We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neil's Yard Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Neil's Yard

Neil's Yard
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Bonavista
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We serve seriously good espresso coffee and a range of fine leaf teas. We have freshly prepared Breton-style crepes, soups and we bake our own renowned cheesecake and wonderful homemade pastries from local berries and fruits. Our breakfasts, lunches and dinners are focussed towards healthy eating. We serve vegan and gluten-free foods.We also promote and sell the Crafts Council and/or Crafts of Character juried work of Newfoundland and Labrador artists and crasftspeople in our shop.
Halifax
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neil's Yard Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

A pleasant interior in a restored building. VERY limited menu of healthy eating.
For those on a special diet, the whole grain food could be a problem.
Reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank footlooseHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    28
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This little restaurant has delucious,healthy food, the best coffee and warm and friendly hosts in a heritage building with lots of history and character.....can't wait to return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great little creperie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a small tea room, the owner is from England, I believe, his wife is from Brittany, France. They are so hospitable and friendly. I had French onion soup a la Bretagne...delicieux! Then topped it of with a berry crepe covered with icecream, magnifique! Translation....delicious and magnificent!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrammyofTriplets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good break in Bonavista”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

A very pleasant break in Bonavista. Excellent crepes, they are varied, there is something for everyone. We had a crepe with salmon and one with goat cheese. Served with a fresh salad full of small tastes. We also took a sweet crepe with a scoop of ice cream, hum!
The Wi-Fi was very convenient! good relaxing atmosphere. Very friendly owners who make more enjoyable break.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a cosy, friendly place or....SERVUS and Moin, Moin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Finally....after 2 weeks travelling through Newfoundland, we found THE COFFEE PLACE!!!
The first REAL Cappuccino and Espresso in Newfoundland and the most personal and friendly service by the owners. We loved the cosy place even though we did not have a chance to take their homemade food....yet!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith_stetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neil's Yard also viewed

Bonavista, Newfoundland
Bonavista, Newfoundland
 
Bonavista, Newfoundland
Bonavista, Newfoundland
 
Bonavista, Newfoundland
 

Been to Neil's Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing