We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 St. Stephen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Central NY State
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

The Blair House was our first experience staying at a B&B. You know what they say about 1st impressions...
From the outside, a beautiful building in a nice setting. Our gracious host, David, greeted us upon our late arrival and helped us with our bags. The interior was nicely appointed. Our room was spacious with a nice full bath. A/C & television were available in our room. In the morning, we had several items to select from for our breakfast. It was great! We shared conversation with other guests around a large dining table. A definite A++ for the Blair House!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fyrfightr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
90
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

What a beautiful place to stay. We wish we could have been there longer. Huge room with great quality linens, beautifully furnished. Really good breakfast in a formal dining room with a wall of windows. The same family has run the Inn for 23 years and they obviously know what they're doing. Every evening the British owner serves tea, cookies and lemonade to the guests in their parlour for everyone to meet and mingle and this gave us a chance to ask him about the area and to get directions to the next place.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Islingtongardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Arrived here very tired from Connecticut. Was greeted warmly by David and checked in fine. He explained everything about Blair House and recommended several places to eat. Very nice B&B - breakfast was very good, WIFI excellent. Comfortable bed, nice shower. Had a very peaceful night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeMary01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

This is a very nice historic house close to the US border. We were traveling from PEI and then down the US east coat highway, so it was an ideal stopoff. Our host helped us accommodate our 3- and 5-year old girls in our room. We arrived late, and our host helped us find an open restaurant. In the morning, breakfast was delectable and artistically presented (see photo).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimLethbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HONLEY, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Blair House is situated off the main street and that makes it a quieter location whilst still within easy striking distance of the town centre, it stands well back from the road on a private drive with easy parking if required. The house is something like a 160 yrs old so it comes with loads of character, charm & all the priod features you would come to expect in a property of this sage. We were extanded a warm welcome by the host & made to feel very comfortable during our stay, our room was comfortable furnished & very clean having windows on 2 sides made it bright too, the only down side was not having a/c although we could ventilate the room using the windows & ceiling fan. Breakfast service was excellent in the dining room & the blueberry panckea were the best we had tried whilst in Canada, & having hot & cold drinks on tap at any time from the table in the hallway was a real bonus.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honley_UkDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCroixRiverPaddler, Owner at Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2010
Thank you for your review of Blair House Inn and your comment about air-conditioners. All five bedrooms now have their air-conditioners installed for the Summer season. We usually don't need to install the a/c's until mid/late June but this year we had a couple of hot evenings in late May! Most summers in St. Stephen/Calais there are normally only about ten nights per season when the humidity combined with the warm temperatures make air-conditioners necessary. Most warm nights guests find that the large ceiling fans and screened open windows are sufficient to cool the bedrooms. We have made a note to install the a/c's by mid -May next season. David Whittingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

This was my second time staying at this Inn. St Stephen's is a convenient place to stop on the way to the US from Nova Scotia coming from the ferry. The Blair House is a charming Inn with beautifully decorated rooms and meeting areas, comfortable beds, great service, and the most wonderful hot breakfast! Oh, and the wireless internet actually worked and well.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantrae Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

Thanks to those people who wrote good reviews and influenced us to select Blair House. From the moment we pulled in and were welcomed graciously by our hosts, we knew we would like Blair House. The location was convenient, the room had the character of a fine inn and all the amenities, and breakfast in the dining room with a view was superb. David was most helpful with information and advice to enable to enjoy our visit to the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillB0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Stephen
0.6 mi away
Winsome Inn
Winsome Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 7 in St. Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Breeze Inn
Casa Breeze Inn
#2 of 7 in St. Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scoodic Motel
Scoodic Motel
#3 of 7 in St. Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn

Property: Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn
Address: 38 Prince William St, St. Stephen, New Brunswick E3L 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Stephen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay of Fundy starts here in southwestern New Brunswick, Canada. Blair House welcomes you to St. Stephen - Canada's chocolate town and gateway to Atlantic Canada and New England. Canada Select 4-Star Bed & Breakfast. A choice of five bedrooms with reasonable rates in a quiet central location makes inviting family, friends or business clients easy. Bedrooms feature private ensuite bathrooms, free secure Wi-Fi, air-conditioning (Summer); and evening tea and a full-cooked breakfast in the morning. Experience 25 ft. tides on the St. Croix River just below our home. Enjoy the warmth and hospitality of a British-style B & B with the personal privacy appreciated at an Inn or hotel. Conveniently located in a quiet town setting just across the St. Croix river from Calais, Maine. A relaxing stop-over along the Bay of Fundy coastal scenic drive on your way to and from points east in Atlantic Canada and south in to New England. In 2015 we are celebrating our 28th season welcoming guests from around the world to our bed and breakfast in southwestern New Brunswick. Friendly service, a relaxing atmosphere in comfortable surroundings, plus memorable breakfasts and evening tea are features that draw old friends back to Blair House year after year. A leisurely one-hour morning drive to Saint John and the Digby ferry. A convenient stop-over to and from Hopewell Rocks and Fundy National Park; the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton Island; Halifax, Nova Scotia; Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island; and the ferry to Newfoundland & Labrador. Take an extra day or two to enjoy a variety of sights and activities along our Charlotte Coastal Region. After a relaxing stay with us, try other B & B's in New Brunswick. We are a pleasant alternative for those traveling on business. Ask about multi-night stay savings. Our home is smoke-free inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn St. Stephen, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing