We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Site!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swallowtail Lighthouse

Swallowtail Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Grand Manan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Site!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We really enjoyed checking out the lighthouse and area. There is a bit of scary bridge to get there since I am afraid of heights but beyond that the area is very beautiful and well worth a visit. They are renovating and making new pathways so it is in very good shape. A must see on Grand Manan!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    24
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Postcard Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

There was an easy pathway, if you don't mind the suspended bridge, to get to the lighthouse. There is a chance you can see marine mammals, although we only saw a seal poke their nose out of the water. If you are afraid of heights, prepare yourself. You are on top of the world.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank westcoastwaiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“neat spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This spot has recently been renovated and the views of 360" are amazing. It is easily negotiated.I have knee issues and I was able to climb to the top of the lighthouse for a picture.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pearlybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“nice view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We walked around and didn't take the tour as we thought that the price was unreasonable. Had troubles getting a good picture due the garbage on shore. Common problem in grand manan.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank zack73_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The view was fabulous. The lighthouse was gorgeous, especially with the ocean as the backdrop. The scene is incredibly panoramic, especially when taking pictures from the top of the hill, looking down on the lighthouse.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swallowtail Lighthouse also viewed

Campobello Island, New Brunswick
 
Grand Falls, New Brunswick
 

Been to Swallowtail Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing