We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Bonavista B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed with Rowena and Preston for one night, but it was a wonderful stay. They were so hospitable and accomodating. They went out of their way to help us find a restaurant for dinner because we arrived in Bonavista a bit late. And in the morning they served up an enormous breakfast: eggs and bacon, toast, yoghurt, fruit, juices, and tea/coffee. It was a feast. And to top it off, they have a deck that gave guests unbelievable views of icebergs. Next time we go to Bonavista we'll definitely aim to return to Abbott's B&B. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I with another couple stayed a night there and have nothing but wonderful things to say about Rowena and Preston"s hospitality. Their home was so clean, tastefully decorated, welcoming in all aspects. We stayed in the room facing the backyard and icebergs with a huge ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was great and the Abbotts make you feel so welcome and offer helpful hints on where to have dinner and where to visit. We are sorry we didn't stay another night.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the view of the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a lovely place to stay. The owners have set up the rooms beautifully and go out of their way to make you feel at home. They are very helpful but aware of guests need for privacy. From the back deck there are views of the bay and in the right season views of icebergs. (We were there in early May). We stayed two nights but would have liked to stay longer.

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms. We preferred one with ensuite bathroom. There is also a separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 578SusanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Bonavista was a wonderful Newfoundland harbour town to visit and Abbott's B & B was like icing on the cake. Preston and Rowena open up their beautifully decorated, comfortable home and make you feel very welcome. We travelled late in the season and they were closing the next week. Preston is a hard working host and maintains the home, yard and garden diligently. During their winter break they were about to embark on making a cabin with private laundry facilities for guests next spring. On Preston's recommendation we toured the local Lighthouse. Well worth it. We also followed his directions to “The Dungeon”. Don't miss it. That was well worth the trip down the gravel road. Ask Preston to tell his story of making Partridge Berry jam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenguinLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Cannot think of anything negative to say about this b+b. Hosts were great and I wish my house was as clean as theirs. Would definately stay here again. Comfortable room and good breakfast. I dont think you could run a b+b any better than this. Bonavista is a lovely place to stay and perfect for a quiet few days away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntR666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Preston and Rowena were lovely, helpful, friendly people who welcomed us into their home. The room was lovely and so comfortable and quiet. Their home is in a great location to explore the wonderful places around Bonavista. We had read a couple of bad reviews on here but I cannot agree with them at all. I cannot find fault with this B&B at all. Their home is lovely and immaculate, it was lovely to hear how they'd built it up and ended up with their lovely location with a sea view. As for comments I read about 'rules' about taking shoes off etc...it is Newfoundland after all...bad weather expected (though we freakishly got a beautiful heatwave with hardly any rain in September)...I didn't mind this at all as it meant no matter what the weather the house was always clean for everyone. Oh, and I though the snowman decorations were great, for one thing my mum loved things like this and always had them out at Christmas when she was alive...but who says snowmen have to be Christmas related in a place where they get a lot of snow. I would most definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneM1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very comfortable room. Good location to get out to the tip of the peninsula. Good breakfast. Friendly innkeeper. No problems to report. No problems to report.No problems to report.No problems to report.No problems to report.No problems to report.No problems to report.No problems to report.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ward and Maryle... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonavista
1.0 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
3.9 mi away
The Meems' Elliston B&B
The Meems' Elliston B&B
#1 of 2 in Elliston
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
#1 of 1 in Port Rexton
59 reviews
1.7 mi away
HI Bonavista Hostel
HI Bonavista Hostel
#6 of 6 in Bonavista
12 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bird Island Inn B&B
Bird Island Inn B&B
#2 of 2 in Elliston
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 121 Cape Shore Road, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bonavista
Price Range: £79 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed And Breakfast Bonavista, Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing