway in Alma that lead up to Bayview Drive. Both are paved and easy to drive (not too steep). The suite has a full kitchen great for making your own breakfast (this is not a B&B, breakfast is on your own). The two small groceries in Alma have the basics, but it's best to buy your non-perishable groceries before heading to Alma. Also, fill up your gas tank. The one small gas station in Alma is expensive. The suites have satellite TV and Wi-Fi so you can always connect with the outside world, but I suggest just relaxing in a chair looking out the window at the bay. Overall, this is a great place to stay and relax and enjoy the beauty of Fundy Bay, the adjacent National Park and nearby Hopewell Rocks.

Room Tip: The Mathews Head Suite was amazing!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Try it you will love it.
Great Place, great view, private entrance. Stayed at Herring Cove Suite. This is the place to stay if you are going to the Bay of Fundy national Park

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank risteve09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Albert
Hotel Chateau Albert
#4 of 7 in Caraquet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkland Village Inn
0.4 mi away
Captains Inn
Captains Inn
#2 of 5 in Alma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Motor Inn
Alpine Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Alma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
14.6 mi away
The Maplegrove Inn
The Maplegrove Inn
#1 of 4 in Riverside Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Suites

Property: Cliffside Suites
Address: 22 Bayview Dr, Alma, New Brunswick E4H 1E1, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Albert County > Alma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Alma
Cliffside Suites Alma, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing