We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Find somewhere else to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Martins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Martins Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 St. Martins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Find somewhere else to stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I was very disappointed in this Inn. The room was tawdry. The breakfast was almost inedible. They served pancakes and our requests for syrup went completely ignored... eventually, after several times asking they admitted they couldn't provide any. The coffee was horrible; the "orange juice" was completely fake -- Tang? something like that.

We were scheduled to stay for 2 nights and we just high-tailed it out of there as fast we we could after our first night's experience. Find somewhere else to stay in St Martin's!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nendrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    18
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
63
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

A must stay when visiting Bay of Fundy area. A historic home beautifully restored. Superior staff, excellent breakfast and tasty seafood and fish dinner feast. The Bay View room was comfortable and furnished with antiques plus a great view of the tides. Only minutes from The Caves and scenic 40 minutes drive from St. John. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

St Martin's is a lovely old building with an interesting history. It is in pretty good shape but definitely need in a freshening up. The decor includes way too many dusty and faded items. The old women's dress by the front door is just creepy. Most annoying and disappointing is that you can't open the windows in the rooms. Seems weird to be in this beautiful location and not have fresh air. I felt claustrophobic in our attic room - the windows were sealed shut and the portable air conditioner that had to be used to clear the stuff air was noisy and the reservoir capacity was small which meant we were woken every night had to get up in the night to empty it.
The owner/chef was away so his daughter cooked for us. She is a very good cook but I guess has an aversion to vegetables because they did not serve a single veg the whole week we were there. But her seafood and desserts were very good. She is very pleasant and accommodating. actually she was the only staff that made me feel welcome rather than a chore.
The manager was very sullen and I was not impressed with her teenage daughter's unprofessional behavior. If you are going to let your kids hang at out your work place you should make them dress and behave professionally
I would probably not go back unless they renovated and changed management.
The are is beautiful for : kayaking, hiking, the Fundy Trail Great little museum in the village.

Room Tip: Insist on a room outside the main building - be sure and ask if the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

A beautiful place to stay. The view is magnificent! The rooms are decorated with period antiques and the meals are to die for. The staff are great .Its a home away from home! Would highly recommend this inn to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank admin1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

An excellent experiance. Rooms and grounds beautiful and scenic with a great view of the bay. The staff were friendly and helpful in planning our day trips. See you next year

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellypruden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We only dined at the St Martin's Country Inn, so this review is only of the restaurant. The food was uninspired and mediocre at best. The server was bordering on nasty - she really didn't seem to want us there. I wish we'd gone down the road to Fiori's Restaurant at the Salmon River B&B instead. We will never go back to the St. Martin's Country Inn. They didn't seem to want our money - so they'll never get it again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheEasyGoingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Brenda was a gracious attentive hostess. Owner Albert LeClair was delightful. We were allowed to upgrade to a bay view room for our 3 night stay in May. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated in period furniture. Meals, both breakfast and dinner, were delicious. We loved staying at this Victorian Inn and the personal attention we received.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Martins
23.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
24.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
20.2 mi away
Amsterdam Inn Quispamsis
Amsterdam Inn Quispamsis
#1 of 1 in Quispamsis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salmon River B and B Ltd
Salmon River B and B Ltd
#2 of 4 in St. Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tidal Watch Inn
Tidal Watch Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Martins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
12.0 mi away
Moore's Specialties
Moore's Specialties
#1 of 1 in Gardner Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Martins Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Martins Country Inn

Property: St. Martins Country Inn
Address: 303 Main St, St. Martins, New Brunswick E5R 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St. Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Martins Country Inn was once the home of the Vaughan ship building family and boasts a commanding view of the Bay of Fundy in the historic fishing village of St. Martins, New Brunswick. This 4-star heritage property (circa 1857) is equipped with a licensed restaurant & dining room (Vaughan's). The Inn offers 16 unique guest rooms furnished with a combination of antiques, vintage decor and contemporary amenities. All guest rooms have Queen or King beds with en suite private bathrooms, free WIFI, cable television, mini-fridges & coffeemakers. Some rooms have electric fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs and/or balconies. There are also rooms which can accommodate families with two (2) Queen beds or one King bed with a pullout sofa as well as one (1) longer stay suite with two bedrooms (1 King and 1 Queen), two bathrooms, full kitchen (range, fridge, dishwasher, microwave, small appliances, serve ware & dinner ware), laundry centre, dining room, living room and Bayview balcony. Room rates range from $139 to $249 (based on double occupancy) which includes a full breakfast from our daily menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Martins Country Inn New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing