We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better view”
Review of Cliffside Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliffside Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This beautiful property sits high on a hill overlooking Alma and Fundy National Park. To me the view of the harbor with the lobster boats bobbing next to the dock or later resting on the bottom was fascinating. Even when the fog rolled in you could sit and watch it coming in and then going out. The rooms are clean, comfortable and having a kitchen to make meals after 2 weeks on the road was a nice change; a homemade dinner with a great view.

Walk around town, have a lobster dinner, maybe some Moon Mist ice cream but don't miss spending some time in Fundy National Park; it's small but beautiful. If your going to cook I would suggest getting groceries in either Moncton or Sussex, depending on your travel direction, before you get to Alma. They do have a couple of convenience stores in Alma for last minute items.

Room Tip: Mathews Head is the largest room with the best view. Well, all the rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank campdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We are on a two week road trip through the Canadian Maritines and this is our favorite place. The Cliffside Suites are located above Alma in a quiet and secluded area. Like an earlier reviewer we initially missed their small sign but after asking directions at the Park entrance were soon at the Suites. The grounds and view are stunning/breathtaking/amazing/ethereal (I could go on and on). What a wonderful place to unwind and just watch the tides come and go. The room was well designed and well appointed. The full kitchen had everything needed to cook if you are so inclined. hint--if you plan to cook bring your food with you. The nearest adequate grocery store is at least 45 minutes away. The stores in town are limited to canned goods and frozen food. I did see two heads of iceberg lettuce at one store. We understand that fresh lobster is available at the dock. Great place bad great value

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in Mathews Head, the views are breath taking. The room was huge, clean and very quiet. This is a great find would definitely return and recommend. Watching the tide roll in and out was magical.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlannaT90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed in the Herring Cove Suite which looked over The Bay of Fundy and the town of Alma, New Brunswick Canada. The view was incredible and the wife LOVED watching the tide roll in from our porch. Our suite was immaculate and very efficiently designed,this will be one of those unforgettable finds. Our proprietors are very cordial and demonstrate their obvious JOY of maintaining their property. I'm torn about such a glowing review in fear that we will not be able to acquire future reservations due to once word gets out they will be filled to capacity. HIGHLY recommend Cliffside Suites and suggest that you investigate their other available suites to meet your needs.

Room Tip: Herring Cove Suite is a one bedroom efficiency overlooking the Bay and Alma facing Southwest I belie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Amazing view, great place for a romantic escape and/or hike in national park. Room was clean and cozy. Would come here in summer and winter. Make sure you get the sticky buns from the local bakery. Well worth the trip here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDN_BlokePEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was the only one available when I booked but it was lovely. Great view of the tides and the boats, and very well equipped. Huge fridge!! I especially liked the two comfy chairs by the picture windows with the provided binoculars to spot nature or view the boats. The bathroom had a tub as well as a shower. If I was to make one small criticism it would be that the towels could have been a bit fluffier, but the robes made up for this. We would love to come again and stay longer. The family cottage looked great.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BoldlyGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic little gem in Alma . We stayed at the Mathew's Head Suite ( which , btw has the best views of all 3 suites) . The owners were friendly , the room was clean and spacious and had everything , including plates , pans , cutlery , refrigerator , microwave and even a cooking range .

The views from the room are unbelievable and in fact , they are so good that we really found them better than some of the scenic views in the Fundy National Park . As other reviewers have mentioned , you can see the high and low tides from the room and it is amazing .

My navigation did not have this exact street listed but we navigated to the nearby street that was in the Nav and the hotel entrance itself is very clearly marked . I saw some negative reviews and was surprised at them but I guess it is important to understand that these are 3 suites in someone's private home and in that sense it is not a chain hotel . There is no housekeeping per se but we found the owners very friendly and they promptly replenished anything that we ran out of .

We will definitely be visiting again .

Stayed: May 2014
Thank bohemianguy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Albert
Hotel Chateau Albert
#4 of 7 in Caraquet
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpine Motor Inn
Alpine Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Alma
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkland Village Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Captains Inn
Captains Inn
#2 of 5 in Alma
92 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
14.6 mi away
The Maplegrove Inn
The Maplegrove Inn
#1 of 3 in Riverside Albert
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Suites

Address: 22 Bayview Dr, Alma, New Brunswick E4H 1E1, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Albert County > Alma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alma
Price Range: £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Alma
Cliffside Suites Alma, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing