We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chowder and Pie To Go!”

Family Fisheries Restaurant & Take Out
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family Fisheries restaurant Campobello Island serves the freshest seafood. Lobsters, clams, scallops, shrimp and more! Expertly prepared and served to your table. We also have dinners from the land as well as; appetizers, sandwiches, wraps, burgers and homemade desserts. Eat in or take out. You can also buy live lobsters and other fresh seafood from our market to take home. Open everyday..See you at Family Fisheries Campobello Island! Hours: (7 days a week) mid-April to mid-June 11:30-8:00 Atlantic mid-June to mid-September extended hrs 11:30-9:00 Atlantic mid-September to mid-October 11:30-8:00 Atlantic
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Chowder and Pie To Go!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Trying to stay away from fried food we stuck to the chowders and pies. Both the fish and clam chowders were excellent and served piping hot. My husband had a huge amount of fish in his chowder which was a pleasant change from places whose chowders may have had a fish swim through but who leave only a fishy flake or two of themselves. The chowders were perfect fare for the fall's brisk days! We loved the raspberry and blueberry pies too--so much so that we went back three times to pie-a-la-mode ourselves. Good ice cream too! If we lived on the island we'd be barrel size in no time at all. Staff were wonderful in all ways! We were surprised to find them open 7 days a week 11:30 a.m.-8 p.m.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    84
    23
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Only game in town---or Island.”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Vacation on Campobello. First night, went here...fied everything...but it is what I love---fried sea food is my passion (mundane but sooo satisfying). read some of my other reviews to see.

Fish-haddock-local...done ok. Not exceptional. Clams were frozen...ok, not exceptional. Fries, very good. No alcohol but you can bring wine only...no beer. Seems a crime not to be able to bring Canada's greatest asset to dinner...

Next day, driving around and stopped at the take out for to go. I had more haddock and fries...the wife Lobster roll. Mine was still good...wifes was "excellent" by her commentary.

Later decided to eat at the cottage we rented---went to Family's fish store---so restaurant, take out and fish store all in one. Bought a 1.75 lb lobster and 6 enormous scallops (16 bucks total!). All very fresh.

Definetly a locals place...always full with cars...and this was off season.

Last point-When we went back for the second day's lunch, I went to pay and realized my credit card was missing. Thinking back, only place I used it was there...asked if there was a card left---yessiree, waiting for us was my card---they retrieved and we kjoked about their new clothing and purchases made over night...I thanked them and checked with the card agency---clean and nothing irregular. Amazing in this day and age.

Clean, adequate food, great staff, friendly...very nice place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“good place to stop”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Found the restaurant while exploring Campobello Island. The fried seafood platter I had was good and the server was friendly. We had the place to ourselves which was nice. We only saw one other restaurant on the island so choices are limited.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Mass.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Lobster Salad dinner for $19 looked good when it was served but was tasteless and bland at best. We thought it was imitation seafood salad although the waitress denied it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungGrampie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A Campobello highlight!”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Our family travels to Campbello Island at least once a year in the summer. We always stop at Family Fisheries for take out. We have been going there for years. The food is always tasty and hot and the service is great. Our favourites are the clams and scallops for take out. Tip: there is a scenic picnic area right by the water if you continue down the road to the East Quoddy Head Lighthouse - we always go there to enjoy our take out. It is a short enough drive so that the food stays hot and the view is amazing to enjoy our seafood feast!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoastCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Family Fisheries Restaurant & Take Out also viewed

Campobello Island, New Brunswick
Welshpool, Campobello Island
 
Welshpool, Campobello Island
Welshpool, Campobello Island
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Welshpool, Campobello Island
 

Been to Family Fisheries Restaurant & Take Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing