We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Blair House is the ultimate in B&B lodging, food, and friendliness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 St. Stephen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The Blair House is the ultimate in B&B lodging, food, and friendliness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed at The Blair House in St. Stephen's as a start to exploring New Brunswick. After a 12-hr. ride from NJ, we pulled up at 9 pm to be royally welcomed by host David Whittingham who offered us lemonade and cookies with the other guests. He escorted my husband and I, and our two grown sons to the upstairs rooms which were immaculate, air conditioned, beautifuly decorated. Since we arrived during a heat wave and St. Stephen's is hotter than the surrounding islands, David advised us about traveling to Deer Island and Campabello Island where we thoroughly enjoyed cooler temps and beautiful scenery. Another day we visited St. John..about a hour away..where we toured the museum, saw Reversing Falls, the Marleton Tower, and the Market Square. Also enjoyed a delicious dinner before heading back. David was so thoughtful that he had turned on our rooms' air conditioners so when we returned that evening, the rooms were cool. Each morning he prepared a delicious hot breakfast with a choice of three entrees. Great food and conversation began our day and always, David gave us great directions on the sights, restaurants and roads to take. Don't miss the Ganong Chocolate Museum and store in town. I must add that even prior to our visit, when we e-mailed David about cell phone reception, and the area attractions, he always e-mailed us back with ample information. He truly made our vacation more pleasurable. He and his wife run a great B&B and is the only place we would stay in St. Stephen. The town is small and if you are crossing the border, the Blair House is just minutes away and near everything. We strongly recommend staying at the Blair House.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
90
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

This was one of our first experiences with B&B's. We were pleastantly surprised and will use more in our travels. David was a friendly and welcoming host. He offered a great side trip for us. The room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the evening tea and conversation with David. To top it off was the superb breakfast, blueberry pancakes w/bacon and sausage as well as fruit cup, juice and coffee.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank townie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

We (4 adults) enjoyed our stay at the Blair House in St. Stephen's. We toured the Chocolate Factory, walked across the bridge to eat in Maine, toured the shops in St. Andrew's, dined on a scrumptious breakfast, had tea and cookies at 9PM with the other guests, and chatted with our host David throughout the evening hours.
This is found in a tiny, secluded town on the edge of Maine and New Brunswick. It is a historic home with much history. We so enjoyed our host David Whittingham. He is a delight - very accommodating and friendly. He sat in the evening and told us all about the history of the house while we enjoyed his tea and cookies in the parlor. The morning breakfast was delightful with a choice of eggs/bacon/toast or blueberry pancakes. Juice and fruit cup were also provided in addition to the coffee and tea assortment.
David's warmth and friendliness is enough to make one want to return.
(Make sure you visit the chocolate factory....yummy!)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WindyHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

Even though the Blair House is a very old home, it was a very comfortable place to stay. At first glance the exterior looks a little worn, but the charm of the house and the host soon win you over. The place is immaculate, the beds very comfortable, the rooms an adequate size with private baths....and is quiet, quiet, quiet. Breakfast was outstanding - delicious blueberry pancakes with a fantastic fresh fruit cup, served in a gorgeous dining room. I could stay there a week just to kick back and relax! It is also close to St. Andrews where we had dinner. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank janbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

Blair House is a marvelous entrance point into Canada, if you are coming from Maine. It is a very spacious, grand Victorian mansion, meticulously maintained, full of books, and offering a scrumptuous breakfast. The host is a great guy and we spend a very cozy evening enjoying the downstairs rooms before retiring to our beautiful McKay Room. If you want both a B&B and a true Inn experience, this is the place! Nancy - from Maryland, USA

  • Liked — The ambience combined with the great location for our trip
  • Disliked — I liked everything about this Inn.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michiganian
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

We stayed at Blair House for one night on our way to Grand Manan. What a wonderful choice! David is an excellent host. The evening tea was lovely and the morning breakfast was superb! My husband is very picky about his breakfast and David received an excellent rating on it, quite an accomplishment.

  • Liked — Wonderful breakfast, excellent host, very nice evening tea
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crimrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2008

After finding nothing available within 50 miles of Bangor, where we had planned to stay, we found this property on trip advisor and after reading the reviews called to book one night 's stay.

The hospitality was great - tea and cookies upon our arrival at just after 9 pm, a very pleasant chat with David, the innkeeper, and some information regarding the property and the community. I work at a historic village so was very interested in the circa 1860s home. The room was spotless, well appointed and very comfy, and the full English breakfast the next morning was cooked to perfection, as were the blueberry pancakes that my wife ordered.

All in all, this place is a keeper and will be a definite add to our future travel plans to and from New England.

  • Liked — Hospitality - cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaRoadhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Stephen
0.6 mi away
Winsome Inn
Winsome Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
10.8 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Breeze Inn
Casa Breeze Inn
#2 of 7 in St. Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 7 in St. Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scoodic Motel
Scoodic Motel
#3 of 7 in St. Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn

Property: Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn
Address: 38 Prince William St, St. Stephen, New Brunswick E3L 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Stephen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay of Fundy starts here in southwestern New Brunswick, Canada. Blair House welcomes you to St. Stephen - Canada's chocolate town and gateway to Atlantic Canada and New England. Canada Select 4-Star Bed & Breakfast. A choice of five bedrooms with reasonable rates in a quiet central location makes inviting family, friends or business clients easy. Bedrooms feature private ensuite bathrooms, free secure Wi-Fi, air-conditioning (Summer); and evening tea and a full-cooked breakfast in the morning. Experience 25 ft. tides on the St. Croix River just below our home. Enjoy the warmth and hospitality of a British-style B & B with the personal privacy appreciated at an Inn or hotel. Conveniently located in a quiet town setting just across the St. Croix river from Calais, Maine. A relaxing stop-over along the Bay of Fundy coastal scenic drive on your way to and from points east in Atlantic Canada and south in to New England. In 2015 we are celebrating our 28th season welcoming guests from around the world to our bed and breakfast in southwestern New Brunswick. Friendly service, a relaxing atmosphere in comfortable surroundings, plus memorable breakfasts and evening tea are features that draw old friends back to Blair House year after year. A leisurely one-hour morning drive to Saint John and the Digby ferry. A convenient stop-over to and from Hopewell Rocks and Fundy National Park; the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton Island; Halifax, Nova Scotia; Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island; and the ferry to Newfoundland & Labrador. Take an extra day or two to enjoy a variety of sights and activities along our Charlotte Coastal Region. After a relaxing stay with us, try other B & B's in New Brunswick. We are a pleasant alternative for those traveling on business. Ask about multi-night stay savings. Our home is smoke-free inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn St. Stephen, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing