We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and noisy.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour Quarters Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bonavista
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Harbour Quarters Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonavista
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced and noisy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed just one night at this inn in mid July. We had an ocean view which we paid extra for.We checked in about 4 pm and found the room clean and pleasant. Just outside our window however, there were 2 excavators working on clearing ground for a new boardwalk and the noise was unbearable with our window open ,and annoying even with it closed. There was a notice in our room re the construction, but no notification in advance of our arrival. Not being able to open the window, I opted to turn on the air conditioning but we had no remote for the ac unit and cound not work it manually. We were told that there was nothing they could do. Sooo....window up and table top fan on all night until 7:20 am, at which time the excavators started up again!! (the notice stated that they may start as early as 8 am). During the evening and night there was also a noise sounding like a compressor cutting in about every 10 minutes or so. Upon checkout we complained about the ac and the noise and were discounted $20. Even without the excavators, I feel that this inn is overpriced. We ate at the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the cost the ocean view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettystanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    32
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
50
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Our large room overlooked the harbor and was within waking distance of a lot of the nearby sites we wanted to visit. We ate one night in the restaurant, just OK. The rooms were clean and although we were warned about some construction happening nearby it never materialized. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
393 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We opted to try this hotel for a night while in Bonavista instead of a B&B. I would probably recommend a B&B over this hotel. While the room was nice and we had a harbour view, I felt the cost did not justify the experience. The noise levels were high. We stayed in three B&Bs while in NFLD and we did not hear our neighbors. In this hotel, you could every conversation surrounding you and especially in the hall way. We paid less for B&Bs and had breakfast included in the cost. They had pillow shams on the bed but no pillows in them. The one pillow that was provided was flat. It didn't disrupt my sleep but I did find it odd.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is centrally located in a town of Bonavista. The hotel is very clean and cozy. They also had a restaurant and the seafood was just so amazing and fresh. We took a Puffin tour that is located next to the hotel. There is a small museum that you can go in and take a look. The puffin bird tour is worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8achan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very comfortable accoms with breathtaking views on the Harbour side. Friendly and courteous staff are very accomodating and helpful. This is the kind of place you look forward to going back to.

Room Tip: Choose the Harbourside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsobol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Nice, friendly "country side type" hotel. Located at the harbour (what's in the name). Stayed one night with a group of 7; three rooms. Ours overlooked the harbour and was really nice. Cape Bonavista is a 15 minute drive (nice after dinner outing). The restaurant is okay: simple but tasty food. If you like beer: take an "Iceberg" , only sold in Newfoundland.
Breakfast was what you expect. Good but nothing special.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Japiotje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, MD
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We spent a very pleasant, quiet night in this Inn. Although it was cloudy and rainy while we were there, the harbour view was still a great choice. What a treat to see the icebergs! The room was very, very clean and well-appointed with locallly made furniture. We were also grateful for the elevator to the Inn rooms above the restaurant. Plenty of parking, too. Breakfast in the restaurant (included) was very good. Good service; great choice!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryC508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonavista hotels
0.3 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Lancaster Inn
Lancaster Inn
#7 of 9 in Bonavista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.4 mi away
White's Bed & Breakfast
White's Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 9 in Bonavista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Quarters Inn

Property: The Harbour Quarters Inn
Address: 42 Campbell Street, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonavista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Harbour Quarters Inn Bonavista, Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing