We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always have a nice stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 St. Stephen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Always have a nice stay here!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is the third time that we have stayed at Blair House. Every visit has been wonderful. David is a great host. We always enjoy chatting with the other guests as David serves tea and cookies at 9 P.M. In the morning it's like having breakfast with old friends as we sit around the long dinning room table and enjoy a delicious and nicely served breakfast.

We like the location. it is easy to walk to the center, restaurants, the river, the walking path along the river, and the border. Beware that if you want to walk back toward the United States, you MUST check in with the Canadian Customs when you return. As we walked past the office two customers offices came running after us.

We had the first floor bedroom which we like. It is right across from a large and comfortable living room. However, the bathroom is very small and there is little room for toiletries.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
90
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rome, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Our visit in St. Stephen's was extra special due to the hospitality at Blair House. David, our host, was excellent.... friendly and inviting. He helped us find a great place to eat and invited us to an evening tea filled with conversation and cookies. Blair house is beautiful.... lovely gardens and beautiful rooms. The rooms were both comfortable and very clean. It was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews, we tried to get a room at the B&B but it was booked. We had to wait a few years to get back to St Stephen. Thankfully this time the Blair House was free. Hint: planning in advance helps! The wait was well worth it. David is an excellent host and his knowledge of the local area was most helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfasts will get your ready for even the most demanding day. We would highly recommend this B&B and will certainly look to stay there again the next time we are in St Stephen.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We chose this B&B based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The John McAdam room was both clean and comfortable, the breakfast offered several choices and was very good, and the host was friendly. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkster110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Blair House is a fine B&B and it was much appreciated that there was a double, twin-bedded room so that two friends could stay at a reasonable rate. I checked around and no other B&B seemed to have a similar room. Many thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We took the Digby-St. John ferry and arrived in St. Stephen shortly after 8:15 on a Saturday evening. To our tremendous displeasure, we found pilons blocking the entrance of the parking lot to our motel, and was told that there had been a flood in St. Stephen a day earlier and that the motel had to close down because there was no power. The manager was very apologetic and offered to call another Inn in town, the Blair House Inn to see if they still had a room for us. We didn't look forward to squeezing into a double bed, which was the only thing available, but after trying in vain to get a Queen bed elsewhere, we decided to take it because dusk was upon us. It took us less than 5 minutes to arrive at the other end of town, in one of the older districts with homes that date back 150 years. Blair House is of that vintage and has been completely restored (lovingly). Our first glimpse of the yellow-shingled 2-1/2 storey mansion was magnificent as the setting sun cloaked it in gold. We were in no position to be choosey, but I don't think we could have chosen a better alternative.

The mansion and communal area:
The circular drive in front of the Inn holds three cars handily, but the B&B owner recommended only two cars be parked there so as not to impede free movement of the middle car. The front doors led to a gracious atrium, with the living room to the left and one of the guest rooms to the right--what was likely the parlour in its earlier carnation. At the middle of the atrium was a set of well appointed stairs leading to four bedrooms upstairs. Located at the back of the atrium was an ante-room where there was a small fridge for communal use, along with access to hot/cold water, coffee, tea, and some cookies. The proprietor also served up decaffeinated tea with biscuits for his guests in the evening--a very nice touch. On one side of this ante room was presumably the kitchen and the private quarters of the owner, and on the adjacent side was a very large dining room that was well furnished with very generous seating for 10. What was most stunning to me were the almost floor to ceiling bay windows with set of 6 to 8 individual panes overlooking the side yard. Given the many large planters with exotic foliage near the window, this room obviously receives a lot of sun, and this was confirmed the next morning during breakfast. We were also treated to the rare sight and smell of an exotic plant whose fragrant blooms only last one night!

The Pine Room:
Our room was the smallest offering at the Inn, but we were grateful for any nice accommodation given our circumstances. The double bed had a thick mattress, but it did not offer the type of support I am used to, but comfortable enough for me to drift off without difficulty. The 4-pc bath was squeezed into a tiny corner of the room but within its small size, there was everything we needed, including an exhaust fan. I really enjoy a nice shower, and I was happy to find a modern shower unit inside the clawfoot bathtub, that had a very nice combination of spray-range and pressure. My husband (who is over 6 ft tall) found the mirror a bit low for shaving but he managed, whereas I found no problem with the height of any of the fixtures. There was also a small TV (with cable) in the corner of the room, a window A/C unit, and windows that opened to provide fresh air in both the bedroom and bathroom. A newish pine wardrobe was also available if you need to hang up a few shirts and tops. For a stay of more than a night or two, we would definitely have found the accommodation a bit cramped, especially if you had more than one piece of luggage.

The other rooms (which are very well described on their website) are a lot bigger, at least two of which had queen-size beds, and one with 2 twin beds. In the future I am sure that we will book ahead to reserve a room with queen bed, possibly the St. Croix room, which is a very large room on the first floor at the front of the house.

The other "B":
When we signed in, the owner, who emigrated from Britain in the mid 1980s, was meticulous about everything and so I anticipated that he would have a similar approach towards breakfast. It was even better than we had anticipated, because there was an assistant who took orders and helped to serve. We've never encountered this before in a B&B. I asked for and got my decaf coffee--both coffee carafes were topped up continuously for us so that we easily had two or three mugs of hot coffee each. Others at the table also had individual pots of tea. There were choices of fresh fruit cup (no sugar added) or half grapefruit, and mixed grill (eggs (any style) with mushroom, tomato and black pudding (blood sausage) and toast) or blueberry pancakes. Both of these were served with 2 strips of crisp bacon (the only way to serve it as far as I was concerned) and a sausage. It was delicious and very filling!

Other nice touches:
The care and pride of the owners/proprietors was evident in the care they took to include a list of local restaurants (along with sample menus), local attractions, and two sheets of information on their services and amenities. They air-dry their linens and towels in the sun whenever possible so that they smell really fresh, and they print off the WIFI userid and password and have that displayed prominently in the lobby. They even offer decaf tea with biscuits in the living room to all their guests in the evening. We took our teas back to our room because we wanted more privacy while we unwinded.

Conclusion:
The whole experience was so positive that I don't think we will ever book anywhere else when we come through St. Stephen. We may even make it a destination and stay here a few days in the future. And the real bonus was that it cost us even less to stay here, AND we got a great breakfast.

Room Tip: I believe the St. Croix room (south facing) would be a perfect room. The Pine Room would be good fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We enjoyed a great night's sleep in this stately inn. The host was very personable and the breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed talking with other guests who were traveling from Canada and Australia. The owner's mother's and sister's needlework graced the home. The peonies and many other flowers were blooming out front.

Room Tip: St. Croix room met our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angierobrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Stephen
0.6 mi away
Winsome Inn
Winsome Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Stephen
85 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
275 reviews
22.5 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 7 in St. Stephen
2 reviews
12.1 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn

Property: Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn
Address: 38 Prince William St, St. Stephen, New Brunswick E3L 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Stephen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay of Fundy starts here in southwestern New Brunswick, Canada. Blair House welcomes you to St. Stephen - Canada's chocolate town and gateway to Atlantic Canada and New England. Canada Select 4-Star Bed & Breakfast. A choice of five bedrooms with reasonable rates in a quiet central location makes inviting family, friends or business clients easy. Bedrooms feature private ensuite bathrooms, free secure Wi-Fi, air-conditioning (Summer); and evening tea and a full-cooked breakfast in the morning. Experience 25 ft. tides on the St. Croix River just below our home. Enjoy the warmth and hospitality of a British-style B & B with the personal privacy appreciated at an Inn or hotel. Conveniently located in a quiet town setting just across the St. Croix river from Calais, Maine. A relaxing stop-over along the Bay of Fundy coastal scenic drive on your way to and from points east in Atlantic Canada and south in to New England. In 2015 we are celebrating our 28th season welcoming guests from around the world to our bed and breakfast in southwestern New Brunswick. Friendly service, a relaxing atmosphere in comfortable surroundings, plus memorable breakfasts and evening tea are features that draw old friends back to Blair House year after year. A leisurely one-hour morning drive to Saint John and the Digby ferry. A convenient stop-over to and from Hopewell Rocks and Fundy National Park; the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton Island; Halifax, Nova Scotia; Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island; and the ferry to Newfoundland & Labrador. Take an extra day or two to enjoy a variety of sights and activities along our Charlotte Coastal Region. After a relaxing stay with us, try other B & B's in New Brunswick. We are a pleasant alternative for those traveling on business. Ask about multi-night stay savings. Our home is smoke-free inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn St. Stephen, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing