We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I guess that quality suffers with a new bypass” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Rooster Country Restaurant

Red Rooster Country Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 24 Restaurants in St. Stephen
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
282 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“I guess that quality suffers with a new bypass”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Having eaten at the Country Store in St. Stephens previously, we stopped here for lunch and was disappointed by the fare. The fish-and-chips were crispy and soggy, respectively, and continue to remain "heavy" hours afterwards. The sandwiches were nothing special or different than one can find at a chain, fast-food restaurant. What is more disconcerting is the problem they suffer with the quality of drinking water due to high sulfur and mineral content. The restaurant uses a filtration system which, when working, filters out the noxious odors. But, there seems to be a conflict with the supply when the dishwasher is running and there is need to draw drinking water from the sink's filtered tap. The dishwater takes priority, leaving patrons potentially without. Our waitress had to open a gallon of bottled water to replenish our glasses. It's unfortunate that this long standing local establishment has declined, probably as a consequence of rerouted traffic to the outskirts of town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LopingianTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    2
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Stephen, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Used to be good but has gone down hill!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This used to be my wife and I's favorite breakfast and brunch spot but the last three times the food was terrible, reheated and almost un eatable. Wont be back and such a shame!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark and Kather... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Stephen, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My Wife and I disagree”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I find the meals at the Red Rooster very ordinary. My wife enjoys their fare. Thus we differ. The restaurant is part of a truck stop so the food is really limited to what 'truckers' desire. The seating is surrounded with a country town setting built into the walls but the counter seating extends into the 'country-store' section which is similar to most truck-stops selling everything from gas to Oreo cookies.
I guess I like more ambience. My wife likes the hearty food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Stephen, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Food Could be Better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The atmosphere is really cool, with all kinds of old signs, toys, etc. But, the food leaves a lot to be desired. I have tried eating here a few times, but have been disappointed each time, so I won't go back. The store is nice, and there are lots of great tasting items in the bakery, but they are overpriced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice to find this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

As there's a limited choice of eateries in St. Stephen itself, it was nice to find this one on highway 170, the road to St. Andrews.

We had nice salads and a corn chowder, all good value, in a cafe that's decorated with the usual paraphernalia of an old-fashioned country store.

We'll be back again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CAROL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Rooster Country Restaurant also viewed

St. Stephen, New Brunswick
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
 
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
 

Been to Red Rooster Country Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing