We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A View to Die For”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cliffside Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliffside Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alma
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A View to Die For”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Cliffside Suites and Cottages is a true gem. The suites are located in the lower level of the owners' immaculately kept home. Each suite has a kitchenette with a full fridge, microwave, stove, dishes, etc. Beautifully appointed, clean and classy, the suites have views of the Bay of Fundy and the town of Alma from 300-plus feet. The view is stunning.

The owners were very friendly and easy-going. The location is very quiet, given the climb one must make in their vehicle to reach the top of the cliff. Only minutes away is Fundy National Park, and Alma Beach where one can walk out 1 km at low tide.

My wife and I loved Cliffside Suites. Based on how difficult it is to get a reservation, given the very reasonable rate in a beautiful setting, we'll book early for our return trip next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimTaggartOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    21
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
98
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We spent one night at Cliffside Suites. We were on our way to PEI and so could not spend time in the park. The room was extremely functional and had everything you could want from jacuzzi to small kitchen. We were given the key and told where the room was--perfectly fine introduction.

We loved the view and spent most of our time outside. We loved watching the tide coming in and out. We went down into town and had a nice dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auroraam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new brunswick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in the Herring Cove suite. Very nice suite that includes a 2 person jacuzzi tub, a kitchen and King size bed and not to mention an HDTV with many satellite channels. Very quiet and secluded area with a spectacular view of the Bay of Fundy. This suite is very private with your own balcony and BBQ. If you're looking for a quiet place to get away from it all and really unwind, this is the place for you. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Our family of four stayed in the Owl's Head cottage this past weekend. What a beautiful spot. The cottage is just that, a cottage with a full kitchen including dishwasher, 1 and a half baths, single whirpool tub, cozy livingroom with recliners and satelitte tv. There is a wood stove in the livingroom for those cold nights. The comple front side of the cottage has a huge deck complete with a wonderful barbeque for cooking. Off teh deck and raised up a few steps there is a fabulous covered sitting area with a patio table. We dined on mussels, lobster and steak in this area. There is a small view of the bay from here. Behind the cottage, in the well landscaped yard is a firepit complete with chairs and fire poking stick. The firewood is supplied and kept piled in a covered shed right outside the backdoor. The cottage also was complete with a full size washer and dryer. The upstairs portion of the cottage has a huge room with chairs and 2 twin beds and a door out to another great deck with a view of the bay. There is a half bath located upstairs and a separate bedroom with a double bed and another twin bed.

We arrived late Friday night and it was not a problem we were greeted and allowed to go right to the cottage and we could check in the following morning. This cottage is a great value for a weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiangal_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night in the Heron Cove Suite. The room was fantastic with a beautiful view and so many conveniences we felt we got tremendous value for our money. The people running this boutique hotel were welcoming, very friendly and helpful. That being said they gave us complete privacy. This was the perfect spot for a romantic get-away. We will definately be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fundy312, Owner at Cliffside Suites, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Appreciate your kind comments. Thank you Jason.
Herring Cove is popular as our "romantic suite" and we think your stay should be very private. We are so pleased that couples have become engaged here, honeymooned here, and have been returning yearly for their anniversaries. This is what love is all about.
Ken & Laurette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miniota, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our 5 nights in Alma staying at the Cliffside Suites. We booked the Matthew's Head Suite and thought it was wonderful. Beautiful views of the town & harbour from the huge windows (which changed throughout the day depending on whether the tide was in or out), a kitchen with everything we needed, our own BBQ and private outside eating area, a jetted tub, and a comfy king sized bed. We didn't want to ever leave! The town itself is located right at the entrance to the Fundy National Park, where there are some amazing hikes (especially the Moosehorn/Laverty Falls loop where you come across 3 waterfalls, 2 of which you can swim in)(Dickson Falls was another beautiful hike and fairly short) and a 9 hole golf course. We spent some time out at Hopewell Rocks as well which was only about a 30 minute drive (highly recommend kayaking the rocks with "Baymount Outdoor Adventures). We picked up a cooked 5lb lobster for supper one night from the Alma Lobster Shop and discovered that the bake shop in town made wonderful sticky buns, multigrain bread, and pie. If you get a chance, drive out and have a meal at the "Cape House Restaurant" at Cape Enrage. Our supper there was excellent. All I can say is that there's lots to do and see in and around this quaint little town, and I can't imagine staying anywhere better than the Cliffside Suites!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janajoseph62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We spent our 7th Anniversary in the Heron Cove Suite. The suite exceeded our expectations.It was perfect! Clean, beautifully decorated, and the whirpool jet tub was AWESOME! The view was spectacular! We had complete privacy. We can't wait to return. What a beautiful place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelstarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Albert
Hotel Chateau Albert
#4 of 7 in Caraquet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkland Village Inn
0.4 mi away
Captains Inn
Captains Inn
#2 of 5 in Alma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Motor Inn
Alpine Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Alma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
14.6 mi away
The Maplegrove Inn
The Maplegrove Inn
#1 of 2 in Riverside Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Suites

Property: Cliffside Suites
Address: 22 Bayview Dr, Alma, New Brunswick E4H 1E1, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Albert County > Alma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Alma
Cliffside Suites Alma, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing