We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Victorian Country Inn”
Review of Tidal Watch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tidal Watch Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 St. Martins B&B and Inns
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quaint Victorian Country Inn”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The main building of this country inn is a 3-storey Victorian house. There are 2 additional buildings which are much newer. It is located within a half block of the Bay of Fundy.

The main floor has double parlors which are now the dining room. There is also a sitting room which includes a small library. The 2nd and 3rd floors are guest rooms. There is no elevator. Our room was on the 3rd floor of the house. In addition to very comfortable twin beds, there were 2 nice wing back chairs with a foot stool. The room had good lighting for reading. The bathroom was quite adequate although there was little space for toiletries. There was lots of hot water for the tub/shower. The closet was very small. The room had a ceiling fan but no air conditioning. With its location so close to the Bay of Fundy, the fog is a natural air conditioner.

We stayed there as part of a group which had arranged exclusive use of the inn. The service was friendly and appropriately paced. We had preordered our dinner from a set menu. The food was quite good and the portion sizes reasonable. A hot breakfast was included in our package. From the breakfast menu, it appears that the usual rate includes only a continental breakfast but for an extra $5 you can order a hot breakfast.

We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    23
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
15
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southeast US
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This is a great overnight stop near the Fundy Trail. Close to the beach so you can take a nice walk. We got the rainbow room and it had great views and was very quiet and comfortable. Very reasonably priced and included a wonderful breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIddletown, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

St. Martins was our last stop on our Canada Road Trip. We stayed here one night. We were excited to see the Fundy Bay, drive the Fundy Parkway Trail, walk and kayak in the sea caves, and witness some of the highest and lowest tides in the world within a day. We arrived in what we expected to be a sunny paradise, only to find that we could only see about 30 feet in front of us due to heavy fog. I chose the Tidal Watch Inn because, well, there aren't many other places to stay in St. Martins as it is minuscule, and I liked the pictures and descriptions of the rooms. I was a little worried because I didn't find many reviews of the place online and a couple were negative, but I need not have worried. The part of the inn where you check in has a very elegant feel. The staff at this inn were very friendly and helpful. We had booked a kayak trip over a month before through email with a company, and the inn had already had communication with the company and were able to help us find out if the kayak trip was still on in the fog and rain. (it was! and it was awesome! we even saw a seal pop its head out of the water) They also gave us a detailed description of the Fundy Trail Parkway and maps. The room we stayed in, the Sunrise Room, was very nice. It was unfortunate we couldn't enjoy our balcony view much because of the rain and fog. We got the Special Occasion Package, which included a 25 dollar bottle of wine, a three course dinner for 2, and a "full breakfast". I don't recommend getting the package. It wasn't any sort of savings, as the cost of all that would have basically came out to the same price as buying it all separately, maybe even a few dollars more. Also, the full breakfast was not very full. 2 thin crepe pancakes and 2 thin sausages. This was a lot less then the free breakfasts we had been receiving at the other B&Bs we had stayed at during our trip. My boyfriend was given coffee which I declined, but then I was never offered anything else to drink, and the staff didn't come by again. The dinner however, was good. There aren't many other places to eat in St. Martins anyway. The owner came and talked to us, so that was nice. We ordered a picnic lunch for our Fundy Parkway drive, and it was great! Very filling and tasty. I would stay here again, and I want to go back to St. Martins in again when it isn't foggy!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missystar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

If you are looking to get away from it all in a lovely country inn, this may be your place. It was very clean and quiet. Food and service were excellent. The owners went out of their way to make sure you had the information you needed for the travel experience you desired. The Bay of Fundy area was very quiet and I felt like we had most of the nearby Fundy Trail to ourselves. I would go back and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kramer1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed at this Inn last week after a last minute change of plans (we revised our vacation 1/2 way through and needed a place to stay for our last night). I called the day before and they were able to take us. After 5 nights of camping, hiking, and a wonderful road trip we were looking for a quiet Inn to rest. We decided not to have dinner in the dining room (next time we will for sure). The Inn was very quiet and we were surprised how yummy the breakfast was. We did not expect a hot breakfast served to us with several choices on what to order! The price worked for our trip budget (a little over $100 including tax). We were also thrilled with the advice to visit the Fundy Trail from the innkeeper (that too was a last minute trip plan).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onesnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF , CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in this absolutely lovely location; however , short of giving good driving directions the owners seem oblivious to the guests' needs, poor food preparation in the kitchen, and most of all, the poor state of the building itself. The fact that according to the owner they "are ready for a new venture" is of no interest to people who paid for the lack of service and amenities. The paint is peeling all over the room, in order to open the front door or our bathroom door, we had to kick them a few times. The over-easy eggs came fried crisp and when sent back, came back even worse. the only commendable were the serving staff.

There are so many much nicer and more caring BB owners all over Canada!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gdynia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidalWatch, Owner at Tidal Watch Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2010
These guests stayed in one of our newly painted, renovated (2010) standard rooms. We spend much time with our guests each morning over breakfast and as they return from their travels later in the day. We tried to engage these particular guests in conversation several times during their stay, but they just seemed to want privacy, which we certainly respect. We have been in this business for more than a decade because we love people. We love to provide comfort and great memories for every guest. We are sorry that somehow we failed to do that for this couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We booked the Honeymoon suite at the inn, which is their highest price room at $200 a night. In our experience in other inns in the Maritimes, this gets you a nicely furnished and spacious room. Not here. Their suite is a small, oddly laid out room with cheap furnishings. Our balcony was unusable due to a large number of hornets that had claimed it. We told staff about the problem, but nothing was done.

Dinner and breakfast were included in our package (an extra $85 per night), which was a fair deal, but I noticed on the menu that without the package, a dinner would cost $40 per person, not including drinks. The food was just okay, truly nothing special, and not at all to the level that we have received from other inns. The owner came to greet us while we dined, and when we mentioned that we found the room to be quite small, he nearly ran away to the kitchen.

While checking out the next morning we saw the owner again. He asked nothing about how we enjoyed our stay or our room. I wish I had read the reviews on this site before booking, we would have chosen another inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBTraveller345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidalWatch, Owner at Tidal Watch Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you to everyone who stayed and we had the pleasure of serving in 2012. We are now closed as we are every year untill May 2013 when we will open our doors anew. Enjoy something about every day have and we hope you are able to join us again at the Tidal Watch Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Martins
23.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
20.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Amsterdam
24.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salmon River B and B Ltd
Salmon River B and B Ltd
#2 of 4 in St. Martins
163 reviews
11.8 mi away
Moore's Specialties
Moore's Specialties
#1 of 1 in Gardner Creek
22 reviews
22.3 mi away
Shadow Lawn Inn
Shadow Lawn Inn
#1 of 1 in Rothesay
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidal Watch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidal Watch Inn

Property: Tidal Watch Inn
Address: 16 Beach St, St. Martins, New Brunswick E5R 1C7, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Martins
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St. Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tidal Watch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Tidal Watch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidal Watch Inn St. Martins, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing