We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Downhill”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campobello Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pollock Cove Cottages
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked our cottage in part based on the nice looking cedar shake buildings on the peninsular jutting into the bay as shown on the internet site. We were not told at the time that our unit would be one of the lesser units to the left of Steve’s house. Our cottage, number 6, was in deplorable condition. The shingles under the door had rotted away. The floor tile was missing from a three by four foot area that had been patched. The plywood around the patch was spongy. Electrical outlets were few and inconveniently located behind furniture or appliances. Outside, paint was peeling everywhere. The owner couldn’t even be bothered to put globes over the bare bulbs to the ceiling fixture inside or the one outside beside the door. This is a partial list of problems with the cottage. The appliances were all basic models, which we would expect in a budget place and they all worked. Some upgrades have been made, like new windows, but the few good things aren’t enough to offset the many negatives. As we walked around the property we found it is located on a very nice piece of land. Upon closer inspection of the “better” units on the peninsular we noted that the weather is degrading the shingles nearest the ground and the paint on every trim board is peeling. We cannot recommend Pollock Cove Cottages as a place to stay. It’s a shame that this nice setting isn’t living up to its potential.

Room Tip: Avoid unit # 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NH_Folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from a 12 night stay at Pollock Cove Cottages. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom cottages and couldn't have been happier. The view is spectacular and the Stephen the owner and his staff could not be nicer or more helpful. This is truly the best spot on the Island to stay. We saw Minke and Finback whales from the porch of our cottage nearly every day! The kitchen was equipped for cooking which is great because restaurants are limited on the Island. The cottage was very clean and fresh towels were supplied every day. We will be back next August for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We just returned from Campobello Island Spent from July 20th-23rd on the Island travelling with good friends. In May, we had booked a 2 bedroom cabin with Steve and sent him a deposit. Very nice on the phone and most accommodating-be wary. We arrived Sunday afternoon-went to check in and nobody there but the office was left open. We knew that we had been assigned cabin # 4 so that is where we went. People in the next cottage informed us Steve wasn't around and things had been going down hill from their previous stays. Cabin was unlocked so we unloaded the car and went looking for extra towels, dishcloths and toilet paper. The cabin was sort of run down but clean. Went back up looking for a key for the cabin but could not find one that fit the lock. Steve's Mom came along to see what was going on and we told her-no one at the office, showed her a photocopy of the cancelled cheque. Lovely lady who proceeded to tell us Stevie wasn't really looking after his business these days.. She could not find a key for the cabin either. At present, you cannot reach the Pollock Cove cabins by telephone. We, also, met a young couple encountering the same problems as us. We went to the office the following morning and Stevie's Mom finally came in as she said he was sleeping. We gave her the rest of the money owed for 1 night and left. We had booked this place for 3 nights and trying to find accommodation for 2 couples in the same place with no reservations on this small Island is no mean feat. We wasted 1/2 day of our 3 days and every place we tried knew there was a problem with Pollock Cove cottages We did eventually find a place by the good graces of Whale Watch Motel owners. Pollock Cove cottages is in a lovely setting and could be so great but would not recommend this place to anyone at the present time. I wish someone had written of their problems with this place before we booked it. Maybe this will save someone a pack of frustration and disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
13  Thank Esquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We had one of the two-bedroom cottages closer to the shoreline and were very pleased with the size of the cottage and the overall accommodations. The cottage had two bedrooms, bath, living room and kitchen combination--all spotless. It was centrally located to the Roosevelt cottage and to the lighthouse park. The furnishings and kitchen are dated, but that adds to its charm. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FLAhyacinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

While visiting Downeast Maine we took a trip to Campabllo Island to see the Roosevelt International. Park. We had fun exploring the island and decided to stay the night and stumbled upon Pollock Cove Cottages. The hosts Steve and Suzie were most welcoming and full of great tips on where to see the local wildlife including whales. The adorable cottages were located on a small peninsula overlooking the ocean with large grassy lawn (great for a game of Frisbee with the dog) and its own private beach!! Our cottage had everything we needed (full kitchen, porch, fire pit) and was immaculate. We can't wait to return for a more extended stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilleLandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pollock Cove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollock Cove Cottages

Address: 2455 Route 774 | Wilson's Beach, New Brunswick, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Campobello Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Campobello Island
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pollock Cove Cottages Campobello Island, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing