We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campobello Whale Watch Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campobello Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Campobello Whale Watch Motel
Phoenixville
Level Contributor
156 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Gem of a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights of longer vacation.

This was a delightful place to stay: convenient to everything on the island, clean and beautifully-appointed, with exceedingly friendly and helpful owners (and their little white dog, too)!

Everything in the room worked well and was supplied with a load of extra paper plates, coffee, utensils, soap, etc - not just a day's supply. And the fresh-brewed office coffee in the morning was very potent!

Just keep in mind this is only eight rooms, so there's no breakfast, also no in-room phones, but all services are available nearby. Only complaint might be the bathroom exhaust was fairly noisy. Two big beds in each room, and very comfy - virtually no noisy traffic at night.

Overall, a great place for singles up to small families, for a night or a week. Hope to return in a future year.

Room Tip: 3 downstairs, 5 upstairs which require a climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We loved this adorable restored hotel with very comfortable rooms, an ocean theme, fridge, and wide wrap-around balconies. The owners, who moved to the island for their retirement after many years of visiting on summer vacations, were personable and provided excellent advice for our stay. Campobello Island overall was a joy to visit with wonderful whale watching, the Roosevelt International Park (including their new "Tea with Eleanor" program), and even a unique guided boardwalk through a peat bog which I have never seen anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Matilda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We really enjoyed Campobello Island and our stay here. Jim and Fran are the owners and will be there to greet you on arrival and help you plan your time on the island. They knew the tide had just gone out and steered us to the lighthouse that can only be reached when the tide was out. Fran even put together a beach bag for us to use.

We stayed in a room on the second floor and everything was clean and well kept up. Beds were great. It was a rare hot day and fortunately the room had AC, because we needed it.

Our kids had a really great time there, hanging out with Gracie, the owners very mellow dog. Coffee was great as well. We will definitely be back here on future vacations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
204 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were there early in the season and were the only guests at this small motel. The owners were very helpful and also had amazing coffee in the office. The motel itself is good. Nothing fancy but has what you need. Beds are fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This small facility is not your usual roadside motel. It has many features that one would expect to find in an inn or bed and breakfast. The rooms are quiet, spacious and uniquely decorated in a nautical theme. There are two doors, front and back, leading to porches downstairs or balconies on the second floor. One can sit outside sipping the amazing coffee that is provided and watch hummingbirds flitting around feeders and hanging baskets and listen to windchimes. Rooms are extremely clean and towels are soft and plentiful. Restaurants are scarce on this island but there is a fridge and microwave provided so one could easily keep small supplies of food on hand. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and I agree with a previous reviewer, that it is like visiting someone in his/her own home. I highly recommend this motel if you are visiting Campobello Island for any reason.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KanuckRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

The owners, who bought the hotel several months ago, were friendly and informative. Don't let the outside appearance turn you off. The owners themselves think the outside appearance is ugly are working to improve it. Rooms are nice, clean and well-appointed. Central location on the island. They are now open year-around. We were happier with the Whale Watch Motel than another pricier hotel in St. Andrew's. Cathedral ceilings in second floor rooms. Walls are substantial, you will NOT hear your neighbors!

Room Tip: Second floor has cathedral ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mausmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, ME
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Two night stay in July. There are not many choices on Campobello Island for lodging or dining. Maybe one other motel and some cottages on the north end. Many I guess stay in Lubec, ME and see the island for the day. Motel was clean, comfortable and had pleasant, helpful owners. Nice bath and towels. Decent tube TV ( I've yet to see a decent picture on a newer digital flat screen) with a large but unusual selection of channels. Location was very convenient to the FDR property, only grocery store and pharmacy and ferry to Deer Island. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exxray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campobello Island
17.7 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
12.5 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
14.9 mi away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
12.7 mi away
SeaCup Inn
SeaCup Inn
#2 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campobello Whale Watch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campobello Whale Watch Motel

Property: Campobello Whale Watch Motel
Address: 935 Route 774 | Welshpool, New Brunswick E5E 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Campobello Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Campobello Island
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Campobello Whale Watch Motel Campobello Island, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing