We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience”
Review of The Newcastle Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Newcastle Inn
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Beresford
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stopped by the Newcastle Inn without knowing what to expect at all. It was not a mistake. It's the best meal I've had in a restaurant in years. Everything is made from scratch. Homemade as homemade can get. 3 of us had the pan fried Haddock. It was light and tasty. Mashed potatoes were made fresh and the vegetables were cooked to perfection. Not frozen nor preheated and recooked. My husband had liver & onions with rice and again, everything was cooked to perfection and nothing was frozen reheated foods. The service was impecable. The food was just like you'd make it at home. Doesn't come more homemade than that. My husband had a greek salad and thought it was one of the best. Yes, a "real" Greek salad may not have lettuce but some do and some people like it that way. It was not loaded with lettuce, just enough to give it a nice color and crunch and he loved the vinaigrette. If you don't want lettuce, ask if it's possible to have it without. It's as simple as that. Would we go again, oh yeah! We're 1hr away and plan on going quite a few times to try different meals.
Joanne Boudreau
Beresford NB

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 760JoanneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miramichi, Nb. Canada
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Where do we start?
Our waitress tried her best..tho' many things were over looked & not tended too....
We had brought our friends visiting from out of town to the Newcastle Inn expecting to have an enjoyable meal...
What a disappointment...
Our 2 meals...were okay... salmon & the haddock special..( but my husband was not given the offer of a desert , that was part of the special..)..Vegetables x's 4..were way over cooked..not
edible...And our friends meals...a steak & cut of meat..that should never have been cooked in a restaurant..it had been requested..Medium Rare..NOPE...WELL DONE, NOT EDIBLE!!
Other friend's meal...Pork chop..she could not even stick her fork in it.. NOT EDIBLE...!!
A Greek Salad served..was just a Green Garden salad, with some type of dressing & sliced canned olives & Feta cheese...Since when does a Greek Salad have lettuce..maybe the cook ( certainly not a ' Chef ', ) should look up the recipe for Greek Salad...Those 2 meals were taken off the bill..
We will not be back.....Too bad this could have been a great experience...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Visiting a new home town spot”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is a building that has been present since this part of Miramichi was Newcastle.. It is a lovely old building/dinning room with an opportunity to have a lodging experience. Lovely experience, easy to park a car, and walk within any distance of the downtown area of Miramichi on the west side. The restaurant is lovely, food good be a little bit more on the professional chef sie but the servings are wonderful... definitely a try for tourists wanting a quaint experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saxophone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramichi,NB
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Newcastle Inn”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My collegues and I have had lunch at the Newcastle Inn several times since it's opening a month ago. Every meal has been delicious. Hot beverage, soup or salad, and desert are included in the daily special and at a very reasonable cost. Service has been quick, friendly and efficient

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayMiramichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramichi, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful heritage building, really good food and service!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This heritage building just off the "Square" in Newcastle has only been open for a short time and it is a real welcome addition to the restaurant scene in town. We ate there on Saturday night and had the special which was Prime Rib served with potatoes and asparagus (included soup/salad and dessert). The dinnerware is antique style and crystal wine glasses. The restaurant has at least 3 smaller rooms with a few tables in each. Decor is beautiful antiques.

The food was delicious and the service was really attentive. The owner, Robin Smith greeted us at the door and came over to the table to be sure we were enjoying the meal.

They did not have their liquor licence yet but should have it soon. They have a page on Facebook where they advertise daily features and you can make reservations by messaging the owners.

The building also has guest rooms and the photos on their Facebook page look so pretty. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Newcastle Inn also viewed

Miramichi, New Brunswick
Miramichi, New Brunswick
 
Miramichi, New Brunswick
Miramichi, New Brunswick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing