We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not many choices on Campobello Island”

Family Fisheries Restaurant & Take Out
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family Fisheries restaurant Campobello Island serves the freshest seafood. Lobsters, clams, scallops, shrimp and more! Expertly prepared and served to your table. We also have dinners from the land as well as; appetizers, sandwiches, wraps, burgers and homemade desserts. Eat in or take out. You can also buy live lobsters and other fresh seafood from our market to take home. Open everyday..See you at Family Fisheries Campobello Island! Hours: (7 days a week) mid-April to mid-June 11:30-8:00 Atlantic mid-June to mid-September extended hrs 11:30-9:00 Atlantic mid-September to mid-October 11:30-8:00 Atlantic
Williamsville
Level Contributor
302 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Not many choices on Campobello Island”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had dinner at this restaurant the one night that we spent on Campbello Island. It's the only show in town, so to speak. I ordered the halibut special of the day. My companion ordered a burger. Service was great. The place has no liquor license but, for a fee, they'll open and pour your wine for you. The food was not too bad, but not real good either. Portions are generous, and prices are reasonable. My halibut was overcooked enough that it was dry. You shouldn't need a knife to eat properly prepared halibut, but I did. The mashed potatoes weren't very wonderful either. The meal, however, was adequate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    84
    23
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great take-out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stopped here while visiting Roosevelt Campobello Park. I needed to pick up some lunch on my way to Head Harbor Light and this place was right on the way. A small road side restaurant with eat in or take out options. I ordered a lobster roll with fries and slaw and the price was very reasonable. The roll was loaded with lobster and provided a very filling lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tine1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not fancy but first rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

for a road side stop, great food, good service and reasonable prices. Hard to beat combo. Bountiful portions. great lobster stew. great lobster roll, second only to Maine's No. 1 lobster roll. definitely looking forward to going back for seconds

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank williamb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Universe
2 reviews
“Happily, The Name Speaks Volumes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

You can rely on the name "Family" to assure that it is the perfect place to bring your entire family, including the kid who hates fish, the obsessive aunt who hates fried foods, the compulsive uncle who loves large portions, and the obsessive-compulsive niece who eats only mini-salads. This spot serves everything from the best baked haddock to the crispiest fried clams; the most unique lobster chef's salad to the traditional boiled crustacean (served with REAL and warm butter), and homemade desserts of which culinary myths are born and guaranteed to tempt even that obsessive-compulsive, min-salad eating niece. The word "Family" in the name refern not only to your family, but also to the owner's family, i.e., grandmother, daughters, granddaughters, and - are you ready? - great-granddaughter. The fish is guaranteed to be fresh by the grandfather who buys them personally to be served in the restaurant and also sold in the attached fish market. Now there are families and there are families ... the family who bought, cooked, and served your meal are quite obviously - from their friendly manner and smiles - most clearly happy campers. As for yours? If they entered the Family Fisheries Restaurant tired, hungry, and not-altogether happy, I personally guarantee they will leave refreshed, culinarily (is that a word?) satisfied, and most definitely happy campers. Lunch or dinner; fried or baked; fish or meat; salad or mini-salad; the Family Fisheries Restaurant and Take-Out is a restaurant you will want to return to many times while you're on Campobello Island. If, alas, you must leave this brilliant gem on the Bay of Fundy, you will attempt to figure out a way to arrange a return visit, if only for this restaurant. My only frustration is that Tripadvisor provides only five stars maximum ... this one deserves more.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peripatetic_Poet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Ate lobster here on couples trip and this small restaurant met expectations for what lobster should be in the home of lobster. The prices were very reasonable and lobster cooked perfectly. Desert of blueberry pie was good, not great. If you want wine take your own with $2 corkage. Closes early at 8, be there 30 minutes before closing to order lobster. I would certainly recommend the lobster and clam chowder, and would go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dmckown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Family Fisheries Restaurant & Take Out also viewed

Campobello Island, New Brunswick
Welshpool, Campobello Island
 
Welshpool, Campobello Island
Welshpool, Campobello Island
 

Been to Family Fisheries Restaurant & Take Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing