We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent”
Review of Winsome Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Winsome Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Stephen
Falmouth
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Consistency isn't a bad comment. We stop at the Winsome Inn every year as we travel to PEI. It isn't the cheapest selection but it is clean and consistent. The staff is friendly and responsive. THe breakfast, again well presented, is a constant offering. This year with one unit facility down, we received calls early of this and of the pool shut down. We enjoyed our stay and we will stay there again on our way back to the states and in future years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    44
    24
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
37
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, MA
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My perusal of accommodations in the immediate area was slightly disconcerting, but based on a recommendation from another hotel in the area, I took a leap of faith and booked two rooms. To our delight, the Winsome Inn was a charming little motel just over the Canadian border in St. Stephen. Much care has been given to maintaining flower beds, an immaculately clean breakfast room, and small but clean and comfortable rooms. The desk clerk was so helpful, the beds were very comfy, and there are benches outside to sit on in the evening: there is WIFi for those of us who want to be distant without being disconnected :-). The price is very reasonable. I recommend wholeheartedly, and wouldn't hesitate to spend time there again. ps: if you are looking for a place to eat, Carmen's diner is a down-home, old-timey diner with good, hearty food at a great price. No haute cuisine, but good stick-to-your-ribs dinner for the whole family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyIpswich_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

The Winsome Inn was very clean and a convenient stop for us on our trip to PEI and NS. Staff was friendly, accommodating and the continental breakfast was standard but good. The pool was out of order due to recent flooding but we went to a nice, free public pool in Milltown. Recommended and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LB210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaefferstown
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Nova Scotia. The room was clean and staff was accommodating. Wifi went in and out. This is a 50s-60s motel that has been updated, but still seemed a bit dreary at the end of a long day driving. The continental breakfast was fine--cereal, juice, coffee, and a variety of breads/bagels, etc. I agree with the other reviewer who found the Winsome overpriced. Next time I would drive a little further and find something more up to date and upbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herstoryprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I must admit I am taking the descriptive word "typical" from another traveler's review. I'll echo what he said that it is a typical motor lodge, which does not infer that it is a bad thing. It is very clean, help is professional and friendly. The continental breakfast is... well, typical. It seems overpriced for the area, but they've been able to do a brisk business for years so they know what the market can bear.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Special_Deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed one night here after crossing the border. The motel looks average from outside but inside the rooms and common areas are new, clean, very comfortable. The front desk attendant was really helpful in terms of advice and helping me get some stuff done while in a rush to get to St. John.
Breakfast pretty good as well.
There are ample stores in walking distance like a market and drug store. The hotel itself is about a km from the heart of the town. Only downside was some strange mechanical noise that occasionally permeated my room from somewhere in the building. Not too bad though.
For a motel, the rooms were as good as many higher end hotels..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flipper95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Spent 2 nights this past weekend at this motel/inn. The room was comfortable & clean. The staff were very friendly & accommodating, as we had to leave early the first morning breakfast was made available for us for 5am. A pleasant stay to say the least. Thank you.
Nancy & Glen

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Stephen
22.8 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
98 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
282 reviews
11.2 mi away
Chamcook Forest Lodge
Chamcook Forest Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chamcook
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn
11.5 mi away
Redclyffe Shore Motel
Redclyffe Shore Motel
#1 of 1 in Robbinston
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winsome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winsome Inn

Property: Winsome Inn
Address: 198 King St, St. Stephen, New Brunswick E3L 2E2, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Stephen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winsome Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Winsome Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winsome Hotel St. Stephen
Winsome Inn St. Stephen, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing